We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel With Very Small Room Size But Very Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Family Boutique Hotel
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 16 March 2011

The hotel has a website, www.familyhotellaos.com but the information such as room rate and pictures were very misleading and untrue. It claimed that they have standard room with 2 or 3 queen size which is good for a family with young children was untrue.
They just have standard room with single bed or twin single bed or a queen size bed. Nothing more than that. Do not email them to make a booking because they don't even bother to reply at all. Call them up to make a reservation and they can barely speak english. Room rate during my stay is 210K kip (std single) & 260K kip (twin single bed or double queen size bed). The rate is included of simple breakfast set. Location wise it is quite strategic, within 5-8 minutes walk to Mekong river and eating places. Transfer from hotel to airport is 60K kip. Do not pay your hotel room in US dollar because they will use a very low exchange rate of 7500kip per every USD. Money changer can be found at every corner of the road and at the point of my stay, the exchange rate was 8K kip per USD. Although the room size is rather small but it is very clean and adequate. Air condition is new and very cold. Very clean bathroom and plenty of hot water. However bring your own toiletries. Every room has a small glass window facing along the elevator walkway. For rooms with balcony, go for deluxe (380K kip) or suite room (550K kip).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Magte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Family Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

I was stay here last year and my boyfriend return to stay again in 2011 but no more.
I know that I should not expect excellent service from budget hotel , I do understand but at least just able to communicate in English language that good enough!
. The reception wasted my time about 3 hrs because they couldn't find the name of my boyfriend , I tried to give any informations such as name , booking source, check in time and nationality but useless they said only " CAN'T FIND IT PLEASE CALL BACK IN 10 MINUTES" and totally 6 times with oversea call until I can contacted with my boyfriend!!
SO What the point that to have HOTEL STAFF and couldn't communicate in English language!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUNEe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

little bit expensive but excellent :D
clean clean clean as i expected, high standard and done beautifully. my single room in 4th floor was quite far from serenity since the hotel nextdoor held the new year countdown. i believe that in normal circumstances it shall be okie dokie.
they have Vietnamese-Lao restaurant downstair where they serve breaky. again, baquette, sunny side up, ham ,tropical fruit and lao coffee.
finding places in Vientiane (and Laos) will be easy if you know any landmark or wat or prominent places nearby, for this hotel, its only 200m on the left hand side of Lao Plaza hotel, so location wise, this hotel is perfect.
the staffs were great, polite, friendly, helpful and full of smile :D

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppiglet2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

My room was large and clean, The bathroom was okay.I had wifi in my room.Breakfast was good, with limited choices.Staff very polite and" helpful" , they will insist to take a taxi every morning.I need a visa for Vietnam, the receptionist said that is necessary to take a cab.Great mistake, I paid 6 $ for a short way and another 3 $ for a very short way from embassy to a monument.
Not recommended for budget travellers; the price of the tickets sold here was enormous, it's better to buy the tours or tickets in a local agency.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Well situated within walking distance of good restaurants, sightseeing, river and shops. Our suite room was clean, comfortable and spacious including a small kitchenette.
The included a la carte breakfast was rather limited , the restaurant under the hotel a bit gloomy. Hotel staff generally friendly and helpful. Overall good value.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandc2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Needing to run to Vientiane for visa issues we arrived in town without a reservation. I always try to becareful about booking hotels in cities I've never been in before so I don't end up with my family in some shack in a scary part of town. By naming this the Family Hotel I figured it was a good bet and i was correct. Good location, clean, good service, great breakfast and internet. We were having issues with the LG flat screen TV in our room and they came in and replaced it. Family felt safe and secure.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seekerofadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Stayed here for one night as we had arrived in Vientiane without planning and most other higher ranking hotels were booked out. This hotel looks and feels new and is at walking distance to the Mekong and other places in the centre of Vientiane. We had a room without outward facing windows (it had a window towards the internal corridor). Room was clean, bed was nice and firm as is the norm in Asia. Shower was OK but water pressure somewhat low. Staff were friendly, and the USD 30 we paid included breakfast for two (three choices: rice soup, scrambled eggs and toast, and another one I can't remember). The free Wifi in the room worked well.
There is a fairly high staircase to climb to reach the entrance door, so people with a problem with stairs should enquire whether there is also a lift (for example from the restaurant on the ground floor - I did not check).
A good place to stay, recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.0 mi away
New Rose Boutique Hotel
New Rose Boutique Hotel
#12 of 93 in Vientiane
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#33 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Inn Vientiane
City Inn Vientiane
#13 of 93 in Vientiane
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabaidee@Lao Hotel
Sabaidee@Lao Hotel
#14 of 93 in Vientiane
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Boutique Hotel

Address: Pangkham Road | Chiengyuean Village, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Family Hotel)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £22 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Family Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Family Boutique Hotel is located in downtown Vientiane, around a 10 minute drive from Wattay Airport and the bus station. With a 60 capacity restaurant offering Asian and European cuisine, the hotel also provides airport transportation and other services and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Family Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing