We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place”
Review of Ansara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ansara Hotel
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Charming place”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed here end of April for 3 nights in standard room

Room was nice although small but comfortable. Good and new air condition, flat screen tv, laptop and best of all free mini-bar (soft drinks, water and snacks) refilled daily. Bed was a little hard but good choices of pillows. Balcony was lovely, overlooking hotel’s courtyard. Feel like being in a house rather than hotel. Definitely much better than building hotels.

Great location, in a centre, short walk to Khong river, bars & restaurants, massage parlours. In the evening, by the river was a great place for people watching.

Service was brilliant; staff were attentive, genuine and helpful.

Dislikes:
Construction noise from next door: At the time I stayed, there was a construction at the temple and it started at 7am…. A scream of metal cutting woke me up every day. But still this is better than road noise that you might have from building hotels around here.

Room Tip: - Room on the ground floor tends to have mosquitos. I was in room 8 on the second floor, it was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    181
    44
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
249
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stopped over in Vientiane twice in a week on the way up to Luang Prabang and then back. Looking at tripadvisor, we found that there were quite a few nice boutique hotels, so we booked the Ansara on the way up. Rooms were not very big, but the hotel is made of three houses with a garden in the middle, with a nice terrace, so that was perfect for one night. The down side if you travel with somebody who is buddhist is that the hotel is built next to a temple. I discovered that when arriving at the hotel, however this did not deter us from having a pleasant short stay. Breakfast is nice with very fresh French style bread.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baanbellerive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Really nice hotel with great and friendly service. We loved our stay there. The garden is beautiful and makes the Ansara Hotel a little Oasis in Vientiane. The rooms were quiet and the atmosphere was very calm and relaxing. Would always stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS_travelingasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a lovely time here there was a laptop in the room with free Internet as well as free wifi

Also complementary fruit each say and free soft drinks in the mini bar as well as biscuits for afternoon tea

We ate in the restaurant on the Sunday and the food was good and reasonale

The hotel is located close to the Mekong but down a small alley so it's lovely and quiet

Probably one if the best hotels we stayed the trip

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Ansara is an excellent choice in Vientiane. It is tucked away on a small road but in central Vientiane. It is quiet and the the grounds are very relaxing. I should have eaten at the very smart looking terrace restaurant but was distracted. The front facade of the building is very impressive.

The rooms are nice but the best feature by far is their innovative policy of offering for free all drinks and snacks from the minibar. I like the feeling of not being ripped off by hotel prices and being out and about in Vientiane I sweat loads and need a lot of fluids. There is a work desk. The wifi was rather slow and during a big chunk of my only full day there it was down and it took a few hours for them to fix. There is a safe.

Breakfast was a downer. Though the second floor dining area is nice, the selections were very poor. I had cheese and danishes but there was little other food. The ham was awful. The cooked eggs was the only good dish and omelets with fish sauce was very good. Unlike virtually everywhere else in the region, there was no "Asian" breakfast.

The service at the front desk was excellent. They gave detailed replies to my shopping questions and everyone chipped in with opinions. This hotel would have gotten the 5th star if it wasn't for the bad breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renesse, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The moment you walk into this building you will feel at home. It is a very nice hotel and the staff is very welcoming and willing to help you with any question. Rooms are not very big (with small balcony) but well equipped (including laptop with good internet connection) and all drinks and snacks in the room are complimentary. Limited but good quality breakfast and hotel is in the middle of the city centre so it is easy to walk to other places. Personally I do not like the shower in the bath (and that would be my only thing to be improved) but all amenities were there. Would recommend everybody without doubt to try this place; you can not go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amvg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Picked the Ansara based on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed during a three-night stay in March 2012. Nice rooms and public area, great food and wonderful staff. Very central location just a couple of blocks from the Mekong.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
266 reviews
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 93 in Vientiane
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.5 mi away
Settha Palace Hotel
Settha Palace Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansara Hotel

Property: Ansara Hotel
Address: Quai Fa Ngum, Ban Vat Chan, Hom 5 | Muang Chanthabury, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ansara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, opened in mid May 2010. 12 "Savvy" rooms, 1 "Suite Affair" of 46 sqm and 1 "Suitest Escape" of 64 sqm. All fares include in room laptop and free WIFI, soft drinks in mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ansara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing