We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meal I had just did not come together”
Review of La Gondola - CLOSED

La Gondola
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Great Western
Level Contributor
181 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Meal I had just did not come together”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This restaurant has been renovated since my last visit. It looks very good. The pizzas are gone. The meal I chose was a rigatoni (perfectly al dente) in a spicy sauce with prawns and scallops. The lack of crustaceans was hardly noticeable as I was overpowered by the heat of the spices. This was more like a Lao or Thai dish but with ingedients that did not marry as the local dishes do. Another dish may have been a better choice. The house red was undistinguished.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pearler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    42
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Very friendly and professional service and the food was ok. Not that cheap, but a good experience after all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Never again”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

overall our experience with this restaurant was very bad. As european we know how italien food should be. As starter we had carpaccio and tomato mozzarella salad. The beef was too thick and hard served without parmesam, the tomatos were hard an green. The main course (chicken escaloppes) was even worse: bad taste and hard. What a disappointment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yangstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of my favourite resturants”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Great Italian food that is always consistent. Great for families or anyone looking for a great pasta meal. Service is good and the prices are fair.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AJSPNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the Best Italian Restaurant in the City”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I think it's the best in town. You should try whatever home made pasta is there. Good wine selection, too. The owner is always there to oversee the situation. Yeah, once in a while, the pasta can get overcooked. And prices are on the high side in Laos, but then, not high compared to where ever your home town is. I think it's an ideal break from the great & cheap lao food, should you ever need one. (recently, the lot next doors have turned into an assortment of lao outdoor food stands, which is really tempting)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiyori13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gondola also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing