We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not correct!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 198 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Bruges, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not correct!”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Beautiful guesthouse. We had booked a room and confirmed that we should stay 1 or 2 nights. The first day we got a beautiful big room. No breakfast. The second day at 08h AM when we wanted to confirm our second day, they told us we had to change room to a little room besides the water pumps. So we decided to leave the hotel after 1 night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    71
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
7
75
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We had not booked a room before arriving in vietiane, so we were fortunate to have stayed at souphaphone. Enticed by the clean looking reception and convinced it was out of our budget, we curiously asked how much a room was. To our delight it worked out to $25 for a spotlessly clean room, with ac, tv, curtained off shower AND a window.

The four flights of stairs was a challenge, but we made it and felt rewarded by the room. Compared to other guesthouses in area, this one really was the cleanest and best value. We stayed here 2nights to begin with, then 1night when we returned after the weekend to pick up our thailand visas at the embassy.

There are a number of eating places on the doorstep and the night market is a mere 5minute walk.

Staff here are very pleasant and helpful. Will most definately recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadoo-pappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Souphaphone Guest House is an excellent budget guest house. It is spotlessly clean, the beds are very comfortable and the staff is helpful. It is near the center of activity in Vientiane. We appreciated their honesty in saying that by taking the room with breakfast, there was only one set menu. We decided against the breakfast because of that and there were many restaurants nearby that offered a variety of breakfasts. Although the reception lobby has wifi, the rooms do not. There is also no safe in the room or at reception. If those things don’t matter to you, you will enjoy your stay here. It is good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longleat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

One street back from the river and many nice restaurants within a short walking distance.
The room was kept spotless and the free bottled water replaced in the room every day is a nice bonus. The room was huge!
The staff are friendly and very sweet. Also very helpful with all requests and they gave good recommendations for restaurants, bike hire etc.
Added bonus was the rare benefit of a shower curtain in the bathroom.
Great place will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMCNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Good location near the river with big clean rooms and free wi fi. Decent value for money with relatively friendly staff. Near to some good restaurants, overall couldn't really fault it for the money. Have stayed elsewhere before in Vientiane and this is probably the best value place we've stayed at.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skybluedave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Souphaphone Guesthouse offers very clean and nicely furnished rooms at a reasonable price. The location is quiet and still you can walk by foot to nice bars and restaurants in the nearby area. Only the service could be better in terms of friendliness.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valais
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

To be honest a 3/5 rate is probably being too hard on them, but we were very disappointed with the service! The staff is not very friendly, they charge you for the room BEFORE even checking in, they are really bad in giving you any kind of information, they don't have laundry and when we asked them to make a phone call to book a room at our next stop because email wasn't working, they charged us 4000 kip for a less then 2 minutes call.
It is not the end of the world and some people may not care about this kind of stuff, but we expected better at this rate.
Apart from this, the rooms are big and very clean and quiet. We slept well!
In the end I'd say there are a lot of guesthouses in Vientiane and we will look elsewhere next time!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revesdailleurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.0 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
405 reviews
2.3 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#4 of 198 in Vientiane
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#2 of 198 in Vientiane
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souphaphone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souphaphone Guesthouse

Property: Souphaphone Guesthouse
Address: 145, Ban Wat Chan | Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Souphaphone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Souphaphone Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing