We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of Leuxay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leuxay Hotel
Ranked #23 of 202 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Staff superb, room superb, pool amazing and restaurant great. Stayed at another hotel which was not so good. One of the best in Vientiane. Front desk manager and.staff.a.delight. Not.far.from.centre of town. Cheap tuk tuk or taxi ride if you don't want to walk :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank CJilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Coming to Vientiane, Laos with my partner after getting a cheap flight ticket, the Leuxay Hotel seemed to be getting great reviews of it's hotel but bad reviews of it's location. I must admit it's true after staying there for 5 days.

Upon arrival in Vientiane, a driver was sent to the airport to pick us up for free. During the ride to our hotel, it felt as if we were in the middle of no where as we saw no signs of tourists nor did we see anything interesting around us. Thankfully there was a tiny mini mart directly outside the hotel which served as a great oasis in looking for snacks and supplies during the stay.

As it was getting late in our first day, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. The food was great if you are a fan of herbs. I particularly did not mind eating the hotel food as it was not too pricy and the fact that the hotel may be a distance from other food shops, and that many locals around the area may not be fluent in English, I'd rather save the hassle.

That being said if you enjoy slow walks like us, you'd enjoy the nice walk around the homes and villages to get to the night market. It takes about a 30-40min walk there, but it's worth the walk. Streets seems safe despite it can get rather dark during the night walk back. Transportation is hard to come by in front of the hotel, but you can get the receptionist to give them a call.

On the last day, we were also sent back to the hotel for free.

If you don't mind the distance (plus nice walks around town) and if you are looking for a nice quiet hotel during your stay, I would recommend this hotel. But if you would like to stay in the heart of town... maybe this would not be the ideal place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaronfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Location wise not really at the center of Vientiane, night market near the Mekong river is about 7km away. But only 15 mins to the airport. Other than that the place and facilities are well maintained, room is clean and spacious. Staff is very friendly and helpful. My friend left his shoes in the room then the hotel send a taxi to the airport to return his shoes (even though we have to pay for the taxi fare). Reasonable price (inc breakfast and transport to airport).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This place lived up to all the good posting on the website. It even exceeded it in some cases. The staff was awesome, very helpful, give good recommnedations, but were not overly pushing towards certain places. The service, facilities and rooms were excellent. Unlike some other place, they don't nickel and dime you for extras.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertotir71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This place was very elegant and had great accomodations. It was a beautiful hotel and very well maintained. The staff was also fantastic. They were able to recommend some great restaurants. Location could not be better with everything in walking distance

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Inn was very reasonably priced. Upon our arrival, the staff members were extremely nice and helpful. The bed was so cozy we slept until noon the morning after our arrival. One staff member addressed us by name in the lobby. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raimon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We were there for 4 nights. They provided free transfers to the airport. The room is generally clean but there were stains on the sheets. The pool was huge but unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to get in. The food is decent. There wasn't much choice for the breakfast but the sandwiches were nice. They provided slippers and bath robes. Also, there's a bath tub which is a plus for me. The management was nice enough to provide us with an extension cord when we didn't bring our adapter. The grocery shops outside the hotel has everything you'd need and is quite decently priced. Remember to grab a Vientiane/Laos map at the reception! It's a life-saver!

It's quite a way away from the the city center/area new Mekong River where there is a night market and a beautiful view of the sunset along the Mekong River. DO bargain for the items you're buying at the night market at least 30 to 40% off. It's a 20 to 30-minute walk from the hotel to the Mekong River. I highly suggest you take the main road as compared to the dirt road that runs through the housing/shop areas.

A tuk-tuk (toot-toot?) to the center should cost about 20 000 to 30 000 kip but they will ask for at least 50 000 upfront. Do bargain only if you're certain you have the change, if not, be prepared to pay 50 000 anyway (even if you've already bargained the price). The taxi costs around the same price. I'd recommend walking if you're fit enough to get to see the culture and the people in the area. It's also great for photographs. The roads are quite dusty, so wear shoes instead of slippers and if you want, scarfs to protect your hair.

The best thing about this hotel is that it's quiet and the pool is beautiful. The ala carte food is decent and they also provide bicycles for rent. The management and the staff is nice and can communicate in English. The hotel isn't too tall but it's tall enough to tower over its surrounding buildings. You get quite a view in the early morning and when the sun sets.

I will definitely return there but if you're a 'lively' person, then perhaps a hotel closer to the center is better. If you're looking for a quiet place to unwind, read a book and take things one hour at a time, this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmaine_woodworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
515 reviews
0.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chaleunehoung Hotel
Chaleunehoung Hotel
#104 of 202 in Vientiane
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.0 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 93 in Vientiane
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leuxay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leuxay Hotel

Address: 189/19 Ban Hongkha, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: £34 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leuxay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leuxay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing