We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rixos President Astana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rixos President Astana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Astana
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here. Everything was good. Bed comfy. Quiet room on one of the higher floors. Bar is expensive but good choice of food. Pleasant design of both the room and the public areas. Very kindly allowed a late checkout. Centrally located and very close to public transport. Reception staff were very efficient and helpful. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Astana.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Pete_D London,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your impressions of our hotel in details. We are delighted that the hotel facilities and services overall exceeded your expectations. Reception team members were congratulated on their commitment to providing excellent services to our guests and great job!

We hope to have the pleasure to see you once again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Elena Shvarts
Rooms Division Manager
elena.shvarts@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    106
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
9
18
20
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice (Oct 2013 for a week and January 2014 for 3 weeks). I am a business traveller and we enjoy a special rate (US gov), so I cannot comment on price. Besides we are paid per diems, so staying in Astana is not as painful. The entire city is very expensive (I got a sticker shock coming from DC/North VA), so there is no surprise that the hotel is expensive. It is a Turkish chain hotel managed by an Italian, also they have an Italian catering manager and German and Dutch chefs.

Lobby and Atrium - are beautiful, with a lot of green plants, trees and fresh flowers.The atrium is very spacious, nicely appointed with tables and a lot of comfortable sofas. Nice place to have some tea, which is also pricey but comes with a tray with nutsm raisins and small cookies. Nice surprise. Need to make a special mention of birds. There are at least 8-10 birds (parakeets and cockatiels.. I had to google their names). They are in cages located in each corner of the artirum, so when they take a break from napping and feeding, they talk/sing a lot. I guess some clients complaned about the noise, but I like it.

Rooms - are spacious, nicely furnished, but a bit dark to my taste (not enough lighting). They have a desk, but often there is no outlet for plugging your laptop. Ask for an extension cord. The beds are hard to my taste, so I sleep on extra comforters to feel more comfortable. The hotel does not have blankets. When I asked for one, they brought 2 sheets, which worked out fine. The hotel itself is very warm, it was about 80F on the 5th floor, I had to turn off heat in my room (despite it being January and minus 15-20F outside). Rooms are quiet, good noise insulation. I don't hear guests next door. Rooms have a mini fridge (a bar with overpriced drinks) and a tea pot. They provide 2 bottles of water per day which is complimentary. They also have instant coffee, tea and sugar which is NOT being replenished on a daily basis unless you call and ask. Cleaning ladies are not responsible for tea/coffee..or a coffee cup for that matter. You need to call room service and ask. Also, despite the hotel staff being very friendly and hard working, sometimes, they just cannot connect the dots.. They took my coffee cup one day when I returned from the office. I called and asked why they took it. The answer was "probably because it was dirty" !!!! Well.. you could've (1) leave it dirty; (2) wash it or (3) replace with a clean one.. Instead they just took it. Back in October I ended up with 3 coffee cups in my room (2 of them remained dirty, sitting in various parts of the room). Go figure.. I think part of it is local culture/mentality and impossibility to train everybody to the same standard or understanding of westen-style service.

Phone and internet - free phone - VOIP - you can call anywhere in the world for free. I called US, Ukraine and the connection was pretty decent. Wireless internet is fast and pretty reliable.

Food - well... very pricey on the menu. I usually order from their Turkish menu, as I cannot bear to pay $25 for a club sandwich or a burger. Room service is even more outrageous, so it is better to eat in the atrium ($13-$17 per Turkish dish). Breakfast is an overkill. They cater to various cultures (soup and manty, sushi and korean type food). Good selection of cheeses, cold cuts, freshly baked bread and pastries. You can find bacon: it is buried under non-halal sausages. My two complaints are: (i) they cook eggs right in the dining area and there is no exhaust. If several guests order omelettes, you, your hair and clothes will be smelling like greasy kitchen. It is pretty annoying. I never go there in my business clothes. (ii) Eggs are terrible.. the yolks are barely yellow. Not hotel's fault. I imagine they come from vitamin D deficient chickens..

Gym and the Spa - I am an avid runner, so a decent treadmill is a must (especially when you are in the Snow Blizzard Capital of the World). Treadmills are terrible. My guess they are not leveled and they run hard. It feels like you are running uphill. Normally an effortless 5 miler becomes a painful ordeal on those treadmills. There are 2 stationary bikes and 2 ellipticals, several other weight machines and free weights. If you are not a treadmill snob like me, you will be happy with the gym. They provide towels and water. There is a whole fridge with water right in the gym.

Spa/Saunas are FABULOUS and very clean despite a lot of traffic. I have not done any massages, but heard they are very good. There are 5-6 Filippino ladies working there. I imagine they know what they are doing. There is a very nice pool. Bring your googles and you can do laps when it is not crowded. It gets crowded only during weekends when rich and plump locals come to enjoy the saunas and the pool. Speaking of saunas: there are 2 dry saunas (90C and 110 C), a steam room with menthol (very hot) and a Turkish bath. There is a "Relax Room" with dim lights, quiet music and candles. You can take a nap, relax or even have some expensive tea.

Staff - I find all hotel staff very hardworking and friendly. I cannot comment on their English skills as I speak Russian. I heard front desk and waiting staff speak fluent English.

Smell - about a week ago we returned to this hotel smelling like baby puke (the entire building except for the rooms). I am not being dramatic about.. I asked the front desk about it and they explained that it was a special solution they use to clean marble and brass.. It's been a week and the place is still stinky. If you don't have a sensitive nose, it might be ok.

The bottom line - I am likely to return to this hotel. However a brand new Marriott will be opened in March 2013 and then all bets are off..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 67Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear 67Virginia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your impressions of our hotel in details. We are delighted that the hotel facilities and services overall met your expectations. Please note that all the relevant feedback on team and coffee facilities was passed to our F&B Manager, who is looking into improving this. Your comments on staff attitude have been share with the team, and we are proud to have all these young people working as part of the team at Rixos.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you once again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Elena Shvarts
Rooms Division Manager
elena.shvarts@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Expensive.... But one of the best. In Astana no hotels which I can recommend. All of them are boring places. So just wanna to say that u can stay here if you love to be top. Hotel operates more for those who traveling to Astana for business reasons. If u can waste your money for fill yourself as a rich man stay here. ))) If it isn't important for u choose more cheaper hotel. All things here are excellent but really boring place. )))

Room Tip: no matter. all rooms are same. Just choose a better window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tereshkevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Tereshkevich,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on our hotel post your stay. We are deilghted to know that your stay in the hotel was pleasurable. The team is dedicated to continuosly exceed expectation of each and every guest.

The hote offers wonderful views of the modern part of the city from rooms and outlets.

We look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Elena Shvarts
Rooms Division Manager
elena.shvarts@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

There may be still some gaps compared with hotel's aspiration to the top luxury hotel in town. But generally speaking the hotel is well managed, clean with good services. Some minor nuisances like lack of power sockets near the desk so one can't plug in his/her computer without unplug the desk lamp, and super slow and small elevators might invite some complaints, but overall the hotel offers a good comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YQTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Aich,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on our hotel post your stay. We are deilghted to know that your stay in the hotel was pleasurable. The team is dedicated to continuosly exceed expectation of each and every guest.

Your compliments of breakfast were passed to our Executive Chef and his team. Indeed, we aim to cater to many different tastes of our guests.

We look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Elena Shvarts
Rooms Division Manager
elena.shvarts@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Well its not cheap, the rooms are just OK, the food is OK but the restaurants are empty, the bar quiet, the service OK, breakfast was the highlight with good choice to cater for a wide variety of cultures

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Aich,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on our hotel post your stay. We are deilghted to know that your stay in the hotel was pleasurable. The team is dedicated to continuosly exceed expectation of each and every guest.

Your compliments of breakfast were passed to our Executive Chef and his team. Indeed, we aim to cater to many different tastes of our guests.

We look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Elena Shvarts
Rooms Division Manager
elena.shvarts@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel location is brilyant, in the city center, a step away to diplomatic complex and within walking distance to Astana main attraction.
The standard room is nice, not big but equipped with good quality amenity - though not special for the amount you pay - not cheap - and I dont think twice I will stay there if I have to pay full price from my pocket.
Good selection for breakfast. Nice staff, helpfull and efficient either during check-in and out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisnu315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear wisnu315,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on our hotel post your stay. We are deilghted to know that your stay in the hotel was pleasurable. The team is dedicated to continuosly exceed expectation of each and every guest.

The hotel beenfits from its location in the modern part of the city, close to administrative and government offices, and I am happy that you were pleased with the location.

We look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Elena Shvarts
Rooms Division Manager
elena.shvarts@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our stay at Rixos Astana as part of the Indian Delegation was comfortable and enjoyable. We were lodged in from 08 Sep to 10 Sep 13 at Rixos. The hotel is centrally located giving access to all the splendours of the New Capital of Kazakhstan, Astana. The staff is really great, cheerful and helpful. Billing, check-in, check-out were fast. Chocolates and dry fruits are kept at Hotel Main Foyer for all the guests on the house. The Gym, spa and the swimming pool at -1 level was also great. The room was spacious and comfortable. Though, I felt that they should provide at least tea spoons and two glasses in the room in addition to two mugs. The Breakfast was wholesome, with variety of fruits, dry fruits, cakes and bakes, vegetables and spread of meats. The whole fruits laid out were fresh and juicy and helped me to satiate small hunger whilst on tour away from hotel. Over all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvarat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at Rixos President Astana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Suvarat75,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on our hotel post your stay. We are deilghted to know that your stay in the hotel was pleasurable. The team is dedicated to continuosly exceed expectation of each and every guest.

We look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Elena Shvarts
Rooms Division Manager
elena.shvarts@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Astana
0.7 mi away
Astana Marriott Hotel
Astana Marriott Hotel
#2 of 54 in Astana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kazzhol Hotel
Kazzhol Hotel
#4 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Hotel and Business Center
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Astana
2.0 mi away
ibis Astana
ibis Astana
#7 of 54 in Astana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos President Astana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos President Astana Hotel

Property: Rixos President Astana Hotel
Address: Kunayeva St., 7, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Akmola Province > Astana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Astana
#1 Business Hotel in Astana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Astana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos President Astana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixos President Astana combines the peak of comfort and luxury in Astana. Classically inspired yet fresh and eco-friendly, this luxury hotel's accommodation options are among the city's most spacious. Of the 184 guest units, including 4 Junior Suites, 2 Premium Suites, 12 Presidential Suites and 2 Royal Suites, the most spacious accommodation in Astana, all are offering magnificent view of the city. In-room facilities are geared to the needs of international business travelers. Rixos President Astana blends local tastes and world cuisines with style and luxury. Destined to be among the city's hottest see-and-be-seen destinations, Rixos President Astana features lifestyle restaurants with the finest dining and nightlife in Astana. Our international and globally experienced Food & Beverage Team provides the best and most authentic culinary experiences. Located in the heart of Astana, Rixos Wellness & SPA is city's most luxurious retreat. A place to unwind, restore and invigorate the body and mind. Surrounded by gentle interiors, advanced fitness equipment, an expansive swimming pool, steam room, sumptuous treatment areas, it brings relaxation, wellness and fitness to the core. The Spa features relaxing treatment rooms as well as the sensual bathing retreats Hamam, which allows fully immerse in exotic Turkish ritual ambience. Relaxation lounge is the ideal place to have a rest between appointments. The Spa offers an extensive range of treatments, including different types of massage, facials and body treatments. Rixos President Astana offers over 1,000 square meters of functional space, including seven meeting and event facilities to host official receptions, conferences, business and private meetings and banquets. Choose from our many distinguished venues, and our attentive staff will organize, oversee and deliver every last detail of your event, conference or special occasion. Discover flexible spaces that adapt perfectly to your meeting purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Rixos President Astana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos President Astana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing