We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 198 Vientiane B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice place”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This was step five in our trip in south east asia. This hotel, not a guesthouse per se, is very well located, central, close to river and a lot of bars, restaurants and attractions, you can do it on foot which is nice.
The rooms were basic, I mean simple but clean and rather spacious. Not much in the way of decoration but they do the job. Clean and working bathroom too with a good shower. We had a nice and sturdy breakfast and the price was reasonable.
The staff was polite and helpful at times maybe not as friendly as we have had previously on our trip.
I will say this hotel was a good option for us, if you want to discover Vientiane and do it mainly by foot like we did, a good compromise between price, location and services.

Room Tip: Try the larger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    71
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
7
75
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

At $20/night, this place was great! The rooms are very spacious, clean, and comfortable. Staff were helpful though their english is very limited and we didn't see them much. Location is excellent, only a few mins walk to the riverside with markets, with lots of cafes, bars and restaurants; and less than 10 min walk to the fountain area where there are good restaurants too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, england
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed June 2012. Room was large and clean. The hotel is in a good location being just a couple of minutes walk to the river, the same to JoMa Bakery and the bowling alley, plus it's surrounded by a good selection of bars and restaurants. Would recommend it for a couple of nights in Vientiane (which is all you need anyway - it's pretty quiet).

Room Tip: Go for one on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was by far the most horrible stay during 3 months of travelling in Southeast Asia! Our room was ful of ants and the owners really did not care at all. Even after the chemicals obviously did not do the job (except producing a horrible, headache producing smell!), they would still not let us change the room without us paying again for the second room! After a long bus ride we had to suffer many hours more before they finally let us get to an other (worse) room at around 1 o'clock in the morning. If you search for a place to relax and a peaceful night, we highly recommend to avoid this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Originally, we booked 2 double rooms for 4 people, but due to some passport problems, we arrived in Vientiane only 3. So instead of taking 2 rooms, we asked for a triple room which the guesthouse doesn't have. However, the strict-looking receptionist quickly came up with a solution by offering an extra bed in a twin room with 240,000 kip (instead of 170,000kip/twin room).

The room was spotlessly clean. Although it didn't have a window, the lights were enough to make up for that. The whole GH was dust-free which made us feel guilty for wearing our shoes inside, but the receptionist said it's totally ok.

This GH has been running for 3.5 years but it looks like a new one thanks to 3 cleaners cleaning up everyday.

Water bottles inside the fridge are free although the staff don't tell you at the beginning, but it would be an advantage compared to other GHs in Vientiane where all you want to do is to drink water the whole day.

Souphaphone GH is located in a small lane but very near to Mekong river, Joma Namphou and the central.

The staff are friendly, English-speaking, and very helpful with directions.

Wifi is only accessible on the first floor. No breakfast included. But still one of the best GH in Vientiane!

Room Tip: Some rooms at the end have windows but it would be a bit hotter there. Better choose one in the midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phuong Anh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randers
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

For 22 USD excl. breakfast, this is as good as it gets. Very quiet and central location. Good bed (with the usual rock for pillow) and effective AC. Rooms do have a good TV but no kettel.

Huge room. It is not cosy in any way. A place to sleep. Do not accept credit card.

5 USD pr. room will get you breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had a very nice stay here, the staff spoke good English the room was spacious and clean and its in a good location. The A/C was brilliant, one of the most powerful I've felt in Asia!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dowzy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
2.3 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
482 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#4 of 198 in Vientiane
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#2 of 198 in Vientiane
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souphaphone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souphaphone Guesthouse

Property: Souphaphone Guesthouse
Address: 145, Ban Wat Chan | Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Souphaphone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Souphaphone Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing