We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting and relaxing place to hang out!”

Eagilik - Books & Coffee
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Astana
Price range: US$1 - US$2
Cuisines: American
Description: A unique coffee shop with library/bookstore in the heart of the old city. Attractive Kazakh-American decor with popular American-style homemade baked goods and fresh coffee makes it the perfect place to meet friends, read, or just catch up on email.
Restaurant details
Description: A unique coffee shop with library/bookstore in the heart of the old city. Attractive Kazakh-American decor with popular American-style homemade baked goods and fresh coffee makes it the perfect place to meet friends, read, or just catch up on email.
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inviting and relaxing place to hang out!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

As you walk in, the smell of fresh baked goodies entices you to head straight back to the coffee bar and sample some delicious cakes. The atmosphere is inviting - mood music mixed with good eats. It's a great place to hang out on your own and get some computer work done, or, better yet, bring some friends and enjoy a little competition as you play games and snack. Most of the staff speak English and are very friendly. The library has a great selection of books and DVDs for English speakers. Our kids enjoy sitting on the couches and looking through books, watching the fish in the big tank and taste-testing something yummy from the bakery shelf.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank TV P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha P, Owner at Eagilik - Books & Coffee, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear TV P!
Thank you for your review in March. I'm so glad you mentioned bringing your kids because it lets people know that we are a kid friendly place! We're glad you feel comfortable at Eagilik and hope you will tell your friends about us. It might be a great place to have a coffee with other moms on a weekday. Anyway, we're grateful for your business and look forward to serving you.
Best regards,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“cozy with good food and coffee”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A group of expats play Ma Jong there every week and enjoy the service and the good desserts they offer. A great place to meet for coffee and good conversation!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha P, Owner at Eagilik - Books & Coffee, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Marie!
We love you Ma Jong players and look forward to seeing you each Tuesday!
You started a lovely tradition and hopefully others who enjoy games will follow your example.
We are grateful for your business and hope you'll keep coming and tell your friends about us too.
Happy Spring!
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True their slogan: A place to relax, renew, and refresh!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

If you are looking for the best desserts and coffee in town, they are found at Eagilik - Books and Coffee. Eagilik is a locally-run business that you want to support instead of the big, chain coffee shops that have recently popped up in Astana!

The coffee shops serves up all of the standards and the bakery makes excellent cakes (chocolate, carrot, cheesecake, etc.), quiche, cookies, cinnamon rolls, breakfast sandwiches, etc. that you can eat in the coffee shop. The bakery also makes full cakes to order. Just give them a ring and they'll make it up for you. Recently they added delivery for cakes.

English speakers will find many English language books and DVDs in the library side of the business. The staff speaks English and are very friendly.

Eagilik has also recently expanded business hours to stay open until 21:00, so you can eat a nice dinner out and then stop by for good coffee and dessert at excellent prices.

Overall, this is a place you will want to visit and a business you want to support.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
2 Thank Jenifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha P, Owner at Eagilik - Books & Coffee, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear J L!
What a nice review!! I think we could use you to write more reviews for us. Thanks for writing not only about the great in-house enjoyment of our goodies but also the option for people to take away whole cakes, pies, etc. We aim to please.
We hope you'll continue to visit and brighten up the atmosphere!!
All the best,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
“Great place to hangout, or get a yummy bite to eat.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I really enjoy going to books and coffee. They have the best cheesecake in town. The employees are always smiling and many speak English.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha P, Owner at Eagilik - Books & Coffee, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Lauren,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review; and such a nice one!! We appreciate it so much.
Please tell / bring your friends to enjoy the great cheesecake with you. Happy Spring. The snow has finally melted!!
Kind regards,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
357 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Still cozy for reading, coffee, great quiche, carrot cake”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Improve your English, share your English, grab a book or a gift or just enjoy American style cookies, spinach or broccoli quiche, cheesecake. No place better in Astana. Beautiful aquarium in front. Cozy couches to seat in the winter sun. Pleasant staff. Can't rent DVDs, too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mmoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha P, Owner at Eagilik - Books & Coffee, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear mmoly!
We're so glad that you found us in the heart of 'old Astana' and are taking advantage of this little oasis. I think you might have meant to say that you can check out DVDs from our library. There are also thousands of great books to choose from.
Hope you are staying warm!
Best wishes,
Martha (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eagilik - Books & Coffee also viewed

Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 
Astana, Akmola Province
Astana, Akmola Province
 

Been to Eagilik - Books & Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing