We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Souphaphone Guesthouse offers very clean and nicely furnished rooms at a reasonable price. The location is quiet and still you can walk by foot to nice bars and restaurants in the nearby area. Only the service could be better in terms of friendliness.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    71
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
7
75
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valais
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

To be honest a 3/5 rate is probably being too hard on them, but we were very disappointed with the service! The staff is not very friendly, they charge you for the room BEFORE even checking in, they are really bad in giving you any kind of information, they don't have laundry and when we asked them to make a phone call to book a room at our next stop because email wasn't working, they charged us 4000 kip for a less then 2 minutes call.
It is not the end of the world and some people may not care about this kind of stuff, but we expected better at this rate.
Apart from this, the rooms are big and very clean and quiet. We slept well!
In the end I'd say there are a lot of guesthouses in Vientiane and we will look elsewhere next time!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revesdailleurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed at Souphaphone GH for 4 nights at $22 without breakfast. We booked it by email with no problem at all. We were on the 3rd floor (no bother for us) with excellent WiFi. We didn't have a window view though which didn't bother us. The room was massive, with a 6' bed which was very comfortable and comfortable pillows. A small round table with 2 chairs, a wardrobe with drawers, a fridge with waters replenished each day, a TV, and two bedside tables with lamps. The bathroom had hot shower with good power which was separated from the toilet and wash basin by a shower curtain. Soaps and shower gels replenished each day as well as soft thick white fluffy towels. The rooms and hotel is immaculately clean and very quiet. We booked a VIP bus at reception for Vang Vieng. It cost 40,000 kip as they advertise in their reception area. They phoned through our booking while we were there. The hotel is down a quiet road close to money exchange, Lao Kitchen , Joma Cafe, Taj Mahal indian and Noy Fruit Heaven all of which were very nice and worth trying. The staff are young and friendly. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
544 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This may be the best all-around deal in Vientiane. How it's ranked below Mixay Paradise is a mystery. I stayed at the latter in october and my room was EXTEMELY small -- barely enough room for one person's luggage. For two people, it would have been not quite tolerable. Our room at Souphaphone was spacious -- almost vast. The bed and pillow were very comfortable. There was an armoire with a convenient shelf for spread open a suitcase. Each side of the bed had a sturdy bedside table with a lamp. There was also another table and two chairs. The shower had an actual shower curtain and excellent water pressure. The a/c worked well, as did the free wifi. The staff were also much more personable than at Mixay Paradise (an there weren't the latter's multitude of signs warning of this and that and threatening hefty fines for breaking their many rules.

The location is also good, on a fairly quiet lane (Makphet Restaurant is just down the lane) only about a block from the Mekong.

We paid just 170,000 kip (about US$21) w/o breakfast. American breakfast is another $6 and I'd say skip it and spend your money at a variety of good nearby places for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I had emailed them four times and they never responded. When I got there they gave me the old story, We only have one room left and its the most expensive.
$20.00 US a night was expensive for a Guesthouse, but it was 11:00 PM. the room was clean and had Air and TV and Cold Beer

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VounteerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My wife and I stayed here for five nights @$22 (without breakfasts) and found this to be an excellent choice. We were trying to decided between the Souphaphone and the Vayakorn GH and settled on the former because it is on a very quiet side street. We had a room on the second floor that faced the street, so it had two windows and also was at the end of an interior corridor (and therefore a bit quieter). As others have noted, it is good to request in advance a room with a window and one on a lower floor (there is no lift). Our room was bare but spacious and very clean. The air con worked well and the shower consistently produced hot water. We asked the staff for assistance on several occasions (to arrange rides etc.) and they were always very helpful. The Souphaphone is nicely located near a couple of temples,several restaurants, and many shops. It is of course possible to spend much more money and stay in a more luxurious setting, but this GH provides good value. We would not hesitate to book the Souphaphone again on a return trip to Vientiane.

Room Tip: When making a reservation, ask for a room with windows facing the street on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainstream25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed 5 nights for USD22 a night in a double room. The room looked very close to the photo on the guesthouse's website. Room was clean and spacious, bed was comfortable, great a/c & great shower and .... everything was great basically. Honestly I can't find a single fault in this place.

Was pleased that there was a separate shower area (separated by shower curtain) so it didn't "flood" the whole bathroom. We requested a room with a window during booking and we got it as promised. Wifi worked in our room on the 2nd floor.

Staff were polite and helpful. Great location.

I strongly recommend Souphaphone Guesthouse.

Room Tip: If you prefer a room with window, do request it during booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarinAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.8 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 94 in Vientiane
387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#23 of 94 in Vientiane
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 94 in Vientiane
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Douangpraseuth Hotel
Douangpraseuth Hotel
#69 of 94 in Vientiane
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#2 of 197 in Vientiane
274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#5 of 197 in Vientiane
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souphaphone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souphaphone Guesthouse

Property: Souphaphone Guesthouse
Address: 145, Ban Wat Chan | Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Souphaphone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Souphaphone Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing