We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hip Hotel in a Hip City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Salana for two nights and we were very impressed. The room was immaculate, and the bed very comfortable. There is is a nice fourth floor bar, and the staff at the front were very friendly. It's definitely not the cheapest place to stay in Vientiane, but it's convenient (it's close to the river and night market) and worth a night or two. My only complaint was that on our check out they charged us $20 for having two people in the room. I was surprised, but I guess I should have read the small print. I mean, why would we get a queen bed for just one person? Other than that it was a stellar place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel while on a tour with Grand Circle Travel. The hotel is well located. Accross the street is a Monk school where the students learn martial arts, English and other things. Not too far is the Mekong river. At night there is a market offering all sorts of things, even line dancing where you can join in. The rooms are quite nice, but the beds are hard as is the standard for this part of the world.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brislenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed on business for about a week. Positives: The hotel is well located, the rooms are pleasant and the airport transfers work well. The view over the temple gardens at the back is really lovely. The staff have varying levels of spoken English but are mostly charming and helpful. The breakfast Is good but the dinner is quite expensive hence the restaurant is often fairly empty. On the negative side, because Salana is very popular it can be difficult to get the room you want and the available alternatives tend to be more expensive. But what really irritated me was the inability of staff to call a taxi when asked, with the only option being the hotel limousine.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a superior room vet poking the lovely temple garden at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ittyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here as a couple on holiday. Clearly the staff have been drilled to do the "sabi dee" thing as they rushed to open the door when we arrived. But things like putting the shoe protector on the bed doesn't seem to meet the grade. Perhaps the best way to sum up the hotel is a no smoking room actually means we prefer a room that doesn't resemble an ashtray, and sitting on balcony as a couple, is preferable to sitting in a bar where the future of Loas, is being decided over an over priced whiskey.

So. Okay if you are on business, want okay WIFI, and want to get things done in a hurry. If on holiday, and perhaps prefer some romance, a few quiet moments, then move on.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KarenPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Arrived by hotel transport to be greeted by friendly staff. Despite a very early arrival, were able to check-in as our room fortunately was available. Room was at the back and we not did hear street noises. Location was great and close to attractions and restaurants. The annual boat races and end of buddhist 'lent' were held during our stay so it was a festive atmosphere. Fireworks over the Mekong made for an extraordinary sight amongst the crowds who were celebrating. There was a diverse selection of food for breakfast and we were never bored over our stay. The morning alms giving takes place in front of the hotel so is a plus.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizjak10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is lovely. The food in the restaurant is good at lunch/dinner and fantastic for breakfast. They had bicycles you could borrow and a nice spa with reasonably priced massages. The staff were very attentive. My only complaint was that it might be a little noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurainMonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Wonderful location. Walking distance to river, restaurants, temples and shops. Staff are lovely and even came out to wave goodbye. Located in quiet street opposite temple. Rooms standard size but well designed. Lovely big rain forest shower and modern bathroom. Breakfast very good choice and fab coffee. Lounge bar is very nice, more relaxed than many hotel bars. Nice balcony to watch the world go by. Gorgeous comfortable beds. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixiBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 95 in Vientiane
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#4 of 95 in Vientiane
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#3 of 95 in Vientiane
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#9 of 95 in Vientiane
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
#6 of 95 in Vientiane
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salana Boutique Hotel

Address: Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: £73 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salana Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most central located hotel in Vientiane, the SALANA Boutique Hotel home is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior, 24 deluxe, 2 suites, 3 Salana suites. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing