We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the picture promises far too much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inter City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Everything in the hotel looks a bit worn out, the breakfast is simple. the shower was working.
But by the time I left I had been fallen in love with the wooden stairs. Really beautifull.
It has known better years, but still somehow special. A wonderful mix of art and crafts.
I joined the aerobics at 6 opposite the hotel. The neighboorhood rooftopterrace was wonderful.
And the nightmarket was conviniant for the last presents.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ilse I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Inter City Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

I selected this place from the picture on agoda and the cost, cost was ok. The room over looked the mekong and I think this was the highlight of our stay. The staff were lovely, but so are all the staff through Laos and Cambodia. I am not sure if the hotel or Vientiane itself made my stay here feel lacklustre, we spent 2 nights and this was more than enough for me. Both the picture of the hotel and name of Vientiane conjured up romantic expectations of this place, sadly neither lived up to those expectations. My suggestion is to go there so you can tick it off your list and then get to Luang Prabang were you can relax and enjoy what laos has to offer

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce_Andrew_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Located directly across from the river border, the views from the top of the hotel are absolutely stunning. The rooms are great for sleeping in, and this is all you will be doing as the city is bursting with all sorts of experiences to try.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octavius_Gilgamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I booked this hotel by Agoda and say some reviews at Agoda with a good average. I expected a decent room in a 3-star quality. The room was not cheap and very disappointed. Must say the decorations around lobby and hallways are nice and my cup of tea. But the room itself was not good, very outdated, the bahtroom to small and from 1-star quality. Shower and toilet did not work properly. Some of the furniture in the room was broken. Mostly in this category and (high price), the room would have a coffee maker (not in this hotel). The quality of the bed and linnen was good. I slept very well, the airco was functioning ok. The staff was friendly. The location of the hotel is good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed 1 week end july. Location is good, straight across road to night market and overlooking river.
1st room, the door didn't fit frame, we said it felt unsafe and was moved to a much bigger room, on 2nd floor overlooking road and river.
It was very noisy, and underneath they are renovating a ground floor shop.
Drilling up tiles started at 7.30am. I think they must have been asked to stop drilling, so they commenced hammering them up. I think they worked long hours as i could still feel them pounding at the tiles during the night.
Breakfast mediocre, eat out, my husband wanted a cup of boiling water and was told they had none, he asked them to boil a kettle and eventually got one. Wifi was okay in public areas, not rooms.
Only good thing the location.
Probably better places, at least until renovations done.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking river. Some others small like cells.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Spacious room, clean enough, perfectly located, ok breakfast, but everything looks as if it needs replacement. Wifi is lousy. All in all nevertheless a good place to stay. Right in front if the river.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagkramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I checked into this " boutique" hotel in the evening after looking at many hotels in the area which I found to either be all closed down or full or bad value. As I walked into the lobby of this one I breathed a sigh of relief, It is lovely and I expected a room of similar quality and decor. Sadly they have made the lobby and hall ways the best part of this hotel.....

There were 2 rooms left on arrival. I was shown to the last one with a double bed. It smelt, wallpaper coming off walls, dirty pillows, pubes on toilet seat and the toilet seat completely broken off, leaking from the cistern all over the wet room floor and wouldn't flush. I told the receptionist who rudely said I could stay in the single room or leave.... I looked at the single room which was a box for $35 dollars and stuck with my original room as I was so tired and fed up. The bathroom to top it all off was smaller than any hotel Ive ever stayed in in Asia and impossible to move, let alone shower, the head of which was over the broken toilet.

The receptionist rang me and said he would come and fix the toilet in 10 minutes. On check out he still hadn't come..... I considered calling him but conveniently the telephone stopped working. Do not stay here they do not deserve your money, or at least the appalling " standard rooms" don't....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sap25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Memory Hotel
Memory Hotel
#44 of 93 in Vientiane
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
#38 of 93 in Vientiane
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#16 of 93 in Vientiane
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#33 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inter City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter City Boutique Hotel

Address: 24-25 Fa-Ngum Road | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabuly district, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £20 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inter City Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inter City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing