We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ventiane's Best Budget Hotel. Bar None”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)
Ranked #3 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Ventiane's Best Budget Hotel. Bar None”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This has got to be the best hotel/guesthouse your money can get you. The Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are very laotian. You feel like you are a guest of the king. But just dont take my word for it, try it. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Laos.

Room Tip: The wifi signal is strongest at the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    90
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
117
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night based on TA reviews. Arrived in the daytime heat and unfortunately there was no electricity at the hotel so we couldn't cool down in the room. They told us the electric was out in the whole city and that it may not come on in the evening either. We then went for lunch and all surrounding buildings whether small shops or large hotels had electricity. We were slightly annoyed but knew there wasn't really anything the hotel could do.

When we came back in the evening luckily the electricity was on and we were able to have a warm shower, use the fridge, enjoy the a/c etc!

Bed was super comfy but not the best sleep as our a/c sounded like a tractor for the whole evening!! Room small but comfortable and clean.

Breakfast of croissant and 2 small slices of baguette with jam was nice. Fine for us but no alternative choice if it doesn't suit you.

For the price, 200,000 kip a night, we wouldn't have stayed more than one night as it's overpriced compared to other places we've stayed. Was a nice enough place though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisol123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile


Was there on june this year. Made reservation thru email and they replied at once even i had to make few changes.

Stayed at the Economy room ( room 5 ) which located at the front of receptionist desk for USD25 per night.

The room is very nice, clean toilet, quite AC and nice bed. The Mosquitos quite disturbing at night if you want to read book at the balcony but they provide the mosquitos nett in the room so it wont be any problem for your sleep.

They provide breakfast at your balcony and it was superb! Get up in the morning with such serenity seem like you cant believe you in the heart of the city.

The girls at the guesthouse are very helpful even with limited english and maybe it's their nature made them less talk but with great smile.

The location is quite good. Nearby with the night market to kill your time. As a muslim this is an advantage as halal restaurant and mosque is just nearby the corner.

They clean your room everyday, no TV in the room and wifi connection quite bad in the room.

Overall it's superb for me and will definitely stay there again if i'll be in VT again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

I booked the room thought e mail, they replied timely. They also offer transfer service with 9USD from airport to hotel. The staff are really friendly and helpful, they can help you book bus ticket or car to Buddha park. Close to Mekong riverside. There is no TV in economic cottage. Overall not bad.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A Great Choice for those looking for a 'Boutique Experience' rather than a large Full Service Hotel. This is a Hotelier's considered opinion.
Centrally located, in a quiet locality, Sala Inpeng is within easy walking distance of almost all of Vientiane's attractions, Night Market and 'Happening Streets' with wide variety of Restaurants and Cafes, offering almost every type of cuisine, to suit all tastes and budgets.
Wooden Buildings on stilts, set in a nice garden with fruit trees and flowering shrubs.
Clean rooms, about 15 - 17 Sq Mts, with Fan, AC and Large Teak Beds, Mosquito nets for those that need them, Mini Bar with very reasonably priced Beer and Soft Drinks. Neat Clean Bathrooms.
The Deluxe Rooms have a a shared sitting room. All Rooms have sit out Verandahas, where breakfast is served every morning.
Excellent Clean Linen, daily change of towels and good Housekeeping. While good soap, tissues and ear-buds are provided there is no shampoo or conditioner, so bring your own.
Service is Impeccable and mostly unobtrusive. While very little English is spoken, the Young Ladies at reception Malai Thong and Vadsana as well as the Owner Mr. Sayaxit himself will generally understand and accede to any request with genuine smiles and goodwill.
Suggestions are offered when requested, with no attempt to hard-sell tours or outings.
The negatives, very few, one of course would be the Continental Breakfast, of Juice,, a little portion of Seasonal Fruit, a Croissant along-with a small portion of a Baguette,Butter, Preserves and Coffee or Tea, every day, can get a little monotonous, and, leave those with hearty appetites quite hungry. Anyhow there are many restaurants and cafes nearby which do a hearty breakfast for about 4-5 US$.
My wife had a peaceful and relaxing stay at Sala Inpeng. and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
Great Value, Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Rooms are Great Value for about 5 Dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelier_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Beautiful place. Breakfast is served on your balcony and it was great. Staffs were great and friendly. They have the cutest dog too. Location is great too. Only downside probably is its Wifi which is pretty weak compared to the other guesthouse we visited.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeiQiangSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

There's a lot to like about this place. The location is superb. Two minute walk to the riverside and night market yet it's on a very quiet side street. Many restaurants and cafes nearby. The room is clean. Air-con works well enough. Mosquito net and fan, if you prefer. Breakfast on the balcony is nice. Coffee is good. After a couple of days of croissants a bit of variety would be nice. Staff is helpful and polite. Not a great deal of English spoken but that was not a problem. Rooms are in Lao style wooden "homes" which some will find quaint and others not so much. Nice grounds but in rainy season mozzies galore. Laundry at 20,000 kip/kilo was double anywhere outside. I had the room furthest from the entrance . Wifi was sketchy in that location. About $35/night when all was said and done.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff46220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
448 reviews
1.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)

Property: Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)
Address: 063 Unit 06, Inpeng Street (Mekong Riverside Road) | Ban Wat Chanh, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn) Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing