We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall quite good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Park Esil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Park Esil
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Astana
Level Contributor
942 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Overall quite good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I spent 3 months in central Asia avoiding upmarket hotels, as most were very disappointing, but there's not much choice in Astana. This place could probably hold its own in the west though.

Staff were generally quite good and many speak English. Hotel was nice if a little sterile in the common areas. The room was smallish (although could have fit an extra desk or table which would have been very useful) but nice, with a good bathroom, tv, good wifi, fridge and a balcony with views over the main square - so it's right in the middle of the old town. Many main sights are across the river but I managed to walk to them (loooong walk to Baiterek though, and taxis, whether official or private, are much rarer here than in Almaty, although they do congregate around many shopping centres).

Breakfast was an extensive buffet but not always high quality (e.g., most fruit was out of a can). Other meals were good but expensive. Mini bar very expensive (5x cost at nearest supermarket).

Overall though, there were no major problems and this was the best upmarket hotel I stayed at in central Asia. Given the price - at the very bottom of the upmarket Astana hotels - I'd definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    58
    40
    8
    2
See reviews for
2
3
8
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

I stay each time I travel to Astana, in Esil. My first time was in Astana Park Hotel, which is not bad but far away from the daily life, not preferable for me.
The hotel had a renovation shortly before and everything seems better now. The staff is really international. Stay away room no:324 in winter and rainy days. The reason is the incredible sound of dripping water drops on the zinc roof. I asked for a replacement and they gave me another room the day after. Pity that I noticed later on, that the caviar and fruit I put in the fridge are left behind in the other room.
Anyway, I asked to the reception and they could not find it, since the room service probably threw it away. The final was happy as usual here, I returned to my room at the evening and found 2 new caviars on my desk. After that, a room service lady in nice suit knocked the door to serve me with a full huge plate of fruits!!! Delicious experience.
(-) points
*Small rooms even you select the deluxe room
*Soap and shampoo are of low quality
*They can forget the towels, bathrobe, toilet paper, razor, toothbrush sets and slippers most of the time and you need to ask for them.
*Not necessarily too wide spraying shower handset, change them guys, why need to center my face under the spraying water to wash it properly?

(+) points
*82" Samsung LCD with movie playing usb socket
*Great working heating and hot water system (it is -35 now outside, but i am closing the heater)
*Very clean rooms and corridors
*Good English speaking staff (even the elevator guys)
*You want, they do, even something missing, simply ask for it, and do not feel on the ropes.
*Good security level with card system and double locking inside the door.
*Great central location near congress hall.
*Very efficient fast Wi-fi connection free of charge
*Very quiet.
*Indoor swimming pool (yes!)
*Good fitness center, massage room and dry sauna.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twingotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

One of the great surprises about Kazakhstan is how expensive everything is. And that includes this hotel. It has, however, a great deal to learn if it is to really be a four star hotel in my book.

It is supposed to be 'centrally located'. I'm not really sure that I would describe it as that; it seemed to take a long time to get anywhere from the hotel although it has to be said that Astana is quite spread out and has two distinct old and new halves.

The room we had was a very small twin, with very narrow beds. Worse than that these beds must be the hardest I have ever slept (or tried to) on. I like a hard mattress (the last time I bought one in London, I spent months searching for one that was hard enough) but this felt more like sleeping on a board rather than a mattress.

The bathroom was very tatty, and the shower head holder was broken.

The staff at the front desk were not particularly friendly and nor were they particularly efficient. They made me pay an 'extra bed' supplement on departure because there were two people in the twin room, and according to them I had only prepaid for the room and not two people using it. I tried to debate the issue but they were having none of it. So I paid up. A week later, I did get a apologetic phone call to say that I had prepaid for two people and that they would refund the extra charge, so at least that was a point in their favour.

I have only stayed in Astana this once and so I have nothing to compare it with. However, a brief visit to the rather nice-looking lobby of the Kings Hotel (we were lost and needed directions/a taxi!) convinced me that there are better places to stay in Astana than the Grand Park Esil.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night transiting on business from Uralsk to Abu Dhabi. The airport pickup and transfer was fine. The service on check in and check out was efficient and friendly. The room was clean, basic and functional (what I paid for) and most important the hot water and heating were without fault. I used the front desk to ask several detailed questions and to book a taxi tour of the city and I was not dissapointed in any way. They went out of thier way to help and assist me and left me very happy with thier service and most important in Kazakhstan, with thier command of the english language. The restaurant was a delight and the food of a fine standard. Actually quite an experience in service and culinary delights. I travel extensively for business and this is one of the better hotels.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Dan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

There's nothing very great about the hotel, but also nothing very bad - it is more than fine. Rooms are smallish and a bit tired, food is OK but not gourmet, location is pretty good (central, near to most offices), and staff are mostly friendly (but not overwhelmingly so). Free wifi is included in the room price, which is a plus. I enjoyed my stay there, and the Grand Esil certainly has more character than the modern chain hotels.It is perfectly adequate, plus a bit more. But nothing to overwhelm the guest.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Positioned over the road from the Akimat and Sine Tempore shopping mall, this hotel is in a good area of Astana for strolling in summer. Our room wasn't particularly spacious, but adequate. The combination of awkwardly positioned light switch and narrow corridor between sink and tub in the bathroom did leave me with a bruised hip, but I got used to perching on the edge of the tub to brush my teeth during our week's stay. The internet worked reasonably well, and though the hall sometimes stank of raw sewage it was generally clean. No coffee/tea making facilities, and the included breakfast is so-so but generally edible. In summer there's an outdoor beer garden attached where we've this year had decent shashlik. Some of the receptionists speak a bit of English.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eliphants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

good net connection, relatively spacious rooms, friendly staff and appropriate service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twztwztwz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astana hotels
0.8 mi away
King Hotel Astana
King Hotel Astana
#10 of 54 in Astana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
3.0 mi away
Kazzhol Hotel
Kazzhol Hotel
#4 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
ibis Astana
ibis Astana
#7 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Astana
0.4 mi away
Brown Hotel
Brown Hotel
#11 of 54 in Astana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Esil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Esil

Property: Grand Park Esil
Address: Beybitshilik 8, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Astana
#5 Business Hotel in Astana
#5 Best Value Hotel in Astana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Astana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Esil 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Park Esil is a four star Hotel in Astana. The Hotel has 126 room with air-conditioning system, separate water reservoir, diesel generator and boiler for uninterrupted cold and hot water and electrical power supply. It is located at the Central Square of the capital of Kazakhstan, nearby the governmental offices, museums, banks, shopping malls, and river promenade and park area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Park Esil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park Esil Hotel Astana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing