We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the Mekong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vansana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #75 of 94 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Wonderful sunrises and sunsets over the Mekong! Rooms are big and ok for a 3 star hotel. Cleaning could be improved though. The air conditioner is noisy, but there is one and that's a great advantage. Breakfast rather on the slim side especially for Western taste, but service was kind and forthcoming. I would certainly stay again here, the views of the Mekong compensate for all the minuses!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ICH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

Breakfast was sometimes complete and sometime very lacking depending on number of guests. Get it early of bread and coffee. AC worked very well even on the top 6th floor. Great buy although staff was lacking in English we somehow got out desires understood.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RockwallTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

There is nothing specifically wrong with this hotel except for the price. In relation to the other places I've stayed throughout SE Asia, the Vansana is too expensive for what you get. The room was average - again nothing wrong with it just not very modern, the breakfast was rubbish (very little left both days when we got there and what was there was cold!), the service was ok (once you found the helpful lady who spoke perfect English, the others didn’t understand what a Gin & Tonic was even though they were barmen!), the swimming pool was very nice and the views out over the Mekong were good (as good as views over the Mekong can be!).
From memory this was one of the times where I've trusted other review sites over Tripadvisor and it backfired - for the money I'm sure you can find much better options!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The hotel is good but I have seen hotels with USD 50 which are far better. Ideal for honeymooners and those who want to stay by the Mekong.
Absolutely dead area after dark. So if you are traveling alone, it might not be for you.

Yes, I spotted cockroaches in my room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellersg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stayed 2 nights in low season so this was very quiet and peaceful particularly in the evening. It caters for asian tour groups normally however we saw only a few Thai families during our stay. The hotel is not so old, the rooms are large and comfortable however the bathroom shower design causes a lot of water to leak on to the floor. It has a small pool which is great to cool off after a 15minute walk back from town along the Mekong. Some construction work happening outside the hotel in the daytime which can be annoying if you stay in during the day. (may 11) Breakfast only just OK. Great free internet room. Worth a look if you don't want to stay in town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

If you want peace and quiet away from the noise this is the right hotel. It's only 10 to 15 minutes walk to "downtown" which I did everyday. The Hotel is facing the Mekong river. My stay was from january 1st to january 5th. There is a very nice swimming pool next to the restaurant where you have breakfeast in the morning. There's also a computer room with high speed internet. If you have an iphone, blackberry or personal computer, you can have wi-fi internet to your room with no charge. Staff is great like anywhere in asia. Lundry is available and done in 24h delivered to your room. There's also connecting rooms if your more than one couple. A free shuttle is available from the hotel to the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Big_Daddy_OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

First, be careful about hotel names - so many of them are quite similar! For example, this is NOT the "Riverside Hotel." This one is part of the Vansana Hotel group, and they sometimes refer to it as the "Vientiane Riverside Hotel." But I believe that most booking services will use the name listed here.

It is a typical "western-style" building, rather large compared to its neighbors. But it features a pool, lounge, big rooms, etc. I had a corner "suite," with two rooms, and a balcony with a view of the river. The room was a bit out of date, style-wise, but It is it is a great deal for little money.

But best of all (for me), it is far enough away from busy streets to be quiet and calm. Sitting on a unpaved road along the river, I found it to be a perfect location. If you walk about 20 minutes, you'll be close to the main tourist area.

The staff was quite friendly

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFO_Drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0 mi away
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
#40 of 94 in Vientiane
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chanthapanya Hotel
Chanthapanya Hotel
#24 of 94 in Vientiane
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#34 of 94 in Vientiane
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#17 of 94 in Vientiane
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#20 of 94 in Vientiane
520 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#5 of 94 in Vientiane
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vansana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Riverside Hotel

Address: Sithan N, Sikhothabong | Chanthabuly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 94 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £37 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vansana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing