We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, clean and central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Family Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good value, clean and central”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Stayed here for one night as we had arrived in Vientiane without planning and most other higher ranking hotels were booked out. This hotel looks and feels new and is at walking distance to the Mekong and other places in the centre of Vientiane. We had a room without outward facing windows (it had a window towards the internal corridor). Room was clean, bed was nice and firm as is the norm in Asia. Shower was OK but water pressure somewhat low. Staff were friendly, and the USD 30 we paid included breakfast for two (three choices: rice soup, scrambled eggs and toast, and another one I can't remember). The free Wifi in the room worked well.
There is a fairly high staircase to climb to reach the entrance door, so people with a problem with stairs should enquire whether there is also a lift (for example from the restaurant on the ground floor - I did not check).
A good place to stay, recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    52
    33
    16
    10
See reviews for
18
35
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambodia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We stayed in the Family Hotel for one night en route elsewhere. We booked a suite at a reasonable price of $67, and we got a large room nicely divided into a living and sleeping/bathroom area (ordinary rooms were half this price). Staff were helpful and charming. Downsides were two - the sink in our kitchenette contained some residual waste water, a cigarette butt and a pair of used chopsticks - not designed to give a good impression! Apart from that the room was clean as was the linen, towels etc. Asian-style bathroom with open shower meant that the floor was often wet. On our check-out we were asked to pay for a can of 7-UP fromthe mini-bar which we did not have and, instead of accepting our word, we had a long exchange with reception staff who insisted we must have had it. After suggesting that the owner of the cigarette butt and chopsticks might have consumed it we were finally allowed to leave without paying for the phantom 7-UP. We thought - why don't managers train staff? Annoying guests on check-out for the sake of half a Dollar? Despite all of this, we found the hotel to be adequate for a one-night stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishTraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Friendly and warm staff. The room we stayed was very clean, good facilities. We felt comfortable to lie on the bed, excellent sleep! Free wifi, breakfast was included, delicious. This hotel is great. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhuzheqin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We are an Irish couple who travelled Asia for 3 months, its tough to get really nice places to stay but this was a great hotel. We stayed for 4 nights and then headed off to Luang Prabang and we ended up returning to the Family hotel again for 2 nights before travelling to Thailand. The hotel was really clean, practically brand new, lovely furniture and the floor tiles were porceline so really modern, the breakfast was great too, juice, tea/coffee, eggs, bread and fruit. The bathrooms were fantastic.
I would definitely reccomend this hotel to all singles, couples and families.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 10 nights altogether and were extremely pleased with the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the rooms. They bent over backwards to accomodate our needs as a family and we ended up spending 5 nights in the Deluxe King room and 5 in a large double. The prices of the rooms are very reasonable for Vientiane especially as they are very tastefully decorated and spacious. The restaurant attached to the hotel has a small menu but what they do is done to perfection. The inclusive breakfast is basic but the lunch and dinner menu that we ordered was always fresh and extremely tasty. The free WiFi worked pretty much all of the time and at a good speed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Vientiane who does not want to stay in a back packer haunt or pay silly amounts for a little bit of luxury.
Room prices range between $25-$45 for standard rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhiasanaxayFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Nice staff, nice rooms, & central enough.

But the hotel next door is undergoing construction, so there is horrendous noise through the day right now.

As usual, noone knows what it is for, how long it will take, etc.

Also, the wifi wasn't working.

I had to move out - to the downmarket Asian Pavilion round the corner, which is have a $15 promo.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmac1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Upon arrival they wanted to give me a windwoless room, which I had to refuse because I have a slight case of allergy and Asian like to use room sprays abundantly (which then was not the case here). I requested and got a very nice room with windows at no extra charge. The staff was friendly and helpful, provided city maps and information. Both room and bathroom were extra clean. WIFI in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Day Inn Hotel
Day Inn Hotel
#26 of 93 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Rose Boutique Hotel
New Rose Boutique Hotel
#13 of 93 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#56 of 93 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Champa Garden Hotel
Champa Garden Hotel
#49 of 93 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Boutique Hotel

Property: Family Boutique Hotel
Address: Pangkham Road | Chiengyuean Village, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Family Hotel)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Family Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Family Boutique Hotel is located in downtown Vientiane, around a 10 minute drive from Wattay Airport and the bus station. With a 60 capacity restaurant offering Asian and European cuisine, the hotel also provides airport transportation and other services and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Family Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing