We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Family Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Family Boutique Hotel
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Good Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Basic facilities and amenities its not a big deal for me. This hotel has a good service staff with smile and polite, clean room bathroom and bed is fine. Good value for money and would stay here again on my next visit in Vientiane, Laos. Thank you for the Lady staff for assisting me where abouts Vientiane

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinniChart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    49
    32
    16
    10
See reviews for
17
34
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
402 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Unlike a lot of hotels in Laos which state they have AC, in this hotel the AC actual worked and you definitely need it.
By Loas standards the hotel was fine. Clean, and with great service.
The showers are always like a "wet room" effect. They don't go for separate cubicles in Laos.
You can walk a 200-300 metres to Nam Phou Fountain which has lots of (western style) restaurants surrounding it, including the famous Scandinavian Bakery, very handy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Basic is fine.. dirty is not. The Family Hotel doesn't really deserve any rave reviews it receives, but it seems to get a few and I'm assuming they're from backpackers who mostly stay in hostels and are wowed by a single room with a bathroom. The lobby of the is modern and clean leading you to believe you've picked a winning boutique hotel, but the rooms are beyond small and while the floors and bathrooms are relatively clean - the sheets are not. The service is OK. They will get done what you need them to, but it's as if you're bothering them if you ask. We booked a bus through them - and it got done, which is all we needed. Don't have the hotel pick you up at the airport - unlike most hotels, which offer peace of mind with their pick up, the Family Hotel charges more than what you can catch a cab for at the airport. The breakfast is horrendous..we opted to just eat the bread, which they were out of one day. Our first morning we tried the chicken soup along with our plate of bread and a couple pieces of fruit - the meat in the soup was nothing but hard, bony balls that could hardly be called chicken. All in all - this hotel does the trick to put a roof over your head, and while they're aren't many great, well-priced hotels here..I do think you can do better. If you plan to do more traveling around Laos.. you will find the hotels are not up to par with neighboring Thailand and Vietnam..where you can get awesome boutique hotels for the same price you'll pay for lower standards in Laos. The country, however, is beautiful and one of our favorites in Southeast Asia! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RevealingWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
839 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Having come from another hotel the previous day, Family Hotel was a better accomodation for us. The lobby was clean , cool looking because of its white interiors and airy. There were computers in the lobby which I believe is free to use by hotel guests. Our accomodation was pre paid but since I only paid for a twin bed I had to pay an extra $17 dollars for a family room that can sleep 3. However our room which has a balcony had only 1 queen size bed and a sofa that my son could sleep on.Breakfast comes with our accomodations.

The family room was spacious and neat. A better alternative hotel for the other budget hotels in Vientianne. Its near the fountain and the Black Stupa. Walking distance to Wat Sisaket, Black Stupa,Presidential Palace,Patuxai and the night market along the Meong River.

Meals in Vientianne are quite cheap ranging from 15000 to 20,000 kip or about $1.5-2.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Good hotel location, within 5-10minutes walk to the main town area. Clean and furnished with all the basic necessities. Decent breakfast included. Wifi can be weak most of the time. The only hiccup was the discrepancy between the price stated in my confirmation email and the final price. Though not by much difference, it was enough to gave a bad impression of the hotel's reliability. Apart from the payment, all else is relatively better than other hotels we have stayed in Vientiane.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EarthlingA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a perfect spot to base while in the city. It is central, close to restaurants and the price is reasonable. The rooms are clean, cool and a good size, the hotel is well-presented and breakfast in the restaurant on the ground floor was good. Wi Fi is available in the rooms. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steppinglight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Good location very near to everything.Our room was spacious, and has a window.Clean bathroom,fresh sheets and they have a wifi in the room and computers in the lobby.Breakfast was simple, i had chicken noodle soup and croissant.The staff were helpful and friendly. Nothing to complain about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badsnickerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Day Inn Hotel
Day Inn Hotel
#27 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Rose Boutique Hotel
New Rose Boutique Hotel
#13 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Champa Garden Hotel
Champa Garden Hotel
#45 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Boutique Hotel

Property: Family Boutique Hotel
Address: Pangkham Road | Chiengyuean Village, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Family Hotel)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Family Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Family Boutique Hotel is located in downtown Vientiane, around a 10 minute drive from Wattay Airport and the bus station. With a 60 capacity restaurant offering Asian and European cuisine, the hotel also provides airport transportation and other services and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Family Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing