We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vansana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #74 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 18 April 2013

In a good position facing the Mekong river, this hotel is a reasonable choice, but a little bit of a walk from the main area and tuk tuks are quite expensive in Vientiane.
The rooms are a reasonable size and quite clean, though the cup washing leaves a lot to be desired.
There is a kettle but only green tea provided so take your own tea and coffee.
The wifi in room 507 was very weak and barely usable. A bit better by the pool.
The breakfast was very nice taken by the pool. There was cereal, cooked egg(various), bacon ham and sausage, not huge but enough, half a warm baguette and fruit plus orange juice, tea and coffee. There were a couple of Asian options.
There is a nice balcony in the hotel next door for lunch or dinner.
It has a closed shower which stops the bathroom getting soaked.
I found that Thai baht was the best currency to use in the town, $US not needed at all apart from the immigration visa.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with good wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Really nice and great located hotel. Directly at the Mekong promenade. Pity that at the moment when I was there, the road was closed due to the rebuilding and we had to get inside by sand and ground. Spacious room with big beds. Window view wasn't the best one, but it's not the most important for one-night stay. Enough place for the baggage; air condition; swimming pool; computer room with free Internet connection. Tea facilities in the room. Big bathroom with shower and toiletries, hairdryer. Breakfast was served by the swimming pool, under the sky. Breakfast was rather poor. Quite noisy - doesn't matter on which floor the elevator stopped, I always heared it. General opinion - very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agata W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Fair location about 15 minutes walk to Central Business District. Average hotel showing signs of needing a facelift. Shower screen needed fixing in rm 603. Water not draining away in shower. Room reasonable size with tea making but no coffee. Comfortable bed. Free wifi. Balcony with good view over Mekong. Good food in restaurant but slow service by young staff trying very hard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JhhDjh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Location is not bad - a 5 to 10 minute walk from the city center. Not far from a few good restaurants. Avoid the hotel breakfast and make plans to eat somwhere else - hardly any options and what there was, wasn't great. Mattresses were soft and wifi was free, but sometimes spotty. Pool area is small - am not sure why they only have THREE lounge chairs. They could definitely fit more than that in the pool area. Everytime we were at the pool there were people sprawled all over the ground and/or dining chairs. Staff was friendly - an okay place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheaties1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located in the center of Vientiane.

However, stay in this hotel only if you can support a lot of midew in the shower area. Otherwise it is a quiet and relatively clean hotel.

Room Tip: Visit the room first and the shower area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

The only positive we can say: great location. Breakfast was very poor, we ate in town later. Room was not very clean and out of date. Showering was nearly impossible since there was no shower curtain and it was difficult to avoid a bathroom flood. Very noisy due to the night clubs.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anglaetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Just a place to sleep at - but location is not bad, walking distance to the town and also the night market. Our window overlooks the Mekong, and the sunset view was great.
Room looks tired, but the air cond was good, and I have no major grouse.
Next 2 doors away, there's a decent massage service - cheap and good!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noyawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
#40 of 93 in Vientiane
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#33 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chanthapanya Hotel
Chanthapanya Hotel
#22 of 93 in Vientiane
164 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
#29 of 93 in Vientiane
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vansana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Riverside Hotel

Address: Sithan N, Sikhothabong | Chanthabuly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £38 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vansana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing