We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great five days”
Review of Nomad's Home

Nomad's Home
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishkek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nomad's Home
Ranked #42 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Bishkek
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The past five days at Nomads Home have been very good. There is nothing fancy or pretentious about Nomads but it leaves a very positive impression. I’m not the first person this week to say they are sorry to be leaving and I would certainly return if my travels bring me this way again. It’s a simple family-run guesthouse that is friendly, comfortable, calm and welcoming. The previous review about rude and unwelcoming staff is so contrary to my experience here.

Nomads accommodation options vary. You can pitch your own tent in the garden – or sleep in your vehicle (or roof-top tent) in the secure parking area (one of the parking spots is not covered). There is a mixed dorm with bunk-beds for those seeking a low-budget option. There is a room with a single bed and a double room with two single beds. Then there is ‘my’ yurt with three single beds, which I have found to be very comfortable and enjoyable.

There is only one shower and one toilet (western style) but they seem to be sufficient and I haven’t witnessed any queuing for the facilities. Another reviewer mentioned the toilet being a 'cesspit'. I can only assume they are referring to the 'squat box' at the bottom of the garden that isn't used by guests.

Socialising with other guests takes place outside. There is a long table with benches as well as a carpeted platform for sitting/lounging (both covered by a roof). Being popular with overlanders and back-packers, there is a good chance that one of the guests will have information that will be useful. It is also nice to be able to meet like-minded travellers and to talk about each others experiences. And the wifi is fast and free!

There is a fridge in which you can store food and drink items. There is an electric two-burner stove for cooking meals and a kettle. Nomads’ can provide breakfast and dinner with advance notice (at a fee), but most guests tend to fend for themselves. There are grocery stores and cafes within easy walking distance.

There is secure parking, behind a locked gate, for three four-wheel vehicles. There is also space for bicycles and motorcycles. There are a number of clothes lines for hanging out your laundry. You can also utilise Nomads’ washing machine (for a fee). The owners are always here (this is their home) and are very approachable and friendly. They will provide directions and assist with things such as booking appointments with embassies.

The front gate is locked at midnight, so ensure you’re home on time (otherwise you might find yourself having to climb over). However, most guests tend to be in bed by 10.30am.

I initially had a hard time finding the place, as my Garmin took me somewhere else when I used the address. The GPS coordinates for Nomads are N 42.88853 E 074.62936. The address is Drevesnaya 10. The Nomads Home website is https://sites.google.com/site/nomadshome/ where there is a map showing the location.

Room Tip: The beds in the yurt are very comfortable and the yurt is spacious - worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Nomad's Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

I admit it. I just entered the courtyard when another traveller opened the door and left. Maybe I should have waited and ring the bell. But never ever have I been welcomed with the words: ‘What are you doing here. Go away’. I said my friend was staying there. The young lady kept on saying: ‘Go away’. It took a lot of arguing before I could see my friend. Staying here was of course out of the question now. My friend left as well. Had enough of little miss’ attitude. I think Nomad’s Home think they can afford this attitude, they seem to be mentioned in the Lonely Planet guide. Free supply of travellers. One day it’ll turn against them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank rollingmetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed a total of 4 night here. When we got there it was so packed with people that they only had tent space left, which was fine with us. We had our own tent with. The family that runs the place is very nice and friendly, but the best part was the other guests. The atmosphere here was a backpackers dream. Full of like minded people who have stories and experiences to share. (Especially great for people who are cycling). The walk to the center was only about 20 minutes or so. There are little shops close, a bazaar and a larger super market near as well. Lots of options for food, both to make your own and go out to eat.

It was easy to find and very cheap, especially to stay in our own tent.

The down side is there were a lot of people and there is only one shower and 2 toilets so sometimes you have to wait.

If I ever go through Bishkek again I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed in Kyrgyzstan for a month using nomads home as our base camp. We had a great time, if you are cycling (which we weren't) this is definatly a must hit place always full of cyclist with loads of helpful tips and advice. It seems far out of town but actually you can get the 101 and 118 straight in to the centre of town which takes all of five minuates. It's family run and as long as your friendly and tidy they can't do enough to help. Bloody loved the place.

In Bishkek, we love food and are partial to a wee drink so have a list of great places to go, try centre bar opposite side of the road to the white house about 5 mins walk west this place has great food and the cocktails blow my mind. Just down the road still walking east there is an italian restaurant called cyclone looks posh and expensive but is cheap and some great food, carry on east and you'll find metro bar probably the most expensive place for good but portions are huge try beef nachos. Then there's fat boys which is great for people watching and some carrot sticks. If you want a club hit 12bar(also known as skybar) the place is fancy and best to come dressed to impress but soviet champagne is about 7 pounds a bottle and it makes you feel like a king sipping your champagne with the cool kids of Bishkek looking out over the entire city, bloody classic

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guys-running
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

This was a horror of a hostel. I didn't have huge expectations... But running water was one. The toilet was literally a cesspit. A long way from the centre of town. The room was cold. It was cheap, but the so was the hotel we moved to...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ideaal voor fietsreizigers.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trapper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: possibilité de planter sa tente ou de dormir sous la yourte.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Changgulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishkek hotels
0.0 mi away
Sakura Guesthouse
Sakura Guesthouse
#7 of 85 in Bishkek
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tunduk Hostel
Tunduk Hostel
#7 of 127 in Bishkek
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Interhouse Bishkek
Interhouse Bishkek
#1 of 127 in Bishkek
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apple Hostel Bishkek
Apple Hostel Bishkek
#4 of 127 in Bishkek
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rich Hotel
Rich Hotel
#14 of 47 in Bishkek
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Interhouse City Centre
Interhouse City Centre
#8 of 127 in Bishkek
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad's Home

Address: Drevesnaya 10, Bishkek 720000, Kyrgyzstan
Region: Kyrgyzstan > Bishkek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Bishkek
Also Known As:
Nomad's Home Bishkek, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing