We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Starts in the price: nothing like an asian 5 start.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rixos President Astana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Astana
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
328 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“5 Starts in the price: nothing like an asian 5 start.”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I've stayed for work several times in this hotel: all seasons sort to speak.. Astana is very cold in the winter -35/40, and i wish you pick the lucky room for your stay. Don't get me wrong, is a nice hotel, but i would give it a maximum of 4-- stars. In fact i'm giving 3 to avoid misunderstandings and disappointments to my readers.
Fist of all, as you read in other reviews.. the hotel is expensive, no doubt about it, but compared to the competition, at least is a nicer place. If you are allergic to carpet however, regardless marble the entrance, you are stacked. But this is just the start of the annoying things you will find.
Security: the hotel host big International political events/congresses where, not rarely, Prime ministers, Diplomats, Ambassadors and the sort are usual customers in the hotel. Be prepared, this mean body guards on each corner, airport like security screening every time you enter the building.. you will be asked to open your bag and turn on the Pc, or show your Gizmo.. watch what you walk with then... if you don't want to get too many questions..
Noise: all the rooms face an internal "balcony", therefore corridors are noisier than other hotels and door frame do not isolate the noise as you'd expect.
A/C depending the room, could be working more or less efficently, better for you it does, specially in the winter, or bring warm clothes. There is a second air vent in the corridor near the entrance.. to my standard is noisy and there is nothing you can do to stop the noise and the airflow. The bed is big and mid low, pillows.. not very comfy. P.s. no pillow menu! is not an Holiday Inn or a Novotel..
Reception: despite not being a huge hotel, in number of rooms, you will queue at the reception check-in, and checking out. Bell boy usually available and ready, if you need help.
Building: it looks nice but, as common in other building in Kazakhstan, you may find that from any appliance attached to the wall there is an air flow.. that's the norm, don't be surprised. Rixos is in line with the general rule.
Fitness centre: nice turkish bath, 2 saunas, steam room with light mood LED, massage rooms, gym, hard dresser, manicure/pedicure.. indoor swimming pool and relax area.. all nice.. some of the facilities will be under maintenance.
Breakfast: lately getting better, turkish dishes (pork rarely seen), omelette/fried/poached eggs will be done at your request..ONLY. You can't get a coffee yourself, they will bring it to you..., eventually..if they notice you are there.. this type of service has been also applied to orange juice. If you are in a hurry no coffee/tea, no orange juice, no eggs..
Feel free to invite yourself: if you don't see the person checking guest list at the desk, means that you can get a free brekky. Up to you..
Room service: pricy, but if you are too lazy to go around, you can get something to eat. If you are hungry, get a pasta, portions are decent. meat portions will leave you hungry.. ask if the deliver bread, make sure to ask or face the disappointment that there is no bread. At least the service is usually in the promised 20/25 minutes. Recently Caesar Salad and Beshparmak have disappeared from the menu. On their categories the only decent option, so i'd be stucked no salad and no Kazakh food :-((
Manti, burgher meat: personal choice AVOID! onions in the meat are by default..
You like meat? Get a taxi & go to Line Brew Pub.. and try the beer, also nice!
If i can suggest: if you are going to stay a few days, try to get/rent an apartment: it will be expensive as well, but probably you gain in privacy and quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: If i am not wrong, the best wing is the central for the A/C issues therefore, get a room number endi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    112
    40
    15
    6
See reviews for
11
18
20
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Rixos Astana is my favorite hotel when I occasionally come to the city. This time I was really surprised to find out that the isolation between the rooms is not that great at all. You can hear your neighbor's TV quite well which isn't fun at all in the middle of the night. I truly appreciate staff's assistance in helping partially resolve the issue for me but for the first time I was relieved that I am leaving. I hope next time will be better.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha-Almaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I spent more than 100 days in 2 year and I always had a great experience in Rixos.
Room are great, people provide a great service and the SPA is just fantastic!!
Price of food and drinks is a bit High but that's in line with the level of the hotel.
A must if you come to Astana!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bukowsky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulmira_Rixos, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your wonderful comments and recommendations.
We all here are so happy to learn that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and we are grateful to you for devotion.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best personal regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vatican City, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This is ridiculously expensive for its standard and service level hotel, but this is what Astana is about. I can only imagine frustration of Mr. Rixos (if there is one) who wanted the best of the best and then gets this ridiculously designed and poorly built building ( I can mention e.g. inefficient, or actually nonworking AC in my room – it could be either incredibly hot or freezing cold, or in architectural terms strange difference in levels in the lobby, which are then badly connected by two narrow steps which create big obstacle if there are just two persons trying to champion them) and then later when he hires his staff – all this is substandard and provincial. But what to do, apparently this is the best hotel in town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulmira_Rixos, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Dear Sir,

We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. This is especially saddening because Rixos President Astana was making the experience of providing all our guests with outstanding customer service and the highest standards of performance.

Hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you in our Hotel again soon and provide you the positive Experience you expect from us.

Best regards,

Gulmira Temirbekova
Guest Relations Manager
Rixos President Astana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Whilst staying here I had an accident ( no fault of the hotel I might add) - actually dislocating my shoulder and I have to say the whole team were fantastic from the top down. Not only did they arrange the ambulance etc but made sure i had an English speaking person with me all the time. This is when an hotel earns its stars!! Anybody can slap on paint and offer room service but its about how the hotel works that really shows the winners.
Incidently the hotel is 5 star all the way through.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apearce53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulmira_Rixos, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Dear Sir,

We certainly enjoyed reading your review and would like
to thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Rixos President Astana.
We are pleased that our professional team made your stay enjoyable and memorable.
We wish you good health and do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Rixos President Astana!

With best personal regards,
Gulmira Temirbekova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I'm travel a lot to Astana by business and can say that Rixos President Hotel Astana in the best hotel (by quality) in Astana. As it is 5-star hotel of course it is not cheap one, but quality on the same level :) Not without reason it is main place where official delegations and presidents are staying...
Rooms quite big and very clean, in the bathroom you can find as bath as shower cab as well. One of the important thing for business people is speed and free WiFi.
After busy day you can relax in the SPA, it has diferent kind of saunas and big swimming pool.
During the breakfast you can enjoy background live music (guitar, harp or dombra - kazakh musical instrument) and ofcourse a lot of delicious food.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yonex99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulmira_Rixos, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Dear Sir,
We highly appreciate your nice comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Our main goal is to get 100% guest satisfaction and we are happy to know that we are moving in right direction.
We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our Regular Guest and we are looking forward to welcome you at your next visit. It will be our pleasure to be at your service.

We wish you all the best in your business and personal endeavors.

It will be our pleasure to be at your service.

With Best Personal Regards,
Gulmira Temirbekova
Guest Relations Manager
Rixos President Astana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

By Astana standards of course, this hotel is very good. But compared with hotels outside KZ, it simply does not pass muster. Certainly the lobby is lovely and polished at first glance, and the spa services are nice, but under the gloss one finds things are shabby indeed. The a/c was woefully inadequate to cope with a conference on a hot summer's day, and what there was in terms of catering/room service took ages and the offerings were sparse. Coupled with woefully inadequate IT support and outrageously priced water/tea/coffee that was NOT replenished despite the heat, even with charge, I cannot honestly recommend the Rixos. But it's the best you'll find in Astana.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eliphants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
0.7 mi away
Astana Marriott Hotel
Astana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 58 in Astana
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Hotel and Business Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jumbaktas Hotel
Jumbaktas Hotel
#13 of 58 in Astana
81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kazzhol Hotel
Kazzhol Hotel
#4 of 58 in Astana
140 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Astana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos President Astana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos President Astana Hotel

Property: Rixos President Astana Hotel
Address: Kunayeva St. 7, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Astana
#1 Business Hotel in Astana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Astana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos President Astana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixos President Astana combines the peak of comfort and luxury in Astana. Classically inspired yet fresh and eco-friendly, this luxury hotel's accommodation options are among the city's most spacious. Of the 184 guest units, including 4 Junior Suites, 2 Premium Suites, 12 Presidential Suites and 2 Royal Suites, the most spacious accommodation in Astana, all are offering magnificent view of the city. In-room facilities are geared to the needs of international business travelers. Rixos President Astana blends local tastes and world cuisines with style and luxury. Destined to be among the city's hottest see-and-be-seen destinations, Rixos President Astana features lifestyle restaurants with the finest dining and nightlife in Astana. Our international and globally experienced Food & Beverage Team provides the best and most authentic culinary experiences. Located in the heart of Astana, Rixos Wellness & SPA is city's most luxurious retreat. A place to unwind, restore and invigorate the body and mind. Surrounded by gentle interiors, advanced fitness equipment, an expansive swimming pool, steam room, sumptuous treatment areas, it brings relaxation, wellness and fitness to the core. The Spa features relaxing treatment rooms as well as the sensual bathing retreats Hamam, which allows fully immerse in exotic Turkish ritual ambience. Relaxation lounge is the ideal place to have a rest between appointments. The Spa offers an extensive range of treatments, including different types of massage, facials and body treatments. Rixos President Astana offers over 1,000 square meters of functional space, including seven meeting and event facilities to host official receptions, conferences, business and private meetings and banquets. Choose from our many distinguished venues, and our attentive staff will organize, oversee and deliver every last detail of your event, conference or special occasion. Discover flexible spaces that adapt perfectly to your meeting purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rixos President Astana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos President Astana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing