We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and tasty takeaways”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Night Food market

Night Food market
Ranked #89 of 387 Restaurants in Vientiane
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Food stalls every evening all along Phai Nam street, off Chou Anou road
malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cheap and tasty takeaways”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This night food market is no longer on Phai Nam Street, but just further down on Boulevard Khounbolum. I had disappointing meals at restaurants in Vientiane and Luang Prabang, but on my last night in Laos, found this night market and finally got some tasty local fare. The food is cheap, tasty, and authentically local. But you have do takeaways. Hygiene may be a concern - so just get the hot, cooked-on-the-spot stuff. There are grilled stuff (sausage, chicken, fish, pork intestines etc), various local food, braised trotters, iced dessert, local puddings and cakes, dips/sauces. And I found the best-tasting pork larb (larp?) here. Locals buy their dinner here - so the food has to be good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clarissachou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“atmospheric”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great place to hang out at night in Vientiane. cheap tasty Food and shopping on the go next to the river Mekong with smily locals is right up my street. I usually eat here prior to a bigger meal later in the Evening so most of the goodies i treat as appetisers. loved the fish and the chilled Laos beer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This night food market is to be found on the banks of the river Mekong. Great atmosphere. Full of locals so you know it must be good. Good choice of food freshly cooked infront of you. We had a whole grilled fish which was cooked to prefection. Prawns with fried rice ,yellow beef curry and two drinks for under £9. Half the price of the hotel and much nicer.

Helpful?
Thank suemannhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheap cheap excellent food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I loved the night food market in Vientiane, no hassle and really cheap food, excellent choice including amazing spring rolls and so much more, two beers and two meals for 4 dollars cant go wrong, going back again tonight !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, for a good price”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I eat here regularly with my family and really like the food. I can recommend the chicken bbq, pamuk & bbq fish. Prices are very affordable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JamilZahidRestaurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Night Food market also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Night Food market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing