We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but probably way past its prime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inter City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice, but probably way past its prime”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The interiors were good. Not that impressive, but you know it had been thought out. You can appreciate the effort also in the corridors going to your room.

Good location. Lots of restaurants in the area. And just across a night bazaar that mushrooms in the evenings. (NOTE: you can buy lots of goodies at very, very, VERY cheap prices)

A very big CON for me: the a/c is a bit too warm despite cranking it up. I don't know, maybe it is the sweaty summer weather. But the entire hotel is very warm for me.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank michaelnotmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    70
    92
    45
    33
See reviews for
15
103
57
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We booked this guest house through the website Agoda. A friend had recommended it as he had stayed here before. The hotel is located on the River running through Vientiane and is located fairly central to the city. The hotel itself is dated and I would not recommend staying there. The outside plants are dead, the AC barely worked, the towels are paper thin, silvers of soap were provided for the “convenience” of the guests, and there is no hot water in the bathroom sink. The breakfast included with the room is very poor, the best and only part worth eating was the bread and fruit. Overall not a comfortable stay and the hotel is loking run down. I did like the artifacts in the lobby..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I booked a suite which proved to be spacious, with plenty of hardwood furnishings in traditional style. It was lovely! However, the rest of the hotel is shabby and lacking in maintenance. The initial view of the outside made me think that I was about to enter a slum. Check-in was efficient but the lift does not reach all floors so I had to navigate dark, dirty corridors and stairs to my room. Food is barely adequate with breakfast being awful. Beer Lao is present and the 'Gold' is to be recommended. Transport in the area is by tuk-tuk - when you can find one. Bills, like everywhere else in Vientiane, are presented in $, ThB and Kip. However, be aware, that no matter which currency you try to pay with, you will get your change in Kip. It is best to put everything on to the room bill.

Room Tip: Book nothing less than the de-lux suite and eat elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I am enjoy to stay in this hotel, I booked for 2 nights via Agoda, but finally i decided to stay 1 night extra;. I found myself enjoying the city and absolutely loving Inter City so much. the room is big with private bathroom and hot shower. tea & coffee are always served in the room. Staffs are always smile and help me all information in Vientiane. It takes 2 minutes to the night market, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namvytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubrique, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel has a filthy concrete outside and an inside packed with local art pieces. We had booked an airport transfer, it was not at the airport, so sorry! The room facing the river, maybe 70 metres away and across 2 roads and 2 pedestrian walk ways. The curtain rail was broken so the curtains could not meet. The bathroom light was so poor that you wanted to turn it on when it was on. The water run away in the hand basin had to be prised open every time. The room safe, mini bar and free tea and coffee all worked

The restaurant staff gave the impression of not wanting to be there and you were a distraction on their day. For breakfast there was a choice of totally tasteless white bread and baguette for toasting. The baguette ran out and we had the effrontary to ask for another! If looks could kill we would both be dead. Talk about getting the evils. A serviette fell on the floor. Staff walked past it for 10 minutes before it was picked up. Two people came into the restaurant and they were given 1 menu. The food was nicely cooked and reasonable value. The beerlao is grossly over priced. The menu is presented with prices in kip. Your bill comes itemised in US dollars with a total in kip, USD and Thai Baht. Unless you are of a mathematical leaning or have a calculator to hand, you cannot reconcile your bill. This fiasco has not been repeated at any other establishment in Laos!

The room book indicates that the hotel will order you a taxi and the price will be added to your bill.
When I asked if they had added the cost of the taxi on to the bill I was told that his could not be done! Finally I was asked if I wanted my bill in kip or dollars. Kip, please. It came in dollars!

For my money, this boutique hotel, one of 3, needs to get its act together or the word will get out and the customers will stay away.

Room Tip: There was no noise in our room overlooking the roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I agree with other reviews about Mosquitos, I counted 15 or more in the lift alone. I would also add mice to its problems - I could hear them all night in the ceiling cavity above my room on the third floor (room 316). Bathrooms are pretty disappointing too for a hotel that is trying to be stylish.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff throughout. General upkeep of the rooms for the money charged has much desire for improvement. Bonus is Mekong River view and a welcomed lift shaft as the hallways feel cluttered with colonial & oriental to say the least

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#33 of 93 in Vientiane
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#29 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champa Garden Hotel
Champa Garden Hotel
#47 of 93 in Vientiane
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#16 of 93 in Vientiane
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inter City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter City Boutique Hotel

Property: Inter City Boutique Hotel
Address: 24-25 Fa-Ngum Road | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabuly district, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inter City Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inter City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing