We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, all worked” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Bangkok
Level Contributor
222 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, all worked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

The rating I see for Avalon is a 3.5, and that is about right. I give it a four, because - well, it does everything you would want a relatively cheap hotel to do. It is downtown (but not as close as I would like to the river and center). It is clean. My room was ready when I came, and the front desk guy recommended I wait a few minutes for a better room, as the one ready right on arrival (I was early, 11:30) didn't have a window. I appreciate that. The WiFi worked. The TV and its remote too. I was on the second floor, so only one floor to walk up. The breakfast was mediocre, but edible. Nothing special (for that, see the Khamvongsa, which was full) but nothing wrong - and for the Agoda price, that is all I would expect.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    69
    52
    19
    8
See reviews for
6
54
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Rooms are clean and OK, but nothing special. The view is of the subarbs of the City, location is not on the Riverside but a 15 minute walk. The disadvantage that disturbed me the most is that the room was infested with mosquitoes. Nice breakfast with an outside terrace.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianTravelGuru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

There is no TV in the single rooms ($18) but wifi available. Good breakfast (included) served outside. Comfy lobby w/newspapers. Hot water with strong pressure. Has an elevator, so good if you have a lot of luggage.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank WakeoftheFlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

This was my second stay at Avalon Hotel and I enjoyed it very much.
Pros: great location in central Vientiane, good clean rooms, great hot showers, good breakfast (on the last day, I realized one could get eggs for breakfast), good beds with clean sheets changed every day, good WiFi
Con: I traveled on my own so the size of the room was fine, I would have felt cramped with a travel companion in the same double room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Location is very near to little Chinatown in Vientiane where you can find food and shopping. Its located in the city centre but on the other street which is quieter. Hotel lobby decor is nice and clean. Lift is a little too narrow. Room are big, clean, hot shower water. Mattress is hard and I cant really sleep well at night. Unfortunately, breakfast is limited only with eggs, bread and some fruits. Breakfast in right infront of the hotel. Wifi is fantastic. My room on the 3rd floor, air con was dripping water and I went down to the reception and they change for me immediately.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saywee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Hotel is close to the centre of Vientiane, but in a quiet side street. Room we had was a bit cramped for a couple, but well-equipped and clean. Ample hot water, but you had to wait a long time for it to come. No restaurant in hotel, but plenty of choice close by. Breakfast served in lobby or just outside at the front. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Learmonth09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

This was my first experience of a hotel in Laos and it was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were big and comfortable and the breakfast excellent. Its a little further away from the action but worth walking a couple of blocks. Rates were very reasonable. We moved closer to join our tour group and stayed in a more expensive hotel that was not nearly so nice.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor near the lounge but we did not hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmac6512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lao Silk Hotel
Lao Silk Hotel
#43 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chaleunxay Hotel
Chaleunxay Hotel
#55 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sinnakhone Hotel
Sinnakhone Hotel
#31 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 070 Rue Phnom Pen Unit 8 | Ban Anou Chanthaburi District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing