We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel, great value”
Review of Hotel Khamvongsa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Khamvongsa
Ranked #5 of 201 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed at Khamvongsa for two weeks, loved it and really felt at home. The location is central, close to the river and numerous cafes, restaurants and temples yet quiet. You don't choose it for the views, but for the spacious and attractive rooms, the charming bar/breakfast area and the personal service. The whole place is clean and pleasant and excellent value.

I am puzzled by comments that the staff are unhelpful - during my stay they were friendly, helpful and efficient. Most spoke English pretty well - in fact, better than other hotels in Vientiane where I have stayed. Small touches helped - I had requested a quiet room on an upper floor and the room allocated (402) was perfect in this respect. I had enquired on booking if hairdryers were available and arrived to find they had placed one in my room already. They were also very helpful with onward reservations and advice.

As others have commented, the hotel offers good breakfasts and a nice bar. Wifi and air conditioning both worked well. My only negative would be the hardness of the mattress, but this is not uncommon in Laos.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Double rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ittyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had stayed here once before and promised to come back as it was so good. Stayed 3 nights in November and we weren't disappointed.
Had room 101 on first floor, quite steep stairs to climb.
Nice room, quiet with lots of character, good size bathroom, very high but comfortable bed.
Breakfast was first class with plenty of choice.
There was a small kitchen area in the room with kettle, microwave and fridge.
Good location, easy walk to river and shops.
Secure parking at the rear for scooter.
Staff very quiet but polite.
Everything runs very smoothly giving a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete_n_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I am still here in the Khamvongsa Hotel in Room 102 which I believe is the original building. This is a double room on the road side of the hotel which is a bit of a detriment for me as I am a light sleeper. However it could be worse. - the street noises die down by midnight (other than the odd night when the local street dogs bark...and bark...and bark.)

I agree with the pluses put forth by previous reviewers. - it is clean, central, and the breakfast is good. I also like the fact that it is not too big. My preferred room is 104 which is a single room facing the interior courtyard, but it wasn't available for this portion of my visit. 104 is quite spacious with a separate kitchenette Area and roomy bathroom. 102 also has a sink, cupboards, microwave and fridge, but it is part of the room, not a separate area. Air conditioning worked fine in both rooms. Staff were very helpful with luggage on arrival and most have some understanding of English.

I would definitely recommend staying here but advise you to book as far in advance as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leendaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

pos: elegant place, beautifully restored
pos: very clean
pos: nice breakfast
pos: central location
pos: excellent value for money

neutral: 5 floors, stairs only. may not suit the infirm.

neg: (I agree with another commentator on this) staff were unusually unhelpful, and unfriendly without being rude. Of course 1 or 2 friendly exceptions.
neg: no heating jug in room.
neg: bed covers too small for bed (expect you to use 2 x single on a double bed)
neg: they can't iron. I gave them trousers to iron and they burnt a hole right through them. I did not ask for compensation as it was clear they would deduct it from the poor maid's miserable wage.
neg: no ironing board to iron yourself. They give you an iron and a cloth to "iron on the bed".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Vientiane really wasn't my kind of place since it was quite small with not a great deal to see but at least Hotel Khamvongsa made up for it a little. Three of us shared the mezzanine room on the top floor and it was really comfortable and the room was elegant. Breakfast was delicious and the Location was great too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caramelcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

When I was looking to book Hotel Khamvongsa, none of the usual booking engines offered it. I emailed the hotel to enquire about availability and got a reply in 5 minutes. That level of service continued. I was picked up at the airport and from beginning to end, the staff were friendly and helpful. I took a loft suite which has the bed on a mezzanine floor and a lounge area below. Perfect if you need a base to escape downpours and chill for an hour or too. Walls are thick so it is pretty peaceful and the bed was very comfortable. Be prepared though for a work-out, the loft suites are on the 5th floor with no lift (although helpful staff will carry your bags). Stylish simple decor, cream walls; dark wood; black and white tiling. And great location, just minutes from the river and night markets as well as the main sights. Would definitely recommend Ms Khambang's for good value authentic Lao food which is just nearby.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank AnOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a great budget hotel in the city centre and within easy reach of many bars, restaurants and temples.

The hotel is basic but charming with a colonial feel to it. The rooms have tv and hot water as well as ac and a big bed. We also had a kitchen.

Breakfast is pretty decent with reasonable choice.

Staff were helpful and their English was good.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank big_j99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#28 of 93 in Vientiane
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lani's House By The Ponds
Lani's House By The Ponds
#4 of 201 in Vientiane
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Khamvongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Khamvongsa

Address: Khun Bu Lum Road | Ban Vat Chan, Vientiane Box 2338, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: £23 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Khamvongsa is a cozy and elegant family run hotel in the old part of central Vientiane, with bright, spacious rooms, decorated in French colonial and Lao style. Our team of friendly, dedicated, English speaking staff takes pride in providing top quality service, caring for the different needs of our guests. Khamvongsa offers all you need and more at good value: stylish rooms with comfortable beds, free internet access, and a delicious and generous breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing