We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel”
Review of King Hotel Astana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Hotel Astana
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Astana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ok hotel”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Clean rooms. Good breakfast in Astana standards. There is no gym in such a huge hotel. Terrible shower in a unnecessary jacuzzi, very hard to adjust water temperature. Very low water flow in shower as well.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balikadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    80
    60
    18
    9
See reviews for
3
12
10
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I came here just cause i found an amazing offer for a double room. It's a 4 stars hotel, but in my opinion is far far away from other 4 stars. Room is good, quite big, but furniture are VERY old and not of a good quality. Toilet room is quite dirty also. The worst part anyway is the restaurant inside hotel: i know this should not be part of the review, but it's embarrassing to have such quality. By the way, i give 3 star to this Hotel cause 3 stars it's what it deserve: it's cheap for Astana standards, but quality is not bad. I don't think i can plan to stay in this hotel for more than 3 days, but in case of fast business trip i think it's a good compromise.

Room Tip: Some room have balcony, other not, so especially if you are a smoker, ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is reputed to be the biggest hotel in Asia, but each individual is treated well. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Inside was always warm ven when it was -32 outside. There are a few shops and restaurants close by and also a very popular market.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkmuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is a good solution for business or leisure. The rooms are very big and well furnished. The room was warm, and this is a main issue choosing an hotel during the Kazakhstan winter.
Not far by walk from the main streets of Astana and very safe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I like this hotel because I know other hotels in Astana. What I really like here - stay on the top floors room with windows view to the center of Astana. Big rooms ))) I like. Clean, middle price for Astana. And as I herd that it is the biggest hotel of Central Asia. Of course u can meet some things u dislike like food there isn't delicious, but near to hotel famous cafe and disco called Zaza and Barley which are fool in dinner and night time. I don't know what other guest say but for me it is the place where I prefer to stay.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the top floors with windows view to the center of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tereshkevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my colleagues in mid-October. Unfortunately, our timing was off as the hotel was hosting delegates from a political convention that took place at the same time of our visit. The elevators were impossible to use because of the heavy volume of riders. When I asked staff the location of stairs, I was told there were no stairs. Breakfast consisted of pastries, boiled potatoes and sausages, eggs, salads, and porridge. I've been to many hotels in the region and this was one of the worst breakfasts. The rooms were ok, somewhat oddly decorated. As others have written, I also had to shower in a tub. The bed is extra hard but I found it comfortable. The upside of this hotel is that it's located near "old town" and you are able to walk to a couple of local restaurants.

There was an incident at the hotel that upset me. After I finished dining at the hotel's restaurant (would not recommend) and signing my bill to my room, the waiter showed the receipt, which contained my name and room number, to a member of the political party who was pestering me the entire evening, wanting to learn my name and other personal information. When I spoke to the manager at the reception, I was informed that although this person knew my name and room number, he did not know in which block my room was located, therefore I should be fine. The staff at this hotel seem to be poorly trained and are completely clueless when it comes to guest security.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pirksts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Astana hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karlsruhe, Deutschland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

In general I would say the hotel is okay. Stayed on the 20th floor in A-Block (sound like a jail). Room was actually nice, clean and spaceous. My internet connection (free) was good and reasonable fast. Breakfast was allright. Simply pretty local and therefore you might need to get used to it.

Things that should be changed/improved:

- Heater settings. The room was simply hot when I arrived. Fortunately you can open the windows (although on the 20th floor)
- Bathroom: A proper shower is a must. Standing in a bath tub and spraying the whole place is not what I am looking for
- A mini bar with a cola, a beer, a water and a Red Bull is pretty ridiculous, isn't it?
- The beds: really as hard as the floor with carpet
- A little investment in language classe (English) would make the hotel a bit more international

Anyhow - should there be a next visit, I will look for another place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benson1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astana hotels
2.3 mi away
ibis Astana
ibis Astana
#6 of 58 in Astana
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown Hotel
Brown Hotel
#8 of 58 in Astana
26 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Red Village Hotel
Red Village Hotel
#17 of 58 in Astana
33 reviews
2.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel and Business Center
2.4 mi away
Kazzhol Hotel
Kazzhol Hotel
#5 of 58 in Astana
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel Astana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel Astana

Property: King Hotel Astana
Address: 7, Valikhanov str., Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Astana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — King Hotel Astana 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Hotel Astana - it is the biggest hotel in Central Asia with 176 rooms and 299 apartments, capacity of which is for about 700 people. The hotel opened its doors on November 13, 2009 and is already popular for its excellent service, places of entertainment and leisure, as well as other services. Modern 4 -star King Hotel Astana is conveniently located in the heart of the cultural and business district of Astana that allows an active business activity in any part of the city. King Hotel Astana is a place for communication and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your King Hotel Astana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing