We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel!”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Good room (I believe 4th floor rooms are better), good air conditioning, quiet and cosy.
I'd avoid the breakfast and rather wonder around one of the many French styled coffee shops in the area.
Over all, good quality/price ratio.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Antonio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    70
    54
    20
    8
See reviews for
7
56
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Having stayed there before I was surprised about the construction of a second building of this hotel which in essence keeps the daylight out of half the rooms apart from the dust and the (daytime) noise.
As a solo traveller I paid for a double room; upon check-in I noticed that I could have had a single room for a little more than half the price.
The car park (me travelling by private car) was a problem and I kept moving the car around as there is no private car park available; despite being mentioned with car parking on the internet.
The room itself is nice, clean and functional; fairly fast Internet too. I might not use this hotel next time again :-(

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good location. Not right in the middle of everything but close enough (5 minute walk). Very quiet as it is on a back street.

Room was a good size and clean. Good bed and the TV had a few English channels you could watch (a bit of a hunt but that is not the hotels fault). The breakfast is nothing to write home about.

For the price a very good option. I have rebooked there for a night on the way back out of Laos

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tour_contact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great value for that price. We have very nice stay in that hotel. Only 10 minutes walk from centrum and Mekong river. Construction site near by hotel was disturbing, but its only temporarily. Breakfast was not nothing special, but its ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on a tour so I can’t comment on the price or value, but it was a good place to stay. The room I had was of decent size with a queen-sized bed, a wardrobe, a TV stand and a fridge. Didn’t use the TV as we got in late. Lighting was good. There was plenty of hot water. Air conditioning was available, but it was cool and not needed. Very little counter space in the bathroom. The wifi only worked intermittently. Some noise (music) from next door, but I put in my earplugs and went to sleep. When I woke up later all was quiet, but it started up again at 6 in the morning. Breakfast was adequate, with a choice of an omelet or fried eggs, toast and fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you don't want to listen to music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and has small rooms. It is clean and well kept. The location is very good. We stayed here beginning of December and decided to leave the hotel after one night. When we opened our window to see our view we discovered the construction works. The staff ( complete families) are sleeping in the building and this is annoying if you want to sleep in! The stop at 2400 and start at 0630 hrs. Unfortunately we tried to change our room but the other wing of the hotel was fully booked for the night.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PieterTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

USA
Level Contributor
271 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is my second time to the hotel, but I must say that I will not be coming back for the following reasons: the internet is not working except in the lobby, the water stays cold during the shower until I was about to get out. Sorry, Avalon... Adios.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#53 of 93 in Vientiane
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sinnakhone Hotel
Sinnakhone Hotel
#31 of 93 in Vientiane
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lao Silk Hotel
Lao Silk Hotel
#45 of 93 in Vientiane
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lao
Hotel Lao
#48 of 93 in Vientiane
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 070 Rue Phnom Pen Unit 8 | Ban Anou Chanthaburi District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing