We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel away from the bustle of ciity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel away from the bustle of ciity”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Comfortable hotel on the water. Breakfast was one of best we had on trip with many options and a wonderful view of the Mekong. The rooms are standard and the hot water worked in the shower. The walk to the city is only 15 minutes. There's plenty of good massages close by as well.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emmy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    62
    65
    25
    10
See reviews for
12
61
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
361 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Even though it was on the top floor, the a/c did not work very well during the day, but very strong at night. The view from the restaurant is nice, and at sunset. The breakfast was excellent. The guy at the front desk was not too helpful with the a/c issue. The room was huge, the bathroom a cave, but very usable. It was a bit out of the way, but walkable to the center of town and most sites and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel is a little distance away from the actual river. There was a lot of construction going on on both the river banks and the roads all dug up. This is actually a small 2-star guest-house type Hotel. there are several other Hotels like this closer to the city centre. The room was large but very basic. The bathroom was barely there. The shower pressure very weak. Hot water was a luxury. The terrace restaurant has a nice view at night but is very expensive compared to the myriad small restaurants walking distance from the Hotel. It is a ten minute walk to the city centre but at night with no street lamps, it is a challenge. The bed was hard and the air-conditioner noisy. But seeing the filth all around the streets, the hotel seemed a clean oasis. If i'm again at Vientiane, I would not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

this hotel is not too far along the river from the city centre and cycle hire shop.. Comfortable enough , the breakfast food was ok and the balcony restaurant view over the river excellent .. find a local laundry and the hotel charges for laundry are very high compared to 10, 000Kip for I kilo at a local place I discovered later

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walter2000uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I read a lot of nice review of this hotel so it was quite a disappointing experience.

The rooftop view is very nice, and I can add the size of the room is quite big, but otherwise:
- The AC is really really noisy.
- The bathroom is very basic for this kind of hotel and has a smell. No separate shower area so you flood the whole bathroom each time you shower. The savon is hard like stone.
- No view to Mekong in my deluxe room.
- When we checked in, the receptionist informed us that the hotel has bicycle available for guests, but during our stay, all bikes were broken, 3 times we asked, 3 times someone came check and said someone would fix them and they had never been fixed. And no bike renting around the hotel.
- It's 15 minutes walk to the center, and for a small city like Vientiane, it's not a very good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank today20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Booked on advice of a friend living in Vientiane. Overall average room setup. Wifi did not work so the hotel to their credit provided me with another room that did have wifi. Hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the city's river main foreshore and night market.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Functional, and a great place for a view of Vientiane and the river
"One of the top 10 best views in the world" Really...?, certainly not in April during the rice field burning and pollution.
Professional enough, and a handy place to be close to town, and out of it. Fairly souless except for the restaurant/ bar on the top floor. English speakers at the desk are a bit of a rare breed here.
Free bicycles, but most don't work. If you can find one, the town is a very enjoyable bike ride away.
We stayed 4 days, and had no real complaints about the place

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Vansana Riverside Hotel
Vansana Riverside Hotel
#73 of 93 in Vientiane
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#29 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sengtawan Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sengtawan Riverside Hotel

Property: Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
Address: Unit 3 Ban Sithan Neua | Shikhodtabong District, Vientiane, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sengtawan Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sengtawan Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing