We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem in Vientiane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)
Ranked #3 of 196 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little gem in Vientiane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile


Was there on june this year. Made reservation thru email and they replied at once even i had to make few changes.

Stayed at the Economy room ( room 5 ) which located at the front of receptionist desk for USD25 per night.

The room is very nice, clean toilet, quite AC and nice bed. The Mosquitos quite disturbing at night if you want to read book at the balcony but they provide the mosquitos nett in the room so it wont be any problem for your sleep.

They provide breakfast at your balcony and it was superb! Get up in the morning with such serenity seem like you cant believe you in the heart of the city.

The girls at the guesthouse are very helpful even with limited english and maybe it's their nature made them less talk but with great smile.

The location is quite good. Nearby with the night market to kill your time. As a muslim this is an advantage as halal restaurant and mosque is just nearby the corner.

They clean your room everyday, no TV in the room and wifi connection quite bad in the room.

Overall it's superb for me and will definitely stay there again if i'll be in VT again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    90
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
114
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

I booked the room thought e mail, they replied timely. They also offer transfer service with 9USD from airport to hotel. The staff are really friendly and helpful, they can help you book bus ticket or car to Buddha park. Close to Mekong riverside. There is no TV in economic cottage. Overall not bad.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

A Great Choice for those looking for a 'Boutique Experience' rather than a large Full Service Hotel. This is a Hotelier's considered opinion.
Centrally located, in a quiet locality, Sala Inpeng is within easy walking distance of almost all of Vientiane's attractions, Night Market and 'Happening Streets' with wide variety of Restaurants and Cafes, offering almost every type of cuisine, to suit all tastes and budgets.
Wooden Buildings on stilts, set in a nice garden with fruit trees and flowering shrubs.
Clean rooms, about 15 - 17 Sq Mts, with Fan, AC and Large Teak Beds, Mosquito nets for those that need them, Mini Bar with very reasonably priced Beer and Soft Drinks. Neat Clean Bathrooms.
The Deluxe Rooms have a a shared sitting room. All Rooms have sit out Verandahas, where breakfast is served every morning.
Excellent Clean Linen, daily change of towels and good Housekeeping. While good soap, tissues and ear-buds are provided there is no shampoo or conditioner, so bring your own.
Service is Impeccable and mostly unobtrusive. While very little English is spoken, the Young Ladies at reception Malai Thong and Vadsana as well as the Owner Mr. Sayaxit himself will generally understand and accede to any request with genuine smiles and goodwill.
Suggestions are offered when requested, with no attempt to hard-sell tours or outings.
The negatives, very few, one of course would be the Continental Breakfast, of Juice,, a little portion of Seasonal Fruit, a Croissant along-with a small portion of a Baguette,Butter, Preserves and Coffee or Tea, every day, can get a little monotonous, and, leave those with hearty appetites quite hungry. Anyhow there are many restaurants and cafes nearby which do a hearty breakfast for about 4-5 US$.
My wife had a peaceful and relaxing stay at Sala Inpeng. and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
Great Value, Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Rooms are Great Value for about 5 Dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelier_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Beautiful place. Breakfast is served on your balcony and it was great. Staffs were great and friendly. They have the cutest dog too. Location is great too. Only downside probably is its Wifi which is pretty weak compared to the other guesthouse we visited.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeiQiangSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

There's a lot to like about this place. The location is superb. Two minute walk to the riverside and night market yet it's on a very quiet side street. Many restaurants and cafes nearby. The room is clean. Air-con works well enough. Mosquito net and fan, if you prefer. Breakfast on the balcony is nice. Coffee is good. After a couple of days of croissants a bit of variety would be nice. Staff is helpful and polite. Not a great deal of English spoken but that was not a problem. Rooms are in Lao style wooden "homes" which some will find quaint and others not so much. Nice grounds but in rainy season mozzies galore. Laundry at 20,000 kip/kilo was double anywhere outside. I had the room furthest from the entrance . Wifi was sketchy in that location. About $35/night when all was said and done.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff46220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salalah, Oman
Level Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We booked the bigger cottage and what 5USD can do in difference!

Our own little balcony, nice breakfast, beautiful settings, and close to the router for the wifi.

The staff is great (limited english but that's more fun), it is clean, close to the beach (don't shop in town, the night market is right next door, 2 minutes walk).

You can book a tour with them too and very cheap (budha park and city tour only USD45), this is worth your while.

Enjoy Vientiane, be safe....would come back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TitoRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Lovely wooden cottages and well-maintained gardens. There was always a friendly staff around to assist with questions or anything. Location was great - restaurants and cafes nearby; the tents at the night market by the river were even in view... quiet street...
Room was very clean; bed and pillows good; closet with hangers... We had the econo room which was the first room shown us when we dropped by to arrange for our last two remaining nights in Vientiane. We didn't ask to see any other as we liked the location of the first building - just opposite the reception building and the main gate. No TV in this room though, but we never watched TV so it was perfect. There's a mini bar in the room, a mosquito net which we didn't have to use, fan, and ac. We were happy to move to the 2nd of two rooms in the cottage as, wifi worked better there. We liked it and we'd stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelingcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)

Property: Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)
Address: 063 Unit 06, Inpeng Street (Mekong Riverside Road) | Ban Wat Chanh, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn) Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing