We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Hotel Khamvongsa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Khamvongsa
Ranked #3 of 198 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

the khamvongla was a great little hotel with clean rooms and a really nice atmosphere. I think the hotel is relatively new. The staff were very attentive and the hotel was in a good part of town, close to the river. Vientiane itself was hot and dusty but it was nice to get back to the hotel and relax. I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    208
    41
    10
    10
See reviews for
51
249
101
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Read a lot of reviews of guesthouses in Vientiane here on TA, before choosing this one. Was not dissapointed at all. It had clean, big rooms, was located close to the city center as well as the river and had a good breakfast ready in the morning for us before we went out to sightsee. We really liked the atmosphere of this place. The staff was super friendly and very attentive to our needs. The swedish girl at the front desk in the morning was extra nice as we were fellow scandinavians. Only drawback was that they didn't have a room for when we wanted to stay an extra night in Vientiane, but that just shows how popular this hotel so rightfully is :) would recommend to best of friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexnorge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2011

we stay at hotel Khamvongsa for couple nights, it is really nice place to stay here. it just a few mimute walk to the river. try to find some where to seat and relax after back from tuc tuc tour around the city. it will be good idia. in thehotel there is a courtyard for that too.
we love the hotel and the people here. thank you verry much we will recomend your hotel to our friend to stay here we will come back when we come to Vientiance

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expectation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We stayed a couple of nights in Vientiane with our gang, i.e 2 kids, one baby, ourselves and our friend. We booked the room with the mezzanine. They brought up an extra bed with a baby cot to the existing 2 beds. There were still plenty of room so that was good.

Breakfast was good and included. It is a walking distance from the river and Vientiane`s main street. There is an excellent wine bar next to it owned by French folks with a very trendy atmosphere.

For booking tours, you`re on your own. Hotel won`t really help you. We booked the tuk-tuk a couple of times to go around the Temples as Vientiane is quite small, and very safe. It was big enough to fit all of us. So don't bother for a car if you stay in the city, even with family with young kids and a baby.

Hotel staff spoke minimal English, and these mezzanine rooms are at the 5th floor with no elevator. Didn`t bother me, but for those with some handicaps it's a good thing to know.

Overall I liked the hotel. I found it charming and would stay there again. Free internet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

A very well presented hotel in a central location with helpful, friendly and warm staff. A single room at 27 dollars per night in an extremely clean and spacious room with tv, air- con, comfortable bed and large bathroom with separate area for showering. Breakfast is included and there is a good selection. It has a very relaxing atmosphere with a nice couch area at the front and a courtyard at the back. It would be money and time well spent staying here while in Vientiane

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzpa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I have now stayed more than 2 great weeks at khamvongsa. The rooms are large and nicely furnitured. The service is great. The breakfast likewise. I doubt there can be better value for money in Vientiane. I will be back! (The rooms towards the street can be noisy if you are sensitive - the owners are aware and will install other windows).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerker500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

My partner and I stayed at Khamvongsa based on the good reviews at Tripadvisor. Khamvongsa is a real gem of a hotel in Vientiane. Very beautiful decorated inside and outside and the rooms were just excellent. Everything was clean and the breakfast was lovely. At USD30 this hotel was great value for money. During our last night, we booked another hotel because they were fully booked, and although it was much cheaper at USD20, I would go to Khamvongsa any seconds, this place is truly jewel. The service was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InLadySg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
909 reviews
1.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#17 of 93 in Vientiane
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Khamvongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Khamvongsa

Property: Hotel Khamvongsa
Address: Khun Bu Lum Road | Ban Vat Chan, Vientiane Box 2338, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Khamvongsa is a cozy and elegant family run hotel in the old part of central Vientiane, with bright, spacious rooms, decorated in French colonial and Lao style. Our team of friendly, dedicated, English speaking staff takes pride in providing top quality service, caring for the different needs of our guests. Khamvongsa offers all you need and more at good value: stylish rooms with comfortable beds, free internet access, and a delicious and generous breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing