We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great summer terrace and shashliks”
Review of Bochonok

Bochonok
Ranked #296 of 897 Restaurants in Astana
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
2 reviews
“Great summer terrace and shashliks”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Great to visit in summertime. Large terrace with excellent food - meat in all versions with fair selection of beers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dramljak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best steak in Astana, by far.....”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I was taken here by an (Astana) based friend; he claimed it had the best steaks in Astana, so I was open for persuasion/discussion, but he was absolutely right.

We both had T-Bones (on the servers recommendation) and tey were lovely, as were their suggested wine/beer/salad add-ons.

All in all it was a lovely meal, high quality food, great service, and a nice atmosphere (until we left and got eaten alive by mosquitoes the size of birds, it is close to the river) which I would estimate was 80-90% local.

The menu was fairly imaginative, something for everyone (I even indulged my secret love for salty chetzel cheese), all-in-all a great place (a very pleasant change from the sanitised fare on offer on Astana’s restaurant row/alley).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlasdairLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place popular with locals”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We liked the atmosphere and the food was great. Had a meal here while Kazakhstan was competing in the weight lifting for the olympics and she won gold. Very exciting and excited crowd in the restaurant . There was a table of young Kazakhs next to us who were totally into it. Even standing and singing the national,anthem

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank penelopeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good Stakes bad service”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

They have good stakes, but overall did not like the service. constantly forgetting what was ordered and late eventhough the place was not full. To noisy and bad ventillated.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MexKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“nice place to relax”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

food and beer are good, waiters - polite. lots of special offers with good prices. good choice of beer

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bochonok also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to Bochonok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing