We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An education in humility”

COPE Visitor Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$194.00*
and up
Half-Day Vientiane City Tour Including Hotel Pickup
Ranked #1 of 75 things to do in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An education in humility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

No 1 on list of things to do... COPE are making a difference. & educating every person who visits... Donate/ buy products when you visit to enable disabled people of Laos to receive new prosthetic limbs , have physiotherapy
Watch the movies, view the exhibits and remember. "Man made bombs; Evolution failed. Stop cluster bombs" And the US & Russia have NOT signed the 2010 agreement to not use such weapons again .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,271
    373
    33
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“An amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stopped in to COPE not really knowing what to expect. This is a must-see visit for people who want to get to know the country. Since Laos is the most bombed country in the world, unexploded ordinance is common. Farmers run over old bombs and detonate them as they till their fields. The loss of life and loss of limbs is a major problem. Plus, since they can't cultivate bombed fields, families often resort to collecting bomb scrap metal for money--with devastating effects. COPE helps rehab and fit artificial limbs on children and adults.
They also help children born with club feet and those affected by polio.
Be sure to watch the movie of the Aussie MAG who trains Laotian teams to disarm these horrible things.
The visit is free but donations are gratefully accepted. The need is great and it will change you.
We even went back a second day to ask how we can help once we het home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sobering but inspiring and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Like many I had read the statistics (the most bombed country;30% of the country still covered with unexplored ordanance...) COPE really brings this to life, showing the impact on the country and on individuals and communities, but also how this organisation helps Laotians deal with the awful damage that UXO can bring about. The short video clips and stories were not mawkish but very compelling. Most inspiring was seeing what rehabilitation and orthotics and prosthetics has done for individuals. And also that this centre (and the others in the network) are seeking to be self sustaining- training Laotians to fulfill roles as teachers and physio therapists etc.There is a nice cafe on sight and helpful friendly English speaking staff. It is a bit tricky to find on foot. Look out for the ministry of health signs on the main road (a Red Cross) and a barrier and it is behind there. Well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Really touching and heartbreaking exhibits and films. My children were so moved by this centre that I can understand why its the top attraction in Vientiane. Def worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We didn't really know what to expect when coming here but we were blown away by what we saw. It's a huge eye-opener and we really had no idea about the history of Laos and the current state it's in. It was a good introduction to the history and culture. We watched the video on the small tv there, it's definitely worth watching. It's a very sombre experience, but it is certainly worth visiting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed COPE Visitor Centre also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to COPE Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing