We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would rather stay here than one just down the road, Way better value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel and Business Center
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Astana
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Would rather stay here than one just down the road, Way better value for money”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Having been to Astana before and ended up hating the hotel (just further down the road, has a Presidential in the name) and found that yes this hotel is slightly tired in its decor. But the rooms are huge and have a better layout and plug positioning for people on business. Not once did I have to crawl around on the floor to unplug a lamp.
The wireless does seem to peak and fall, but so it did at the more expensive hotel.
The best thing about the Diplomat was the quality of sleep. There was never an "event going on" that would interrupt your work or your sleep.
Never had a problem with the level of cleanliness and the front of house staff were always available and helpful.
The breakfast was reasonable, not quite to the lavish scale of "the one down the road", but never went hungry and there was no need for the extravagance presented at Breakfast. You want something to eat and the coffee was always hot and plentiful. and tastes much like the coffee just down the road.
There are a selection of restaurants nearby which I tried out some are better like Sadu.
My only complaint was that i had to call the hotel to locate the driver that had been sent to meet my flight, he should have been at the exit as that is the service you are paying for. Arriving at 1 am to a load of "guys" trying to harass you into the taxi is nothing but annoying.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissElainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulfner, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel and Business Center, responded to this review, 25 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay at the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center in Astana.
We are very happy to hear that you were delighted with our services provided during your stay with us.
We highly appreciate your constructive feedback on areas for improvement, which is very valuable for us in our continuous strive to deliver excellent guest service satisfaction and value for money.
On behalf of the entire hospitality team of the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we wish to see you as our guest soon again.

Yours sincerely,
Magnus Ulfner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    54
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
2
16
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Hotel is well located, very central, that´s its main advantage. But no internet available in rooms (even if in their website they say there is), which is specially bad if you came for bussines. Room size is fine, good for the Price. No restaurant available, just a small place near the lobby with a very limited option. If you go for bussines, then you should stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juan_cristobal001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulfner, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel and Business Center, responded to this review, 25 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay at the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center in Astana.
We are very happy to hear that you were delighted with our services provided during your stay with us.
We highly appreciate your constructive feedback on areas for improvement, which is very valuable for us in our continuous strive to deliver excellent guest service satisfaction and value for money.
On behalf of the entire hospitality team of the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we wish to see you as our guest soon again.

Yours sincerely,
Magnus Ulfner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Not bad, but not great either. The car they were supposed to send to collect me didn't show up.
My room was fine, although I'm not sure it would be comfortable in really cold weather.
The location is good, right in the city centre.
The staff didn't seem to be fully trained - particularly in the bar where ther service was patchy.
Breakfast wasn't good. Limited selection, What should have been hot food was lukewarm and the coffee was weak and watery.
Overall I'd say the value was reasonable if you compare it to some of the hotels here, but don't expect too much

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyw555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulfner, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel and Business Center, responded to this review, 25 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay at the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center in Astana.
We are very happy to hear that you were delighted with our services provided during your stay with us.
We highly appreciate your constructive feedback on areas for improvement, which is very valuable for us in our continuous strive to deliver excellent guest service satisfaction and value for money.
On behalf of the entire hospitality team of the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we wish to see you as our guest soon again.

Yours sincerely,
Magnus Ulfner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was in Astana for a 2 weeks business trip. This was the first time I stayed at Diplomat - wanted give it a try (I stayed in other hotel here). It is nicely located. The modern city center is just in front of you. I can't say that dining options in the area are that good but definitely one can find a place to eat nearby. I had a spacious room with large soft bed, a small coach, and a nice round table. Well, I had almost everything for rest and work. The bathroom was clean, also pretty spacious. The laundry is rather cheap, the quality is in accordence to the price.
Still, after a week at Diplomat I just had to move to another place (my choice was recently built Park Inn). The day I arrived to the hotel they had a serious problem with their IT service and the whole hotel had no wifi (which is pretty important for a business traveller). I believe, they tried their best to have the system recovered. But a week later, I still had no interenet. Well, this might be just an occasional situation and I just had a bad luck but apart from that the hotel has some other drawbacks worth mentioning. In cold periods, the rooms are generally cold her since they have a panoramic windows lacking a good thermoprofing set up. Literally you can feel the wind from the outside. The only heating option is the airconditioning system. But it seems that it doen't work. My room was like a fridge in the morning. And besides it's pretty noisy. Oh yes, the other day the air was with a tint of smoke. The bathroom was good but you can easily spot many things broken or out of order. Breakfast is poor. While you can always order eggs, all other food options don't look that attractive (imagine pieces of cheese and ham after hours on the open air). Cofee is just disgusting, you better go to the lobby bar to have one. The hotel doesn't have dining options except for the lobby bar. The menu is very modest but the food seems to be fine. However after a week there I can tell you that it really depends on the cooking teams in charge - they are changing. The overall impression od Diplomat is that the hotel is overpriced taking into account the quality of their service. I'm writing this review from Park Inn, and I can confirm that for almost the same price you can get a much better service. See my next review on Park Inn soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamparams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulfner, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel and Business Center, responded to this review, 25 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay at the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center in Astana.
We are very happy to hear that you were delighted with our services provided during your stay with us.
We highly appreciate your constructive feedback on areas for improvement, which is very valuable for us in our continuous strive to deliver excellent guest service satisfaction and value for money.
On behalf of the entire hospitality team of the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we wish to see you as our guest soon again.

Yours sincerely,
Magnus Ulfner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

As alaways in Astana there is a choice between renown intrnational chains with mad prices or medley of other hotels and guest houses, built and run according owners own ideas of what the hotel shall be like. So, finding a good hotel is really a lottery... Can't tell Diplomat was a jackpot but in my own ranking it got quite high scores
Pros: well located in the centre, I was walking to a meeting, good quality food, good enough bathroom and bed
Cons:not well trained personnel, continuously diappering Wi-Fi, full wall window looks not well isolated, can be cold in the winter

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulfner, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel and Business Center, responded to this review, 25 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay at the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center in Astana.
We are very happy to hear that you were delighted with our services provided during your stay with us.
We highly appreciate your constructive feedback on areas for improvement, which is very valuable for us in our continuous strive to deliver excellent guest service satisfaction and value for money.
On behalf of the entire hospitality team of the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we wish to see you as our guest soon again.

Yours sincerely,
Magnus Ulfner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Among the overpriced options in Astana this is a reasonable option. Decent bed and quite good breakfast. Rooms are huge so if you need to work or have meetings it may help. Did not have time to try or use wifi. No bottled water invkuded but they waved the fee when I said I uswd one bottle from the minibar.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank alwaysexploring110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulfner, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel and Business Center, responded to this review, 25 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay at the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center in Astana.
We are very happy to hear that you were delighted with our services provided during your stay with us.
We highly appreciate your constructive feedback on areas for improvement, which is very valuable for us in our continuous strive to deliver excellent guest service satisfaction and value for money.
On behalf of the entire hospitality team of the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we wish to see you as our guest soon again.

Yours sincerely,
Magnus Ulfner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is certainly not 4 star as it claims to be it's 3 star max and I have stayed in better 3 star hotels elsewhere. The first room I was given had 2 single beds (very small ones at that) after having asked for another room with a double bed I was given another one. This particular room was actually dangerous for ones life. The socket unit which had all the electric devices from lamps plugged into it was broken and was falling out of the wall with all it's "guts" (wires) sticking out. The socket was placed next to the top of the bed where your head is when you sleep. After informing the reception about it they sent an electrician who said it cannot be fixed instantly and I will have to wait for a while. This was at 5 o'clock in the morning....Only after practically shouting at reception staff they gave me another room.

The bathrooms are very poor and I wouldn't event mention the toiletries. The mini bar is not replenished everyday, rooms are cleaned in a very relaxed manner. The only good thing I can say about the hotel is the room service food that I ordered and it was really nice and tasty.

So if you are after a rather cheap hotel (by Astana standards) and are not expecting much then it's fine to stay there. If you want a good quality hotel stay at the Rixos but expect to pay a fortune for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EugeniaRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okan K, Genel Müdür at Diplomat Hotel and Business Center, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Eugenia,

Thanks a lot for your positive & negative comments. Sorry for your unhappy experience in Diplomat Hotel. Please make sure that all your inputs already started to be considered in detail.
Hope to have a chance to welcome you again and to change your bad memories to good ones with us.

Best regards,

OK
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Astana hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astana hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
0.4 mi away
Rixos President Astana Hotel
1.9 mi away
Kazzhol Hotel
Kazzhol Hotel
#5 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Astana Marriott Hotel
Astana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 54 in Astana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.7 mi away
ibis Astana
ibis Astana
#7 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jumbaktas Hotel
Jumbaktas Hotel
#13 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel and Business Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel and Business Center

Property: Diplomat Hotel and Business Center
Address: D. Kunayev Str. 29/1, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Astana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Astana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel and Business Center 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diplomat Hotel & Business Center in Astana is a First Class full service hotel with excellent location in the city center of the capital. Behind the rounded, modern façade the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center offers large, comfortable and stylish rooms and suites with warm colours and tall windows with panoramic views. Enjoy superb dining in El Gaucho Argentinian restaurant with carefully selected top class meat, grilled over open fire. On the 21st floor, you will find the DIP Lounge, where we offer an astonishing panoramic view of Astana and Japanese cuisine and selection of inspiring drinks from our Sky Bar. The Lobby Bar is open 24/7 and is the natural meeting venue in the city. Select something to eat from our rich menu or just have a drink and relax while watching the Baiterek Monument just in front of the hotel. When you feel for some recreation, you have free access to the Bali Spa with gym, pool, saunas and Hamam. In the Bali Spa we are proud to offer various treatments for your body and health with massage and beauty saloon, and refreshing healthy fresh juices from the Bali Spa Bar. The Diplomat Hotel & Business Center offers convenient Meeting & Event solutions. The Baiterek Ballroom is perfect for big banquets, congresses or exhibitions. For smaller meetings, we recommend our luxury and comfortable VIP rooms. Always in the Diplomat Hotel & Business Center: Free WiFi, Complimentary Breakfast, 24h Room Service, Laundry Service, Multi Lingual Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Hotel and Business Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Astana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing