We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 202 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel worked out great for us (myself and two buddies). We found it by recommendation from another Westerner who was at a local expat hangout restaurant. (We just sort of showed up in Vientiane and started walking around the river area where all the tourists area) The property is hidden around a corner and seems fairly new. The rooms are nice sized, modern and clean. Wifi is in the lobby, but you can get the signal on the second floor. We did not take the breakfast option as that is $5 more and there are restaurants all over and some within crawling distance. Our room price was $22USD and well worth it and a great value in our option. Water pressure was good, water heaters worked great, wifi was fine. Overall a very good property.

The location is spot-on. You can walk all over the river front area and rent motorbikes just up the street for touring. Traffic in Vientiane is not that heavy and is civil. 2 nights in Vientiane is plenty.

The staff (as indicated in other posts) is not bubbly and friendly but they are not rude either. They are just kind of "there!" Not really helpful, chatty or welcoming. They just do their job. We tried joking around a bit. We did manage a little smile from the young women that worked there.

I would stay here again if visiting Vientiane and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good clean, newer hotel and they are on a budget.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms close to the lobby received the wifi router signal well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived with no where to stay and after walking round in the heat with huge backpacks we came across this place and agreed the 170,000 price for a double room per night. In hindsight this is expensive and if we could of been bothered we probably could of found somewhere else for a lot cheaper. Apart from the fact there's no wifi in the rooms, there's nothing particularly bad about this place. The rooms were nice, big and very clean. It's more of a hotel for people on holiday rather than a place for backpackers. Most other places we have stayed we have been given a map and told recommendations etc but we had no dealings with the staff on reception at all, it's not that they weren't nice people, they just didn't speak and didnt want to have conversation other than checking in and checking out. Personally, Vientiane isn't a fantastic place compared with other places we have been in laos. There's just not a great deal to do so I would recommend 1 or 2 nights max. I must mentions little restaurant round the corner, it was nothing special to look at but the food was amazing and so so cheap, we ate there twice a day!! It has no name but of you come out the hotel and turn right then right again about 20m down the street the menus have 10,000 kip written on the front and it's a woman and her teenage daughter who make the food.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom_and_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

returning back for one night to Vientiane we really didn't want to break the budget. This guesthouse is a great find. The rooms are big the bathroom clean and free water and air con cannot be bad for the price you are paying. Yes the view of the wall isn't great but at this price we drew the curtains!! We were told free wi fi was only available in reception but we picked it up with no problem from the second floor...our room was near the front directly above the modem/router.
Staff ok for our needs and would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: For free wifi choose a room on 2nd floor near the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mibial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Good location, good price, clean premises. Don't bother with the breakfast, and the wi-fi is a bit scrappy from the rooms. Our hotel receptionist was quite helpful, albeit on request. Other than that, perfect.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank doalittledance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

There's little wrong with this hotel when considering the basics: rooms are clean and spacious, it's quiet, centrally located and beds are good. It's just that, at 170.000 kip for a double, there's nothing particularly special about it. Service is lackluster, the lobby is boring and most rooms look out on a wall. The thing is, there are many other run-of-the-mill hotels, just around the corner, that are at least 50.000 kip cheaper than the Souphaphone Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors might have a view (eg, not a wall), but there's no lift, so be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrytin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

It was my second stay in this Hotel and it's still a good decision to come here; A very central location not in the first row - so you have a more silent place. The rooms are spotless and big, with aircon, fridge (2 Water bottles per day) and free W-Lan. The staff is friendly. The only point which is not working so well is the breakfast - but you can book the room without it... In the surrounding you will find a lot of small Restaurants and Garkitchens which serve delicous food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

After seeing several box rooms with no windows for $20 per night, we were relieved when we found this for the same price. The rooms are big, clean and ours had a window that looked out on the nearby wats. The location was great - right in the middle of all the restaurants. the bed was big and very comfortable.

The only drawback is that the wi-fi only sporadically works in reception, but there's so much free wifi in Vientiane that this wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JolyonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#3 of 202 in Vientiane
512 reviews
0 mi away
Mixay Paradise
Mixay Paradise
#11 of 202 in Vientiane
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#7 of 202 in Vientiane
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PVO Hostel
PVO Hostel
#5 of 110 in Vientiane
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vayakorn Guest House
Vayakorn Guest House
#39 of 202 in Vientiane
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#2 of 202 in Vientiane
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souphaphone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souphaphone Guesthouse

Address: 145, Ban Wat Chan | Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: £15 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Souphaphone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Souphaphone Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing