We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to escape the wind”

Palace of Peace and Reconciliation
Ranked #6 of 126 things to do in Astana
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good place to escape the wind”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A good place to visit if the weather is cold. Inside it's a lot bigger than it seems and the cost of 500T is cheap. You cannot look around on your own and have to have a guided tour. Our guide spoke English and the tour lasted 30 minutes. It was a good tour but brief and you were rushed through certain areas of the building. The top floor had good views and photos were permitted. It was interesting that every part has some symbolic meaning. The cafe was ok and moderately priced. Take advantage of it and the toilets as there is nothing in the vicinity.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 571RichyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    72
    26
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I visited this building whilst working in the city. From the outside it does not advertise it self well and I'm sure people do not enter because they don't realise they can, I only knew that I could get a tour from looking at this site.

My English speaking guide was very nice and although I was the only English person in the group she made sure to repeat everything for my benefit. I thought it quite amusing that they hold Sir Norman in such high regard, the guide mentioned his name many times (although not the Sir bit) and took great pains to point him out in a group photo on display.

The diagonal lifts were an interesting feature for getting people up the angled sides. The top floor is reached by one of two angled staircases that have a mixture of real and plastic plants, I found this bit to be a bit like an old Butlins themed room of the 1970's, it didn't help that a lot of the plants looked like they could have used a drink.

The overall impression is that if they had insisted on a better build quality the overall effect would have been better, and like most buildings in the city this one is starting to show it's age despite being relatively new. Unlike the real pyramids this buidling will not last 200 years let alone 2000.

But in a city that does not have many places to visit, you may as well give it a go, it is cheap to enter £1.50 and that includes the tour, my visit was completed in 40 minutes and that included buying a couple of souvenirs in the gift shop.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to visit - Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Included in the entrance fee is a free guided tour (KZ/RU/ENG).
The building is very impressive from the outside as well as inside. Designed by Forster and Partners (UK). Being a pyramid shaped building, is not Forster & Partners (F&P) normally do, they are better known for a more rounded designs. However, I was surprised how spacious and good use of spaces within the building, both from the ground level right up to the top.
Ground - Theatre, Middle level - Art Space, Top - Conference Room (with Presidential lift).
Just below the Top level there is a Plant Area with a set of stairs going up and another set of stairs going down, one of the F&P's signature work.
Lots of glass and nature lights, some with doves and sky design.
The Art Space is both a gallery as well as a real Artist work space.
The Guide was very knowledgeable and helpful.
The shop is quite well stocked, within a small space. I would have expected a building guide/booklet, but there was none, either to buy or a give away.There are building signs, but hard to read/see, as very strong light reflections (see pix).
The shop staff was very helpful, even when they are on a "food" break she came and gave me back the items I brought earlier.
Overall a great place to visit and value for money with a free guided tour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Interesting back story...... Certainly worth a visit if you are nearby and have a vehicle. Looks good at night.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Incredible structure”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Its a huge and modern pyramide in the middle of EuroAsia. It is pretty far from the center of the city (one hour and half walking), but it is worth.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank josefdzalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palace of Peace and Reconciliation also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to Palace of Peace and Reconciliation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing