We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos President Astana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Astana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I stayed in the Rixos for four nights on a business trip. All in all a luxurious hotel with a large lobby (including palm trees and canaries), well maintained. Good and large breakfast buffet. The room was clean and large, the bath had both a shower and a bathtub.
I ate once in the Italian restaurant, where the food was good and service ok, but the prices quite expensive.
Wireless internet was excellent throughout the hotel. The room had a VOI telephone with unlimited free calls.
A real highlight is the large indoor swimming pool, with sauna and steam bath next to it. Great for relaxing after a busy day.
It is only a 15 minutes walk to the Khan Shatyr Shopping Center or the Baiterek Monument, if you want to do some sightseeing (and weather permits).
The only negative were the high prices, from room to restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear w84,

Thank you for chosing Rixos President Astana for your stay.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We have noted your comment on the prices of our services and accommodation. In this regard our Sales and Marketing department makes continous surveys of the similar ranking hotels in the region and we feel that present price strategy is well positioned within current market range.

We do hope to welcome you back to Rixos President Astana for your future visits.

Sincerely,

Elena Shvarts
Rooms Division Manager
elena.shvarts@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Rixos President Astana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

I was staying at this property during February, 2013. The overall appearance is pleasing and the inside décor is really nice with a huge open atrium which allows a lot of light into the centre. The pool, spa and gym area was great and easily accessible from any room.
What I didn't like was the generic and "cheap" toiletries that are offer, lack of towels supplied (especially when they know it is a single occupancy) and the restaurant food and value. I would have to say it was the worst so called 5 star hotel food that I have ever eaten. I ate from the room service menu, the Irish pub and the Italian "fine dining" restaurant. I decided to eat snacks from the supermarket after trying these three places because the quality was terrible. The morning buffet breakfast was really good and the fresh omelets were great.
I understand Astana is seriously in the middle of no where but service and quality at the very high prices charged cannot be justified.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saminmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Saminmilan,

Thank you for your feedback post your stay at Rixos President Astana.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed our luxurious atrium lobby area as well as Spa and fitness facilities.

Post your feedback, we have reviewed the quality of our amenities and their placement in the room. Inndeed, a lot of guest are delighted with breakfast variety in the hotel and are impressed with the same. We have noted your contructive feedback on our food quality in the outlets and passed your comments to the Executive Chef and his team.

We appreciate you taking the time in reviewing our services as it gives us a great opportunity to view our performance from a guest's perspective.

Sincerely,

Elena Shvarts
Rooms Division Manager
elena.shvarts@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The front desk staff usually leaves you with the first impressions about the hotel. We already had a confirmed reservation, but took an average of 15 minutes to check in each person.to We were 8 and only two staff at the front desk for checking guests, in and out. I was given a twin bed room. The second bed was on the account of a desk and a chair. To sit in the room, one has to sit on the bed, though it's was advertised to enjoy in-room dining (on the bed !! and no table). Breakfast is excellent. very freindly recepcient and serving staff. However, if you are thinking of having lunch at the Olivo Intalian restaurant, place your order in the morning to be served at noon. It's not they are too busy, but extremely slow. This happed two days in a row. The WIFI was excellent, and really all over the hotel, and free. Cleaning of the rooms for three nights was always done very late in the afternoon. By the way, bring your own tissue box as it's not available in any of the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LONGYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed at the Rixos President, Astana, for four days in early April, on a business trip with colleagues. The hotel had been reserved by our employer and the bill was paid directly by our employer too.

My bedroom was fine, with a good king-size bed and a choice of pillows for different health requirements, a nice writing desk, WiFi connection, armchair and a nice bathrooom with shower and bathtub, and a full range of toiletries. The room was warm and comfortable, and I didn't have to fiddle with the heating. The WiFi connection, which was included in the price, was fast and reliable.

We had a meeting every day in one of the meeting rooms in the hotel. The rooms were spacious and very quiet, and the coffee service was good and discreet. The hotel has a business centre with printers, scanners and computers, and I used it a few times to send scanned copies of business letters via email.

The hotel has an Irish pub, which I didn't have the time to try; a large lounge area where one can order a good range of meals; and an Italian restaurant (l'Olivo). Lounge dinners were good and reasonable value for money: I tried a chicken omelette, salads, and a fish dish, with good beers, all very good. The service was attentive and prompt. L'olivo was also very good: portions were not too big, which pleased me because many Italian restaurants outside Italy give excessively large portions. I was served a small complimentary bruschetta, after which I tried a starter of fish and spaghetti chitarra (tomato sauce and mussels), followed by coffee. Good service; a bit expensive but, considering the level of service and the restaurant furniture and decor, wasn't bad at all.

Breakfast was served in a spacious, well lit room and was self-service (but with coffee taken to your table). Very good range of cheeses, cold meats, fruit (including dry varieties), salads, bread and croissant, juices and coffee/tea.

All in all, a very good experience - I will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous_Male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I was in Astana on business and so did not have to pay the incredibly high prices that were posted at the check-in desk but I think even our corporate rate was eye-watering. However the hotel is stylish - in a baroque sort of way - has very good facilities including a lovely pool, excellent saunas and a reasonable gym and the people are very keen to help. The rooms are huge and well equipped. Not everything works as it should and the food varies in quality. I had surprisingly good sushi, a substantial hamburger and some rather strange sandwiches. A superb guitarist provided breakfast entertainment. Overall a great place to stay if you are not paying for it yourself. It is worth walking from the hotel to the Foster designed Khan Shatyr centre to see rich Kazakhs at play and seriously shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EireDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

It's one of the best hotels in Astana. It's modern and oriental at the same time. I stayed in many hotels in Astana, this is truly the most comfortable so far. Rooms are different, depending on your budget. Service is normally very good, but - as in Kazakhstan - sometimes quite peculiar. However, if $300+ is not a limitation to your budget, it's a decent place to stay and hold your meetings, relax in a spa or take a pint at the Irish bar watching football at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aran_bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

A really nice hotel which lives up to expectations. It was the first of the really modern hotels here and it seems to have maintained its standard or if anything, improved since my last stay 5 years ago.

It has beautiful rooms which are well equiped and comfortable.

The upper lobby area is a lovely place to sit and have coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
0.7 mi away
Astana Marriott Hotel
Astana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 61 in Astana
215 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Astana
The Ritz-Carlton, Astana
#15 of 61 in Astana
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Hotel and Business Center
0.3 mi away
Jumbaktas Hotel
Jumbaktas Hotel
#9 of 61 in Astana
95 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Astana
Radisson Hotel Astana
#8 of 61 in Astana
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos President Astana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos President Astana Hotel

Address: Kunayeva St. 7, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Astana
#1 Business Hotel in Astana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Astana
Price Range: £104 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos President Astana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixos President Astana combines the peak of comfort and luxury in Astana. Classically inspired yet fresh and eco-friendly, this luxury hotel's accommodation options are among the city's most spacious. Of the 184 guest units, including 4 Junior Suites, 2 Premium Suites, 12 Presidential Suites and 2 Royal Suites, the most spacious accommodation in Astana, all are offering magnificent view of the city. In-room facilities are geared to the needs of international business travelers. Rixos President Astana blends local tastes and world cuisines with style and luxury. Destined to be among the city's hottest see-and-be-seen destinations, Rixos President Astana features lifestyle restaurants with the finest dining and nightlife in Astana. Our international and globally experienced Food & Beverage Team provides the best and most authentic culinary experiences. Located in the heart of Astana, Rixos Wellness & SPA is city's most luxurious retreat. A place to unwind, restore and invigorate the body and mind. Surrounded by gentle interiors, advanced fitness equipment, an expansive swimming pool, steam room, sumptuous treatment areas, it brings relaxation, wellness and fitness to the core. The Spa features relaxing treatment rooms as well as the sensual bathing retreats Hamam, which allows fully immerse in exotic Turkish ritual ambience. Relaxation lounge is the ideal place to have a rest between appointments. The Spa offers an extensive range of treatments, including different types of massage, facials and body treatments. Rixos President Astana offers over 1,000 square meters of functional space, including seven meeting and event facilities to host official receptions, conferences, business and private meetings and banquets. Choose from our many distinguished venues, and our attentive staff will organize, oversee and deliver every last detail of your event, conference or special occasion. Discover flexible spaces that adapt perfectly to your meeting purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixos President Astana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos President Astana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing