We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Vayakorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vayakorn Inn
Ranked #28 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Level 6 Contributor
1,184 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I've stayed here three times in high season and haven't encountered the double booking that others have reported so I had great stays both times. No views or pool but the rooms are very nice, it's in the middle of town (a few minutes to the river), staff are very good (although only the manager speaks good English) and the breakfast is great (typical Lao "American breakfast" with eggs, ham and chicken sausage, but here with a good baguette and lots of fruit).

I have however had a problem in the (otherwise nice) bathroom 2 out of 3 times in that the shower didn't drain very well and became more like a bath after 10 minutes. No other guests reported this though.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    78
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
13
66
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

For $30 a night, it's very hard to fault this hotel. It's right in the centre of town, close to the river, lots of other hotels, and therefore bars and restaurants. Rooms are spacious, very nicely decorated - polished dark wood floors, clean white bedding. Bathroom is fine, although our shower didn't drain very well. Staff are courteous, and their English is fine. All rooms have a small balcony, although they do waste them a bit with the aircon unit taking up half the space on the floor.

Totally recommended. Laos is pretty cheap generally, but this hotel is superb value for money and would cost at least $250 a night in Sydney for a comparable room.

Hire a bike when in Vientiane. The roads are fine and it's small enough do all the sights by bike.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok,
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel is superb and an equally fantastic value for the money. It is located in a tiny street with wonderful funky cafes.

When I showed up, my confirmed reservation was lost and the front desk staff of three said the owner "is not very good with emails".

He has a bad track record and it took me 3 bloody hours to find another place.

NEVER< NEVER ? NEVER trust the reservation you've made in this admittedly fine hotel. The owner is AWOL and so will be your reservation and room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This is a gorgeous hotel at a very reasonable price. The aesthetic is very classy and the rooms are clean and simple. A computer in the lobby provides free internet. It's also a great location! Breakfast is very basic and is not included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviabru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pajala, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We had never been to Vientiane before so decided to stay at Vayakorn Inn Hotel The first thing we noticed on arrival was the friendliness of the staff. Then we were pleasantly surprised when we got to the room.It was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable.The hotel is not right in the centre of town but it is only a short walk to get there.If you dont want to walk there are plenty of tuk tuks available for per person ($1.5 ).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roolaaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

New hotel, still very cheap. Immaculately clean. Our room had a balcony overlooking a tranquil little garden where the kids played for ages. Good location but very quiet. Good wifi!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We were happy with this hotel. Clean nice rooms, very good value. At the start our showerhead was broken but they replaced it within 12 hrs.
Be warned, there is no lift, we were staying on the third floor so was a bit of a walk each time we came back after a long day sightseeeing.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ano444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#16 of 93 in Vientiane
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chanthapanya Hotel
Chanthapanya Hotel
#22 of 93 in Vientiane
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#30 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Champa Garden Hotel
Champa Garden Hotel
#47 of 93 in Vientiane
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vayakorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vayakorn Inn

Property: Vayakorn Inn
Address: 19 Hengbounnoy Street | Ban Haysoke, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane Lao PDR, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vayakorn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set back in a quiet street, just a brief stroll from the centre of the culturally rich city of Vientiane, the Vayakorn Inn places guests at the core of the city, making it the perfect base for checking out on the sites and scenes whilst providing an ideal sanctuary when it comes time to unwind. The Vayakorn Inn is located one street behind the Vayakorn Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Vayakorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vayakorn Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing