We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, limited breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent location, limited breakfast”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Modern hotel under local management bang in the centre of Vientiane. Very professional staff on the front desk. Free wifi. Good room. Massive, comfortable bed, attractive uber-modern bathroom. Relatively luxurious feel to the place. They charge you USD 8 to drive you to the airport. We paid USD 135 per night for a double. Considering this we were very disappointed by the limited breakfast.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_London_N4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    314
    65
    8
    3
See reviews for
97
384
122
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at Salana Boutique for 4 nights at the end of July 2012. The hotel is luxurious and almost perfect. We would definitely stay again.

Room: We stayed in a Salana suite on the 6th floor, with a beautiful view of the neighboring temple (Wat Inpeng). The room was well furnished, and the materials and finish were excellent. There was a soothing Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. We had repeated problems with not getting enough hot water in the shower, which the hotel never resolved. This was a sore point daily, but the hotel’s excellence in other areas compensated for this shortcoming.

Dining: The breakfast buffet was excellent with good variety and high quality. Since we ate street food daily, we did not try the room service menu or eat dinner in the restaurant.

Service: The front desk was courteous and responsive to most of our needs. However, they never seemed to take our complaints about the hot water seriously, insisting that everything was OK. The dining room staff was courteous and efficient. House keeping was excellent.

Facilities: Excellent WiFi in room. For a hotel in this price range, it is surprising that there was no fitness center or swimming pool. The hotel is centrally located, and just a few minutes walk from the riverfront, clubs, and restaurants. The hotel is also within walking distance of most tourist attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AcieMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Vientiane is not a place I try and spend the night. I have one client there and normally fly in and out for the day.
For those unfamiliar with the place it is small, undeveloped, with a whole lot of nothing going on.
All this being the case my series of meetings were going to go past my 4.15 flight departure and there are not many alternatives out of there. So my client recommended Salana.
I was driven there late, with some dread, but it was a lovely surprise indeed. Welcoming staff, a drink (of a blackcurrent juice I think) on arrival. Big, well appointed room, all at $80 something including breakfast. Wifi included BTW.
As I was getting a 7.30am flight the next day and would miss breakfast starting at 6.30 they offered to give me a takeaway food pack with me. Really great as it happened as there was nothing at the airport at that time or on the plane.
I'd like to give it 4 1/2 stars actually
If you're stuck in this town like I was, unlikely as that is, I highly recommend Salana Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: Went to a local Laotian eating house for dinner. very nice, a lot like Thai, what I had was not as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We checked into this hotel after leaving our previous hotel early. The staff here where so helpful in showing us the various rooms that they had and pointing out everything that was included in the room rate. We checked in immediately and were shown to our room and again the features and inclusions explained to us. The room was fantastic with nice ammenities and fittings. Hotel staff were great at explaining where places were and recommending good places to visit and eat. Breakfast was great with a good selection and the hot food actually hot with the staff being attentive and helpfull. The hotel is in a great location and if you want good service with great rooms this is the hotel to stay at. Thanks to this hotel and staff our stay in Laos was much better after getting off to a bad start

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say a fantastic hotel, this is the hotel that the travel company changed us to and much better than the first choice. The staff were fantastic and helpful, the rooms were nice and clean and well maintained. Breakfast was fantastic and itching was too much trouble. It was situated a short walk from the main street near the river were everything happened in the evening.
If I return to Laos then this will be my first choice for a hotel..

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I would recommend this hotel. Excellent location and clean, modern rooms. Short walk to riverfront boardwalk and restaurants. Buffet breakfast is only average. Expensive by Vientiane standards but nevertheless a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkflyenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Open the door, step in, and the guest will be surrounded by an amazing atmosphere.
This place is everything cool...so charming place to stay.
Rooms are very comfortable (do not ask for room 399...in case ask for another one...no magnetic key but an old style key that could give problems when locked and the room very closed to the meeting centre...too close)
Breakfast is delicious and staff is lovely
There is also an AMAZING spa where to relax with a massage...staff is over skilled...prices are reasonable but the experience makes a visit to the spa a real MUST!
At the 4th floor a vey nice cocktail bar con be the place for guests where to relax...from 10 to 22....both with partner or with business colleagues that's a fantastic place to enjoy a drink.
Nothing was bad....just the wake up call service...be sure that everything will be noted on your room comment area otherwise you would risk to be awaken too early or, even worst, not to be awaken at all!!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
1.3 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 93 in Vientiane
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salana Boutique Hotel

Property: Salana Boutique Hotel
Address: Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salana Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most central located hotel in Vientiane, the SALANA Boutique Hotel home is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior, 24 deluxe, 2 suites, 3 Salana suites. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing