We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open air mini-museum”

Atameken Ethno-Memorial Complex
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Open air mini-museum”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very informative museum on Kazakhstan history. There are a lot of little makets of real buildings devided by regions. Should be interesting for little children.
Entrance fee 250 tenge (2$). You may take a guide who will explain details - 200 tenge(1.5$).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dinchi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The only thing this tired and outdated attraction has going for it is the price.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I nearly fell off my chair when I saw how this was rated, having just visited this with my teenaged children. The idea is a perfectly good one - think Legoland, but the result is dire and the whole set up is tired and dilapidated. The main problems are that the buildings are all totally out of scale with each other and with the plastic flowers and animals that have been added - thus one has a model of a building - perhaps a rather western looking ranch that looks as if it comes from the local toy shop, over which a huge plastic rabbit looms. Plastic ducks bob on the "Caspian" and are massive compare to the oil installations around the sea. The effect is bizarre to say the least. Having lived in Astana for two years now, I cannot say that this is the no 2 sight seeing thing in Astana - although I am struggling a little to come up with something to see other than the Baiterek! Others have suggested the model here of the new city is worth seeing. Don't bother. Buildings again are out of scale with each other and have been displaced from where they actually are, so that it does not represent a true record of the city. If you want to see that - and gain a far better understanding of what this extraordinary city will look like in years to come, go to the Palace of Independence - near the Pyramid, and there is a fantastic model of the city, all in scale and pretty accurate, built by a South Korean company.

I should also add that on a damp August afternoon, when we visited, we were both charged to use a camera and no English speaking guide was available. The only thing this place has going for it is the price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank steppeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No 2 sight-seeing in Astana”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

After Baiterek Atameken should definitely be your No 2 sight-seeing in Astana. It represents a map of Kazakhstan (with pretty much all the major cities) with miniature buildings, mountains, railroads adn pretty much everything that could be interesting in Kazakhstan. For those who haven't been to other regions of the country it would be possible to see how big Kazakhstan is and how different is the nature everywhere. There is also a separate area for miniature Astana where one could see almost all the modern buildings of the left bank. They provide guided tours with (I believe) English-speaking translators.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissIzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AKA "The Map" of Kazakhstan”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This was a unique and memorable experience! It is basically a large park that represents the terrain of Kazakhstan. There are replica buildings (larger than actual scale), a raised platform that contains the unique buildings of Astana, and a small museum. It is definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“better if you read Russian”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I just went there. It was nice as it gave a good flavour of what was in Kazakhstan. It would be easier to understand it however if you know Russian. They advertise an English guide, but when we went it was not available. With the guide I am sure it is excellent

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hassanScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atameken Ethno-Memorial Complex also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to Atameken Ethno-Memorial Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing