We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Khamvongsa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Khamvongsa
Ranked #5 of 201 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Only stayed 2 nights but couldn't fault this hotel in any way, very comfortable, clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2009

Having stayed at Beau Rivage a couple of time before, it was a nice change staying here. Definitely better value and location than Beau Rivage. Very impressive decor - a lot of attention to detail as seen in the individualized room furnishing. Rooms were large. Free wi-fi a big plus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

we just stayed one night in this hotel, but from the first sight, I know this is a good choice. This hotel is so family-styled that it makes you feel like at home, very comfortable and relaxed. Good location, near the mekong river and city centre, while away from the noise. I like the wooden floor and furnitures very much, all natural. nice staff, always smiling. The price is quite fair for the value in VT, we cannot find a better place in VT.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESeraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Ok, the title does sound harsh because if you stayed here for say, 2-3 days, then the breakfast would be perfectly fine. However, we stayed here for nearly 2 weeks and the breakfast was the only thing that drove me to the point of madness. There were four choices and I ordered the same thing everyday and yet I was also given the menu everyday. The quantities varied but the menu did not. What was also annoying was the fact that they had different juices on the menu but only orange was available. I still wonder why they couldn't just go across the road to the supermarket and get some pineapple if it is advertised or why they didn't strike it off the menu altogether? I asked after the unavailable juice a couple of times, hoping that it would magically be available one morning but no, it never came. Anyway, as I said, it was only because we stayed for so long that the breakfast became an issue. Apart from that, the staff were very helpful and friendly, including the cleaning staff who would return things when they found them (my sister and mum stayed for a while and checked out), the place was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Oh, a couple of other things, one was that our shower didn't have a wall or a curtain so the whole room got wet when we showered. My sister's room had a wall though, so it depends on the room. Another thing was that, there was no 'do not disturb sign' so you kind of had to track down the cleaners or let people know beforehand if you weren't heading out otherwise you would have to yell out during your mid-afternoon nap. Anyway. Overall it has great decor, is clean, has free WIFI internet in room and lounge which was very good and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockshixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We are huge fans of trip advisors and we are never let down when we stay at the #1 rated hotel. The Hotel Khamvongsa is rated the #1 Bed and Breakfast and I thought it would be a great choice for a family. It was one of the best family places we ever stayed. The rooms were so spacious with a comfortable king-sized bed, a full bed down stairs, and then they brought in an extra full bed for my other child. Really we would have been comfortable without that bed, but it was already there when we arrived. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Vientianne, but especially for a family with kids (young kids or teenagers).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berlydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Nice rooms, perfect lobby area, very welcoming stuff, simple breakfast but clean and cause we stayed in other hotels in the area too, this is the best one for the money we payed. 33 $ for 2 persons.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lomardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We found this hotel on tripadvisor and booked it via email. Very quick response! We were vey happy to stay here, Friendly and helpful staff who helped us out with our transportation arrangements without rippung us off!!!
Breakfast was very good! Only downside was the wifi which was only working half the time but then again it's Laos: internet is only working half the time in the country any how!
Location is very good right in the city center but then again you cannot really compare Vientiane to New York.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara_JoBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#28 of 93 in Vientiane
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Khamvongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Khamvongsa

Address: Khun Bu Lum Road | Ban Vat Chan, Vientiane Box 2338, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: £23 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Khamvongsa is a cozy and elegant family run hotel in the old part of central Vientiane, with bright, spacious rooms, decorated in French colonial and Lao style. Our team of friendly, dedicated, English speaking staff takes pride in providing top quality service, caring for the different needs of our guests. Khamvongsa offers all you need and more at good value: stylish rooms with comfortable beds, free internet access, and a delicious and generous breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing