We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool, pool, pool...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Langka

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Langka
Ranked #23 of 273 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Pool, pool, pool...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

The big asset of this boutique hotel is the lovely garden area with the pool, a life saver in Phnom Penh long hot days where the sun can be brutal and the heat unbearable. Given the context, it is not exaggerated to say this hotel is a kind of oasis, a much wanted retreat after few hours spent wandering the steamy hot town.

We have been regular to PP lately and this time we wanted to stay in BKK1, the residential area adjacent to the touristy French Quarter home to a number of embassies and international businesses. Choice of the location was right: if you don't mind not staying in the middle of the action, BKK1 is a great place to make your base, a more relaxed environment still only ~10 minutes tuk-tuk away from the hectic French Quarter and Riverside Area.

We stayed in a Deluxe Room which at $85 net was just right. Nothing too fancy (dark and with the bathroom in the need of some upgrade) but right for the price. Breakfast was unexciting but, served in the garden by the pool, enjoyable.

The hotel is patronized by an eclectic crowd of international travelers with a pleasant environment in the whole.

All in all, this place is a great choice. We will certainly considering returning next time in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdilieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vl282, Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Villa Langka. Indeed, the BKK1 area is a very convenient neighborhood for both, the leisure travelers- the attractions are nearby, and the business travelers- as the majority of the UN and NGO offices are located here. And Villa Langka with its shady garden and refreshing pool creates a cozy laid-back atmosphere. We will be looking into the maintenance issues you mentioned during the low tourist season. So, hopefully next time you come back, you will be even more pleased with choosing Villa Langka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    401
    109
    19
    6
See reviews for
133
385
114
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I recently spent a week visiting Cambodia with some friends, first staying in Phnom Penh, then moving on to Siem Reap. While in Phnom Penh, I was lucky enough to stay at the Villa Langka. I was so impressed that I registered an account with Trip Advisor just to review this hotel. When I arrived very late, the staff knew my name and were very gracious in showing me my room. The room itself is excellent and very functional, with pretty much all of your needs catered to. Coming from China, it was nice to have a decent shower, and plenty of selections on television. There was also a fully-stocked mini bar with reasonable prices, and all of the decorations were very tastefully done. The bed was cozy and comfortable and the air conditioner worked very well (which is extremely important in Cambodia - especially in April when we visited). The Wi-Fi is also reliable. The hotel's breakfast is wonderful, with all kinds of fresh fruit, eggs cooked-to-order, bacon, croissants, various juices, and more. We also had lunch at their restaurant quite often, and it was up to the same standard. The location is also very good, located just a block away from the Independence Monument and within a quick tuk-tuk ride to anywhere you want to go. The hotel staff is very eager to help arrange tours to anywhere you want to go in Phnom Penh, as well as the Killing Fields. If you're staying here, make sure you ask for the tuk-tuk driver "Big Man," who is usually waiting outside the gate of the hotel. We used him every day, and he never let us down; he also has a good working knowledge of English and will wait for you at your destinations. The hotel additionally seems to be very well-known among tuk-tuk drivers, because they all knew where we wanted to go when we said "Villa Langka." All in all, I could not more highly recommend this hotel if you are planning to visit Phnom Penh. It is like a quiet oasis in the middle of the city, somewhere we always looked forward to going back to after exploring the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vl282, Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you very much for such a positive and in-depth review! We are glad you had a pleasant stay at Villa Langka and enjoyed using all our facilities. It is very important for us to receive guests' feedback to ensure that our service is up to standard and it is even more pleasing to hear that it exceeds the expectations of our guests. We highly appreciate you recommending Villa Langka and we are looking forward to welcoming you back someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I will probably never stay anywhere else but at Villa Langka when visiting Phnom Penh. It is a beautiful boutique hotel. The place is peaceful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I often had lunch at their restaurant and the food was delicious. The pool is amazing and the overall vibe at the hotel is chill and laid back. And the hotel's location is ideal, there are many great restaurants in walking distance and it's a quick tuk tuk ride to many of the attractions. I recommend asking for the tuk tuk driver "big man" he is polite, has a decent understanding of English and is a great guide.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msk Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vl282, Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay at Villa Langka and enjoyed our very special tranquil atmosphere. I will share your motivating comments with the team. Once again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Villa Langka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Very nice boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Very friendkly staff welcoming you to a small hotel with excellent standards. Welcomed and shown to a great room, food was excellent and reasonably priced.

The hotel has a pool and a shop and plenty of outdoor space, staff couldn't be more helpful and when booking trips (Killing Fields) its a staff guided and driven trip which really takes away the stress.

Well worth a visit and well worth the money!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vl282, Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay at Villa Langka. Thank you for commending the quality of service we provide. Each member of our staff is devoted to making every stay at Villa Langka a pleasant and memorable experience. We hope to welcome you back to Villa Langka in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed in the suite here. The bathroom is big but the bath is old and cracked. Not easy to get in and out of. The room was huge but felt desultory. Aircon took a long time to get going. Breakfast was ok. Not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vl282, Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We regret that you didn't enjoy your stay at Villa Langka. All the Suite rooms are located in the so-called "Old" building, decorated with a strong Asian influence. These rooms are spacious and airy with large bathrooms dominated by a rectangular bathtub. We are now in the hottest period of the year, so it might indeed seem that the air-conditioner doesn't help much. Once again we apologize for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Staff Great, location awesome, service great, great food, all round a great stay. the Atmosphere gives a very friendly appeal. there is 24hr security at the front door too which is great - always very friendly and very helpful - will be definitely back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRENN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vl282, Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Indeed, we do our best to create this friendly and peaceful atmosphere, security of our guests being one of the priorities.Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here for three nights, and we were very happy with the hotel. It is not situated in the city center, but it is only a fifteen minuts walk away from the Royal Palace and the riverside. The swimming pool area was very nice (althoug we sometimes smelled the garbage lying on the street outside the hotel), and we really enjoyed taking a relaxing and cooling break here at midday. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was the best we've had so far in South East Asia. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vl282, Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a motivating review. I can assure you that Villa Langka is located in the city center, perhaps, it is walking in the heat that made it seem like being far away from the center? Our pool in the shady garden is truly great for a midday break while exploring Phnom Penh. Thank you for commending our buffet breakfast, I will share your opinion with our kitchen staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.3 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#36 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.4 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
VMansion Boutique Hotel
VMansion Boutique Hotel
#9 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Langka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Langka

Property: Villa Langka
Address: No 14, Street 282, Phnom Penh BKK 1, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Langka 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Boutique Hotel in an oasis of calm, Villa Langka offers a private hideaway in central Phnom Penh.Hidden in a fragrant garden surrounding a shady pool, Villa Langka Boutique Hotel overlooks the ancient spires of Wat Langka Pagoda and is located just around the corner from the Independence Monument and the popular street 278, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Villa Langka Boutique Hotel offers 48 unique rooms blending contemporary elegance with Cambodian traditions, 24 rooms in a traditional khmer villa and 24 rooms in a contemporary building.Escape from the heat and bustle of the city, relax and lose yourself in secluded tranquility.Ideal location and atmosphere for both leisure and business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Langka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Langka Hotel Phnom Penh
Langka Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing