We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average but cheap and well placed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saysouly Guest House

Saysouly Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saysouly Guest House
Ranked #106 of 194 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average but cheap and well placed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in a twin room with bathroom (12,000kip per night). The room was large with TV, fridge and AC. As some have said the place is a little grubby and quite run down in parts but the beds were comfy and the sheets clean and we found no evidence of bed bugs. The bathroom was far from spotless and the basin was hanging off the wall but the hot shower worked well.

We found the staff friendly and they spoke sufficient English to get by, we didn't book any trips or tickets through them so can't say how helpful they would be on that front.

It's in a great location on a quiet side street but very close to the night market along the riverside, plenty of local and western restaurants nearby.

Would recommend it if you're looking for a decent sized room in a good location on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrispypancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    9
    22
    23
    24
See reviews for
2
23
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Despite negative reviews on tripadvisor, we had presant experience. It's nothing special GH, but located very good location. They have nice open patio area on the gorund floor and the 2nd floor. The street they're facing is relatively quiet and there are many budget restaurants nearby. The restuarnt directly across from the hotel is very cheap. A Thai women who lived in Japan for 20 years run the place. She is a fun character. Be warned that beer/pop in the mini-fridge are not free. You must pay when you check-out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motohachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Arrived late into Vientiane and trawled the main streets in front of the fountain for a hour or so until finding saysouly. We were tired so settled for a nights trial. Only after we had paid (this is expected on check in) did we check trip advisor reviews which didn't look good! We decided to give saysouly the benefit of the doubt for a night. Our double room was huge, clean white floors and bedding. Walls a bit grubby. NO bedbugs in our room! It was noisy but big boat festival on so to be expected. Bathrooms were probably the let down, not clean, stocked on tp and smelly at times. Staff spoke very little English and couldn't help with travel arrangements but were friendly enough. Wifi slow, signal best in reception or at the great cheap restaurant across the road where we shared beerlao with the locals. Ended up staying 5 days in total. 80,000kip per night. We were happy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We are backpackers on a budget so we will let some things go. However cleanliness will never be one of them! This place is dirty there are stains on the walls and on the sheets... we ended up there as we were very tired and everything else on this street was significantly more expensive and we didn't realise how bad it was before checking in. The next night we moved to mixtok inn on the next corner. Only a tiny bit more money and much better.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank h s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

This place is as bad as reviews suggest. This actually relates to March 2011, but things haven't gotten any better by the looks of it.

In my first night, I was taken to a dusty room, not so far off the kind of style that Leo di Caprio's character ends up in Bangkok in 'The Beach'.

There were bedbugs. I couldn't sleep, so I screwed my $4 and legged it to a place up the road, the Vayakorn inn (or guest house). Clean as a whistle, nice furniture/decor and service, $20 a bargain.

Anyway, I had the misfortune of staying here again as a quick fix because of a missed flight. See those red marks on the beds? That'll be due to bedbugs credit on past customers. They are wee red buffers as well because they are so full of fresh traveller blood.

So I done the exact same thing again and done a moonlight flit meanwhile the family were sleeping in a mesh tent downstairs. Oh well.

Do not stay here. They just do not care. Wi-fi is the least of your problems. They could even increase prices per night by up to two dollars and have some cleanliness. It's just pure laziness really that they haven't. Budget guesthouses in Thailand, and just down the road, put these people to shame.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank universal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Vientiane was really busy, so we only stayed here because it was one of the last places that had rooms available. It was clean enough and quite spacious. Staff wasn't all that helpful. Stayed mid-Jan 2013 in a double room with a fan, breakfast not included.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lana315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

dirty sheets, smells bad, rats outside, non-English speaking service, ...
fortunately for them it is close to main city attractions
incredible that the Bible lonely planet reccommended years ago that place (2007)
it is more than a fraud

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oce1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vientiane
0.0 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#34 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixay Guesthouse
Mixay Guesthouse
#76 of 97 in Vientiane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixok Guesthouse
Mixok Guesthouse
#32 of 194 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pathoum Phone Guesthouse
#84 of 128 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mali Namphu Guest House
Mali Namphu Guest House
#14 of 194 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixay Paradise
Mixay Paradise
#15 of 194 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saysouly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saysouly Guest House

Property: Saysouly Guest House
Address: Vientiane, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Saysouly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing