We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““BEWARE-Breakfast not included!””
Review of Vayakorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vayakorn Inn
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 6 September 2013

You should know that this hotel rate is from $35 and above but the breakfast is not included. You can order extra breakfast served at the hotel with $4. In most of the local or cheap hotels that I stayed, breakfast is included event with the room rate $ 25-30. If you have no problem with the breakfast, this hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: You care for the Feng-Shui should not choose the Room 205 which is opposite the elevator. My colleag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vudoanaea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel was nicely decorated with dark timber in Asian style, was very clean and had good air-con. Of huge benefit is its location - close to cafes (Le Banneton makes great, if a little pricey baguettes) and is only 10 minutes to the night market on the promenade. It is also easy to walk around Vientiane in general, but this hotel was fairly central to few local landmarks and 15-20 minutes to the morning market.

Room was clean, large, had a fridge and good wifi on the first floor. Good value for a mid-priced hotel.

Tip: Vayakorn Inn is in easy walking distance to Vayakorn House. It's a street parallel (behind VH, should the tuk-tuk driver argue that they can't find it or aren't willing to drive around the block due to the one-way system).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ithacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at the Vayakorn Inn for 7 nights in July 2013. We were in room 101, which was a corner room with 2 balconies. We really enjoyed our stay - our airport pickup was ready and waiting for us, we were allowed to check in early, and our check-out was smooth.

In response to the previous review, it was clearly stated that breakfast was charged extra ($4 per day per person). We only opted for breakfast on one morning, and this is all we were charged for.

Our room was spotless, HUGE, and had an excellent A/C. We had no issues whatsoever with bed bugs during our 7 night stay. Wifi was spotty but worked most of the time. There was a handy fridge in the lobby with water and beer at reasonable prices.

The hotel is in a great location, very close to lots of restaurants and about 5-10 mins from the night market and river.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

Room Tip: Can recommend room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosieTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I was all set to give Vayakorn Inn great reviews, until we checked out. Upon checking out I noticed a charge of $40USD with the code ABF. I questioned what it was and they told me it was the breakfast charge. Now I don't expect breakfast to be included all the time but everywhere we have ever stayed in SE Asia, a simple breakfast is included! Nowhere does it say that breakfast is not included, until you pay on checkout and it says 'breakfast not included' on your receipt! Bit late at that stage. Never do you have to sign anything to charge it to your room & there are no prices anywhere on the table card which you order breakfast from. I think it is quite deceptive to be honest! If I had of known we were paying for bread & jam, I would have gone somewhere else & got something I actually wanted to eat.

The second thing that happened on checkout was that our car to the airport was late. We booked the car the day before. So we are waiting out the front for a while & I think I should check on it with reception & they tell me 'wait 5 minutes, we just called it for you'. What the hell did I book 24hours before for?? No apology at all.

Other than these issues, which really left a sour taste in my mouth, everything was good. Excellent location. Staff generally friendly & room clean with good air-con. Also good selection of channels on the TV & room has a fridge. Our airport pick up on our arrival was also seamless.

So, in summary, just make sure you know what you are paying for so you don't feel ripped off.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeganMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The lobby is clean, rooms are nice, but check for bed bugs! As I was about to sleep I picked one off my leg, even though I already checked they are hard to find when they hide.... They only come out at night mostly. We lifted all the sheets off after finding one to find a couple more. That was enough for us we ended up checking out around midnight no hassle and got our money back.... Nice hotel but bad experience with bugs, check before you sleep. As I'm not sure what methods they will use to eradicate them...... We stayed in room 305 or 304? First room on the right...

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dyllon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights. The hotel was absolutely spotless with beautiful wooden floors and furniture (guests are required to take their shoes off in the lobby). Our room and bathroom were really spacious and nicely decorated. There was a great range of TV channels and the air conditioning was fantastic. One the main downsides though was that for the whole time that we were there - the WiFi didn't work in our room and the reception staff seemed to be unable to to anything about it. Anytime we wanted to use the internet we had to go to the lobby. We didn't get the best sleep either as the beds were a little on the hard side and there were a lot of noisy barking dogs during the night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed at the Vayakorn Inn for three nights, and found it very pleasant. The rooms are large and comfortable, with a safe in the room, nice bathroom good range of TV channels and good aircon. I was on the top floor, and not troubled by any noise. All is very clean, with attractive decorations throughout and beautiful woodwork (no shoes upstairs to preserve the lovely floors). There is a wide range of local and European eating places, and lots of shops for anything you need within a 5 - 10 minute walk. On-line reservations were prompt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#25 of 97 in Vientiane
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#15 of 97 in Vientiane
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Family Boutique Hotel
Family Boutique Hotel
#14 of 97 in Vientiane
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#27 of 97 in Vientiane
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vayakorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vayakorn Inn

Address: 19 Hengbounnoy Street | Ban Haysoke, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane Lao PDR, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range: £21 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vayakorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set back in a quiet street, just a brief stroll from the centre of the culturally rich city of Vientiane, the Vayakorn Inn places guests at the core of the city, making it the perfect base for checking out on the sites and scenes whilst providing an ideal sanctuary when it comes time to unwind. The Vayakorn Inn is located one street behind the Vayakorn Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Vayakorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vayakorn Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing