We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere / character”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Park Esil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Park Esil
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Astana
UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere / character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here three nights on business and really enjoyed it.
The hotel has great atmosphere and character. I prefer places like this over soul-less Western box hotels. Grand Park Esil is a hotel with history.

I liked:
*The front desk. They were polite and helpful and spoke perfect English.
*My bed was comfortable and the room (while not huge) was big enough to be comfortable. There were not a huge amount of channels, but luckily at least one was showing the World Cup.
*The location is good - just a short walk from a shopping centre (across the road) and 2-3 blocks from the riverside, which is lively and scenic.
*The pool is small but very refreshing.
*Cleanliness of common areas and my room (which did *not* stink of smoke or feature insect life)
*The room service I ordered from the night menu was hot and tasty

Room for improvement
* Breakfast. There is a decent variety, but it is not presented very well. And I know Central Asians are tea drinkers, but it really is pretty poor to have the only coffee option be Nescafe.

All in all, this is a place I would happily stay in again if I return to Astana (and I hope I do!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmrzlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandParkEsilManager, Director of Sales at Grand Park Esil, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Hotel Grand Park Esil we would like to thank You for staying at our hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.

We are glad to know that you liked the Hotel’s location, fine breakfast, cleanliness of room, comfortable bed and enjoyed our swimming pool. And we appreciate very much your warm words about our staff, room service and they are very grateful and motivate to do even greater service. Concerning the coffee, we also have other types of coffee. We consider all your recommendation regarding the breakfast.

Our team is looking forward to see you again at your next visit to Astana.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance,

Sincerely yours,
Gulnara Spielau
Sales and Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    58
    40
    8
    2
See reviews for
2
3
8
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Astana's centre of gravity has moved since this hotel was built (it's fairly close to the railway station which used to be the main part of town) but you've still got a good range of restaurants and cafes close by and it's not far from the river.
My room was compact but did have a small balcony. The bathroom is small (shower only which suits me but no good if you want a bath). The air conditioning struggles to cool the room - it was very warm all the time I was there.
Breakfast is OK; some good fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, various hot foods.
There's a small swimming pool and sauna (separate for men and women) and a small gym. In the week I was there I only saw one other person in the pool so I enjoyed my time there!

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has balconies looking out to the President's museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_Roc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandParkEsilManager, Director of Sales at Grand Park Esil, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Park Esil Hotel for your stay in Astana and sharing your valuable experience with us.

We are delighted to know that you liked the Hotel’s location, fine breakfast and enjoyed our swimming pool with gym and sauna. We would like to inform you also that soon we are planning renewal of the bathrooms which has mostly shower cabins, but in some rooms bathtubs are available as well.

Concerning the air conditioning in your room , we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced, since in May in Astana the weather is changing quickly from high temperatures to very low, our cooling system was not switched on the whole day, but only in the night time. We have communicated your review to our technical manager in order to adjust the system to more working hours during the very warm weather even in May, in summer usually during the hot weather days it works 24 hours.

The entire team of Grand Park Esil Hotel is looking forward to greeting you at your next visit to Astana.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance,

Sincerely yours,
Gulnara Spielau
Sales and Marketing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hotel is fine. Nothing out of ordinary. Suite Delux could be rather small, wish it had some extra room, including in the bathroom, which is one of those enclosed closets. Considering all the extra areas in and around the hotel are large and vacant. Went on busy time of the year. Just ate breakfast in the AM, which was fine also, nothing heavy. it's located in convenient area, as it's by a nice super market, close to walk by the river and the more nocturnal active areas.

Staff was cool and most spoke english, sometimes they forgot to refill my water, but that't just because I keep hydrated.

Gym's best part is the locker room, it has a pool and HOT sauna.

Room Tip: Get the bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandParkEsilManager, Director of Sales at Grand Park Esil, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Grand Park Esil Hotel and for sharing your experience with us and other TripAdvisor travelers. Your review is very valuable and important for constant improving the level of our services.

We are happy to hear that you liked the Hotel’s location, fine breakfast, and good quality of service. And we are delighted to know that you enjoyed gym and hot sauna.

For your next visit, you can make reservation for Junior Suite, which has one living room and big bedroom with bathroom, please, contact our sales and marketing department for getting the special rate for repeat guests.

Our entire team is looking forward to greeting you at Grand Park Esil Hotel at your next visit to Astana.

Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance,

Best regards,


Sincerely yours,
Gulnara Spielau
Sales and Marketing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I should clarify that my "very good" rating is based mainly on experiences in other hotels in Kazakhstan. Still, I think the Grand Park Esil is a fine place to stay in Astana.

The location is great: in the old part of the city, near plenty of restaurants and shopping venues, and also close to the river, with easy access to the new part of the city. The rooms are clean and more than adequate, the staff very nice, helpful, and professional. The breakfast that comes with the room rate is nothing extraordinary, but it is certainly more than adequate. The WiFi was terrific. When I first arrived, I noticed a leak in my sink's drain pip, which was off-putting. However, it was taken care of immediately without any fuss.

A couple of hints: First, get a standard room. I stayed in a moderate room, which was fine, but for an extra $20 (roughly), a little extra space is well worth it. Second, the soap and shampoo provided are miniscule, so bring your own. Finally, the hotel does not provide complimentary bottled water, as some other hotels here do, which is a shame. There is water in the minibar, though I would suggest simply finding a place to buy your own for cheaper. Still and all, this was a very good experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandParkEsilManager, Director of Sales at Grand Park Esil, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at our Hotel and sharing your experience with other travelers.

We are happy you liked our hotel, its great location, clean and adequate rooms.

We appreciate very much your nice and warm words about our staff which we have forwarded to our team and they were very grateful and motivated to do even greater service.

Your opinion is very important for us, and we are glad to announce that from now on we are providing a complimentary bottle of water in all rooms, also upon request of a guest we are providing tea/coffee set with a kettle.

Our entire staff is looking forward to have an opportunity to welcoming you at Grand Park Esil Hotel at your next visit to Astana.

Sincerely yours,
Gulnara Spielau
Sales and Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Grand Park Esil is a fine place to stay in Astana for a short trip. Well located to explore the city on foot, restaurants nearby, a plentiful and delicious breakfast. Clean rooms. Pleasant and helpful service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLJ60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandParkEsilManager, Manager at Grand Park Esil, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leaving the valuable for us comments on TripAdvisor for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you liked our nice location, breakfast, helpful service and clean rooms.

Our entire team hope to see you soon again at the Grand Park Esil Hotel.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance,

Sincerely yours,
Gulnara Spielau
Sales and Marketing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Average Soviet style hotel but offers good service,the rooms are very basic but clean and service is very friendly. Located in centre of city, a decent option to stay when compared to over priced hotels in Astana city.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RP07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandParkEsilManager, Manager at Grand Park Esil, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Grand Park Esil Hotel and for sharing your experience with us and other TripAdvisor travelers. Your comment is very valuable for us and gives us a great motivation to provide even better service.

We are happy to hear that you liked the Hotel’s location, clean rooms, good quality of service and price.

Our entire team is looking forward to greeting you at Grand Park Esil Hotel at your next visit to Astana.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance,

Sincerely yours,
Gulnara Spielau
Sales and Marketing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have stayed in the Esil twice ( October and November) in 2013. In comparison to the Rixos in Astana where I also stayed twice recently, the Esil has a more agreeable location close to a number of restaurants and shops and it also has lower prices. The service is pleasant and the food is simple and of reasonable quality. The downside is the small rooms which are still redolent of the hotel's Soviet past. Brown seems to be the colour of choice upstairs. Do not expect luxurious toiletries.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DalkeyIsland30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandParkEsilManager, Director of Sales at Grand Park Esil, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Grand Park Esil Hotel and for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. Your opinion is very important for us for a constant improving the level of our services.

We are glad to hear you liked our nice location, pleasant service and good quality of food.

You are right in our standard rooms the toiletries are simple, however when our guests have requests for additional toiletries we are always ready to be helpful as much as possible, just necessary to call to Reception.

Our entire team hopes to have an opportunity to serve you again at your future visit to Astana;

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance,

Sincerely yours,
Gulnara Spielau
Sales and Marketing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astana hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
0.8 mi away
King Hotel Astana
King Hotel Astana
#10 of 54 in Astana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kazzhol Hotel
Kazzhol Hotel
#4 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
ibis Astana
ibis Astana
#7 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown Hotel
Brown Hotel
#8 of 54 in Astana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Astana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Esil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Esil

Property: Grand Park Esil
Address: Beybitshilik 8, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Astana
#5 Business Hotel in Astana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Astana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Esil 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Park Esil is a four star Hotel in Astana. The Hotel has 126 room with air-conditioning system, separate water reservoir, diesel generator and boiler for uninterrupted cold and hot water and electrical power supply. It is located at the Central Square of the capital of Kazakhstan, nearby the governmental offices, museums, banks, shopping malls, and river promenade and park area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Park Esil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park Esil Hotel Astana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing