We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I <3 Mussels Roquefort”

Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar
Ranked #7 of 400 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, Pub, Central European, French, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Vientiane
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I <3 Mussels Roquefort”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Management and Staff creates a warm and welcome atmosphere where everyone is happy to enjoy a meal, 1 or 2 of the numerous special beers and of course on Friday & Saturday... Mussels Roquefort!!.. I wish it was Friday already.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Aitg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    148
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
942 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Great place for Tin Tin fans.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The beer was great. (This is an admission coming from a Tiger Beer fan.) Food is also good, I loved the Belgian fries. The service and atmosphere were great and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The Tin Tin memorabilia was super, I would have loved to have left with a number of the little wooden sculptures.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ericon991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Moules-Frites a real treat!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Friendly and knowledgeable waiters, 6 or so tables outside along the Mekong riverfront street and more space inside. The moules-frites are available on Fridays and are between 70,000 and 90,000 kip (big pot of mussels, paper cone of Belgian fries, fresh bread, mayo/ketchup). The moules-frites menu is over 2 pages - white wine, cream, onions, and other options. I usually get the Pili-Pili. The Belgian beer menu is extensive but expensive of course. A small bottle of Chimay Red is 70,000. Large Beerlao is 14,000, so if drinking Beerlao, best to go elsewhere nearby for 9,000 or 10,000. Nice change of pace if you live in Vientiane or have been on the road in SE Asia for a while.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voyageur927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“when you need a reprieve from Beer Lao....”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Try this place. Nice for a change of pace and interesting to find Belgian items on the menu and loads of Belgian beers. Food is good, but make sure you try something that makes you think of Belgium!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome Belgian Beer Selection”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is just what we needed. After travel through SE Asia, you need a break from all of the lagers. Don't get me wrong, Beerlao rocks, but I just needed a change. The owner was great, recommended a few beers we had not tried. We had some chips. But that was about it. Of course the beers are going to be more expensive. They had to come from Belgian. Yes, it was our most expensive night out to date while traveling, but sometimes you need to splurge!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kikikarpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing