We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good hotel .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Family Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I didn't like nothing but just the men for breakfast needs to change..varieties do not mean by changing 1/3 menu everyday.They need to varies the menu selections,international,asian,mid east.. But yet,the foods are still good esp the bread selection..just loving it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I paid about 35 dollars a night for a single room, if I recall correctly. Some others mention this already but judging by the photos, I'm fairly certain depending on how much you pay or the room you select, your entire experience here changes.

Me personally, for the room I stayed in, I think the place was a bit overpriced. No windows and SO MANY mosquitoes. Can live without the windows but was amazed with the amount of mosquitoes everywhere. Maybe this is unavoidable in Vientiane? I don't know. The senior manager who seemed to run another hotel was helpful - I wish I was able to speak to him more. Reason being, his younger colleagues running the day to day operations were not helpful at all. Some seemed to care, which is nice, but many didn't seem to. Needless to say there was a tremendous difficulty communicating too. My fault I don't speak Laotian, but...

Pros: awesome shower with hot water, very good location, good breakfast.

Cons: 100000 mosquitoes, unhelpful staff who you can't communicate with in English too well, and a bit overpriced for what they offer, I feel.

All and all not bad but didn't think highly of the place as other reviewers so wanted to write my thoughts down.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank akb922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

It probably isn't the worst wifi in Laos.. But it's the worst out of 7 hotels we've stayed at and worse than the wifi in any bar or restaurant that we've been to. If you need it then don't stay here.

Our room was tiny and only had an internal window out to the corridor. This meant it was hot, stuffy and lit up like Christmas at night. Sleep quality is poor.

Breakfast is ok.

Location is good and the staff are nice (and they fixed our broken aircon really quickly). The shower is excellent.

We also stayed at the Aroon Residence in Vientiane. That has better rooms, better breakfasts, better wifi and is cheaper so if you are ok being 10minutes further out of town then you should probably stay there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Disappointing at best. Construction site next door. Signage in the lobby apologized for the noise stating the site would be in operation from 8.30am daily. Sunday, 2nd March 2014 and the site began at 6.30am after a wedding in the forecourt next door had gone until midnight the previous evening. We had a room on the 4th floor with a window onto the corridor and there was barely a 15cm gap in between the two single beds. The air conditioning didn't work properly and the room was full of Mosquitos. The only positive was a comparatively decent shower when compared to previous guest houses we'd stayed in Laos. I'd give this place a miss.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bell_emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Pretty nice rooms, simple and clean. Staff were nice, and breakfast was standard, not great but not bad. Location was pretty good, a short walk to the fountain, and the riverside. Pretty good value stay, and would recommend to anyone on a mid to low budget stay

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a nice, Asian-style hotel in a very good location. Some rooms don't have windows, the nicest rooms are the ones ending in "1", 401, 501 etc. They are oriented to the quiet street, with a nice balcony. Wifi is reliable and fast, secured motorcycle parking available. You don't want to eat the breakfast (included) in the Vietnamese restaurant on ground level.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is pretty cheap for what you get. Make sure you ask for a room with a window B$ you check in. Ask in advance. The rooms and hotel are prety new. We stayed here a week and the staff was very helpful and the location was great for walking around the fountain and enjoying sleepy Vientiane. Breakfast was standard fare of egg, toast, coffee, and meat, all good stuff. There's even a free computer in the lobby to use while you're there. We would def go back for the price and the staff.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask in advance for a room with a window, otherwise they'll be full up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
603 reviews
0 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#15 of 97 in Vientiane
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#12 of 97 in Vientiane
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#28 of 97 in Vientiane
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#27 of 97 in Vientiane
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Boutique Hotel

Address: Pangkham Rd, Chiengyuean Village | Chiengyuean Village, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Family Hotel)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £21 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Family Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Family Boutique Hotel is located in downtown Vientiane, around a 10 minute drive from Wattay Airport and the bus station. With a 60 capacity restaurant offering Asian and European cuisine, the hotel also provides airport transportation and other services and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Family Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing