We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and convenient”
Review of City Inn Vientiane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Inn Vientiane
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel, with no internet issues on tablet or phone. The staff are friendly and polite, though speak limited English, needing to call the manager in when we asked tricky questions. The bed was comfortable, aircon good, a hairdryer was found in one of the drawers much to my wife's delight.
Breakfast is an odd assortment but tasty, though espresso coffee is not included and was not very good when we tried it on the first morning. Better to walk down the street to one of many coffee shops.
It is well located only a few minutes walk from the main dining/bar/bakery strip and a few tourist attractions. A private transfer to the airport was $7 for the both of us (per trip rather than per person), though local taxis are also permanently camped outside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 12 months and have always found the staff very helpful, the rooms are good, this trip I booked a suite and it was very spacious. The room service menu is fairly basic but the food is well prepared and the mini bar well stocked with Beer Laos and Heineken.

This hotel would get an excellent review if only they could get the wifi to work regularly.

Apart from the wifi I would recommend staying here, it is a short walk to the bars and restaurants, there are plenty of taxis waiting outside, overall a good hotel that just needs that one extra effort to make it a great hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Argie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Clean. There is only one computer"they call it a business center". Thank you for my smartphone. Wifi is unstable. My entire 3 days I was able to connect only once. Otherwise I have to walk to other cafes wifi. So no I will not return due to the wifi. Otherwise a decent place.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights in this hotel (room 205). Room is spacious. Although the hotel has aged, it is still in fairly good condition. Hotel stay include reasonable breakfast menu. There are two things that needs attention. Almost everything is good except that some towels were stained. The toilet bowl (under rim) is also stained. Also Hotel issued only 1 keycard even after requesting for another.
Whats nearby: 2 minutes walk to That Dam, 5 minutes walk to fountain and 8 minutes walk to local market and shopping mall / Sisaket Temple.

Room Tip: Do expect lots of mozzies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naggasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Hotel is centrally situated and walking to the wats, river and restaurants was convenient.
Large, airy rooms were clean, bed with firm mattress which I liked.
There was a fair spread of western and eastern food at breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit and freshly made coffee and tea.
Staff friendly and helpful though communication was a problem at times. Good room service.
Tejan in management was extremely helpful, thank you very much for making our stay so comfortable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nilanthi020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is billed as a 3 star, and that would be about correct. The room, bed and bathroom all sizeable (bath included) and clean. The shower water was intermittent , warm on the 1st occasion, hot the next day.

Breakfast was again basic, but acceptable - the staff cooked fresh eggs, pancakes and noodles to order. (There is a constant music loop of Abba and the Carpenters)

We found the staff very accomodating on our last day , when we wanted to extend our room until the evening (at a cost of $35) due to our night flight. The staff were efficient in this repsect.

The hotel itself was very quiet, but there is an open air cafe next door which on both nights we were there , plays music until about 1am. This seems to be a constant feature in Laos which the hotels are unable to control.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheSaysHeSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Who ever has stayed at this hotel is really dreaming to give this hotel such high ratings.

First and foremost nobody except for management speaks any English.
Asking questions re hotel, sightseeing, ordering food, coffee etc no one responds or gives you any confidence that they have understood and you will have to ask again and again until they bring you what you wanted in the first place. Once they have understood it will take them another 10-15min to bring you something as simple as milk or hot water for tea.

Internet service was mediocre at best during our stay and I had to go to the lobby to get a decent connection. Barely got any wifi signal in our room. Beds are quite hard and pillows just as bad... don't expect to get a good and comfortable nights sleep in these beds. I had asked if we could get two keys to our room but they basically said that is not their policy and if they had an extra one then they could give it! Really?!?!?

No hot water in sink only in shower and the water doesn't even get that hot... warm at best. Nowhere to put suitcase in rooms or toiletries in bathroom.... very basic rooms don't expect anything great. I am writing this review at 10:54pm in bed as a blaring loud party takes place right outside my room.

If you believe all the other reviews on this hotel don't say I didn't warn you. I'm sure there are better places you can find that are even lower ranked than City Inn.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank EATMYSOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay W, Owner at City Inn Vientiane, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Your feedback will help us to look at the issues we need to work on the most.

Low communication and other skills of local staff is the major problem confronting the tourism sector on the whole in Laos. The government and the industry are well aware of it and have taken many steps to rectify it. Unfortunately there is no quick solution and results take time.

Lao are very easy going and fun loving people. They enjoy their drinks and music. That is what was happening next door. But they are very civilised about the whole thing and it seldom lasts beyond 11 pm. Since it was outside our premises, there is very little we can do about it.

Thank you once again for the review. We will definitely work on our shortcomings and humbly apologise for inconvenience caused.

Vijay Wadhwani
Director, City Inn Vientiane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 95 in Vientiane
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 95 in Vientiane
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#4 of 95 in Vientiane
421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 95 in Vientiane
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 95 in Vientiane
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn Vientiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn Vientiane

Address: Rue Pangkham | Near Vientiane Culture Hall, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £39 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn Vientiane 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Inn Vientiane captures a perfect blend of modern design and Asian culture. Centrally located, the City Inn Vientiane makes it easy to visit all that Vientiane has to offer. At City Inn Vientiane, we pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and we strive to meet the needs of every guest. Our homely accommodation creates a perfect ambiance and is sure to make your stay in Vientiane a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Inn Vientiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn Vientiane Hotel Vientiane
City Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing