We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room, Awful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 200 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Booked two nights via phone call, and chose the rate that excludes breakfast. Upon arrival, the receptionists just watched my husband struggle with our luggage, taking them all inside the lobby from the street as I chased our running toddler around. Did not offer help at all even when we had to transport our bags to the 4th floor! A receptionist even laughed at the misunderstanding when my husband went down (after we all climbed upstairs to see the room) and asked who'll assist. Throughout our stay, she also lazily answered basic questions.

The room is very spacious compared to other hotels within the same price range in Vientiane. Aircon and water heater worked well in our room. Wifi doesn't reach the upper floors and is turned off in the wee hours. They do no offer laundry service.

Liked the guesthouse and its location, but not coming back because of its cold and jaded staff. They seemed uninterested with the existence of their guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadwifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Souphaphone Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

Beautiful guesthouse. We had booked a room and confirmed that we should stay 1 or 2 nights. The first day we got a beautiful big room. No breakfast. The second day at 08h AM when we wanted to confirm our second day, they told us we had to change room to a little room besides the water pumps. So we decided to leave the hotel after 1 night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We had not booked a room before arriving in vietiane, so we were fortunate to have stayed at souphaphone. Enticed by the clean looking reception and convinced it was out of our budget, we curiously asked how much a room was. To our delight it worked out to $25 for a spotlessly clean room, with ac, tv, curtained off shower AND a window.

The four flights of stairs was a challenge, but we made it and felt rewarded by the room. Compared to other guesthouses in area, this one really was the cleanest and best value. We stayed here 2nights to begin with, then 1night when we returned after the weekend to pick up our thailand visas at the embassy.

There are a number of eating places on the doorstep and the night market is a mere 5minute walk.

Staff here are very pleasant and helpful. Will most definately recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadoo-pappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Souphaphone Guest House is an excellent budget guest house. It is spotlessly clean, the beds are very comfortable and the staff is helpful. It is near the center of activity in Vientiane. We appreciated their honesty in saying that by taking the room with breakfast, there was only one set menu. We decided against the breakfast because of that and there were many restaurants nearby that offered a variety of breakfasts. Although the reception lobby has wifi, the rooms do not. There is also no safe in the room or at reception. If those things don’t matter to you, you will enjoy your stay here. It is good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longleat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

One street back from the river and many nice restaurants within a short walking distance.
The room was kept spotless and the free bottled water replaced in the room every day is a nice bonus. The room was huge!
The staff are friendly and very sweet. Also very helpful with all requests and they gave good recommendations for restaurants, bike hire etc.
Added bonus was the rare benefit of a shower curtain in the bathroom.
Great place will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMCNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Good location near the river with big clean rooms and free wi fi. Decent value for money with relatively friendly staff. Near to some good restaurants, overall couldn't really fault it for the money. Have stayed elsewhere before in Vientiane and this is probably the best value place we've stayed at.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank skybluedave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Souphaphone Guesthouse offers very clean and nicely furnished rooms at a reasonable price. The location is quiet and still you can walk by foot to nice bars and restaurants in the nearby area. Only the service could be better in terms of friendliness.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.4 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
509 reviews
2.3 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#28 of 93 in Vientiane
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#4 of 200 in Vientiane
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souphaphone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souphaphone Guesthouse

Address: 145, Ban Wat Chan | Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: £16 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Souphaphone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Souphaphone Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing