We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the comforts you need” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rixos President Astana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rixos President Astana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Astana
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“All the comforts you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Excellent hotel. Managed to stay on a corporate rate in the $300/night range. The breakfast buffet is superb and the room where the buffet is served is spectacular. Having a cash dispensing machine in the lobby was very handy. The bar was decent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toutelemonde123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    106
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
9
18
20
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Rixos President Astana is a grand hotel with a great atrium. Rooms are fairly standard business type rooms and are well heated. In fact you need to regulate your controls well to ensure the room cools a bit during the winter. The rooms are serviced quickly.

There is an excellent spa - large pool, treating rooms, sauna, steam room and Turkish bath. Small but well equipped gym. Good range of treatments. During the week the pool is generally quiet but at weekends it does get more crowded.

I generally eat in the lobby bar where there is a good selection of food, nicely presented. The service can be very efficient or very slow even when there seems to be a lot of staff available. The Italian restaurant serves interesting food well but always seems a little formal to me and sometimes full of loud business groups. So is the lobby but it is better insulated so you don't get disturbed so much by others. (I once complained about the service and the comments were taken very seriously by the management who are clearly striving to deliver a first class product.)

The buffet breakfast is extensive with lots of things available. Eggs freshly cooked as you wish. I agree about the slow tea/coffee service sometimes but if you have a leisurely day at the weekend they will give you a pot of tea, and remember that's what you want.

Reception always efficient and friendly. Check-in in seconds if you are a regular and they know you are coming. I am greeted by name by reception staff.

It does get fully booked when something is happening in Astana. Security also gets ramped up when government leaders stay there but it has never been too intrusive.

Few people go to Astana on holiday so nearly all the customers are business. This makes prices high although they do offer value breaks over the weekend if that suits your visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Nice hotel with worm rooms. But food was dire... Service was unacceptable... Felt no sense about my complains...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Visited it 4 times. Absolutely glad and happy.
Staff, hotel, rooms, everything is so warm and cosy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beldiamantemokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The hotel is centrally located in Astana and offers good facilities to its guests. Good breakfast, good staff. The pub downstairs is bloody expensive - paid over $40 USD for two beers.
Please note that rooms are not as luxurious as the rest of the hotel. Nevertheless, my overall experience was a positive one and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philonous_XXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

My first staying in this hotel, used to stay in other hotels in Astana. Rixos is usually well known for its luxury and this is what you may expect given the rates. Indeed, luxury is what you'd find approaching the hotel, entering the front door, going through the lobby and getting to the reception desk. Here your impression of hotels' luxury ends and your disappointment starts. I arrived to the hotel at 6:30am (that the time when the most of international flights arrive in Astana), and this very early check-in was agreed with the hotel in advance. Not only agreed, but also paid for, half-day rate was charged for only 6 hours that I needed to sleep before my business meetings. Surprisingly, the receptionist said that my room is still not ready and offered to wait in lobby till 7am. In addition he offered me snacks and drinks at an "early bird" table next to the reception desk. On the table there were two half-eaten cookies, leftovers of some jam, nutella and butter, which melted down. Some of cold coffee still left in jug, but no mugs, excepting two dirty ones left on the same small table. The same with juice no glasses. Nobody took care to refill the goods or at least to clean up the mess. An the receptionist had the nerve to offer me to "serve myself" with this stuff?!
My room was ready finally at 7:15am and I realized that only when I approached the receptionist again, nobody came to me before that to say that the room is ready. Room was good, quite big (though looked a bit useless), nice big bed, great bathroom and shower, bathrobes and stuff, kettle, but where's the iron? Also, there was no complementary bottle of water in my room. I informed the reception and they said it's being sent, but, apparently, didn't arrived. Breakfast was rather modest, not much choice. The place was pretty tidy, but quite small, I had to share the table with other people. And, you by yourself must approach the staff and ask to pore you tee or coffee, maybe they are too shy to approach you and ask what would you like.
And, finally, don't plan to go to gym there, if you don't want to add another disappointment to the list. It's a bad parody to a gym. And this is not only because it's very poorly equipped: just a treadmill, bike and a set of dumb bells, even no drinking water supply. Gym in this "luxury" hotel is a small room with glass walls, located in the passage nearby hotel's backdoor. There are a lot of people, apparently, strangers and hotel's staff going back and forth, passing by and staring at you.
Bottom line, luxury look and big room don't mean yet you will be satisfied of your staying. It also takes staff, because people who serve and assist you are really the face of the hotel. My impression of Rixos Astana was rather negative and I'd strongly recommend to check other hotels in Astana.

Room Tip: Ask reception for an iron, there is no iron in the room. Don't plan to go to gym there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

The hotel's lobby is nice enough, but the rooms are just average and not the most modern. The bed is sub-standard and low to the ground in the Central Asian style. The misleadingly named "Irish Pub" is neither Irish, nor a pub. Yes, they serve booze, but they don't have any Irish decor and you cannot get a pint of anything resembling a Guinness. The Radisson Blu Astana is a much better experience.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warhorse09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
0.7 mi away
Astana Marriott Hotel
Astana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 54 in Astana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kazzhol Hotel
Kazzhol Hotel
#4 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Hotel and Business Center
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Astana
2.0 mi away
ibis Astana
ibis Astana
#7 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos President Astana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos President Astana Hotel

Property: Rixos President Astana Hotel
Address: Kunayeva St., 7, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Astana
#1 Spa Hotel in Astana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Astana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos President Astana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixos President Astana combines the peak of comfort and luxury in Astana. Classically inspired yet fresh and eco-friendly, this luxury hotel's accommodation options are among the city's most spacious. Of the 184 guest units, including 4 Junior Suites, 2 Premium Suites, 12 Presidential Suites and 2 Royal Suites, the most spacious accommodation in Astana, all are offering magnificent view of the city. In-room facilities are geared to the needs of international business travelers. Rixos President Astana blends local tastes and world cuisines with style and luxury. Destined to be among the city's hottest see-and-be-seen destinations, Rixos President Astana features lifestyle restaurants with the finest dining and nightlife in Astana. Our international and globally experienced Food & Beverage Team provides the best and most authentic culinary experiences. Located in the heart of Astana, Rixos Wellness & SPA is city's most luxurious retreat. A place to unwind, restore and invigorate the body and mind. Surrounded by gentle interiors, advanced fitness equipment, an expansive swimming pool, steam room, sumptuous treatment areas, it brings relaxation, wellness and fitness to the core. The Spa features relaxing treatment rooms as well as the sensual bathing retreats Hamam, which allows fully immerse in exotic Turkish ritual ambience. Relaxation lounge is the ideal place to have a rest between appointments. The Spa offers an extensive range of treatments, including different types of massage, facials and body treatments. Rixos President Astana offers over 1,000 square meters of functional space, including seven meeting and event facilities to host official receptions, conferences, business and private meetings and banquets. Choose from our many distinguished venues, and our attentive staff will organize, oversee and deliver every last detail of your event, conference or special occasion. Discover flexible spaces that adapt perfectly to your meeting purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rixos President Astana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos President Astana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing