We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little oasis in the capital”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)
Ranked #4 of 201 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a very nice experience in this small hotel. The hotel is built in Lao Style and the rooms look like small bungalows. It's very close to the main streets of Vientiane but the hotel feels like you're somewhere in the countryside. Very nice balcony where the breakfast was served. Friendly staff!

Room Tip: The best option is a standard or superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva74theNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2014.

Pluses:
1) Free breakfast on your balcony/porch (croissant, juice, fruit)
2) Very nice staff
3) House dogs and cat!!
4) Awesome location in the middle of everything, 1 block from the night market
5) Lovely wooden bungalows- unlike anything else in the area
6) Free wi-fi
7) Hot water and A/C

Minuses:
1) The free wi-fi is awfully weak. But it's Laos, no big deal
2) The economy double is small. We're used to staying in hostels, so we loved it :)
3) Every room is a 1-storey bungalow, with open-air windows (no bars on windows), so you can't sleep with the windows open- A/C only :(

We really liked this place- unique and cozy. Recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A very quiet, comfortable, small place, with completely wooden bungalows.Very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast included. I stayed in the economy room, great for 1 (or 2) person.Many restaurants around. Everything worked, although aircon needs repacement, and I slept well

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiveTravellerBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Vientiane is a little crazy with all the smog and motorbikes. But when you enter this quaint B&B, I feel at home. Room was clean and bed was comfortable - I'm used to harder beds. Nice little breakfast on your own porch. Location is right off center of town without being on a busy road.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank shellontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very quaint, clean, pleasant stay. Within walking distance of shops and food. One block from Mekong. Quiet ,except for barking dogs(occasionally). Breakfast on outdoor porch. Food was simple and fresh. Hosts were very helpful. One person did speak English. Bungalows not right on street.

Room Tip: All rooms seem very nice...individual or side by side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel has a nice setting and the room concept is city-cottage.
However, the room is indeed very old and small (we had the economy room due to the full-booking). (To ensure your comfortable stay, take preferably the biggest room.) The bed is not comfortable to lie on (just too old).
Our air-condition was broken the first night and no repair was arranged due to the various reasons given by the staff.
The staffs (the girls work at the reception) speak poorly English. They just smile to you with extreme friendiness and say 'NO' to your requests.
The WIFI facility is the worst I have experienced in Combodia and Laos. Even sitting in front of the reception, it was hardly possible to sent out the messages.
The breakfast is tiny. Their half-filled small-glas orange juice did 'impress' us.
Conculsion: if you prefer a nice stay in Vientiane, pls consider another hotel with more 'inside' quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

THE auberge is build on a small plot between other houses and consists of a few bungalows , in a i suppose laotianstyle , our house nr 8 was in the back of the plot, everything is surrounded by big plants and trees , which gives it a charming feeling your breakfast,( nothing special but ok ) is served on your veranda. The ladies That attend to The place are friendly and reasonable in english, at least a lot more than my laotian ,a good spot to stay

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank laatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
172 reviews
1.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 97 in Vientiane
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
976 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)

Address: 063 Unit 06, Inpeng Street | Ban Wat Chanh, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: £20 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn) Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing