We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of our trip to Vientiane...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best part of our trip to Vientiane...”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have been wanting to go to Laos for years. Vientiane is a bit of a disappointment (head straight to Luang Prabang to see why so many people fall in love with Laos) but I loved the Salana boutique hotel. Immaculate. Friendly staff. Great breakfast, including awesome made-to-order omelets. Great, quiet location, and this is key because parts of Vientiane are very noisy. Would definitely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    314
    65
    8
    3
See reviews for
97
384
122
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed there for the first time and i must say i liked it a lot. It is a small hotel, newly decorated in oriental style so it is charming. I stayed in Suite room and it is still quite small but comfortable enough. Large bed and fully equipped with TV , coffee machine, hair dryer, stationary set for business , fridge. There is a rain shower and nice jacussi bath tub in the toilet too so if you want to have relax bath - you certainly can do. Breakfast is included in the room rate but not that many choices . There is no gym and fitnes facilities here., so this is not for fitness freak to stay. ( although you could run along the riverside ! There is a small bar in the hotel also if you don't want to go out to hang out.

The location is great, walking distance to the Mekhong river and there are various restuarants/ cafe nearby the hotel so it is nice for evening stroll and eat. Two temples just across the street so if you want to look at religious art , you could. In the evening, there is a night market near the river, so you could walk along there browing at local markets - it is also a different experience.

In conclusion, i would recommend this place if you don't mind the fact it is a bit more expensive than other hotels in the same area.

Room Tip: higher floor room give you quieter atmosphere and nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sombatbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening at this lovely little Vientiane hotel and were greeted by polite, friendly staff who spoke excellent English. We were a little confused as to why the room was only booked for one person so the £15 charge for me to stay was a little unexpected!

We were offered a free upgrade to a suite as the air conditioning in our originally booked room wasn't working, and it was just lovely. I would definitely recommend a suite if you can afford it. The jacuzzi bath was lovely and the bed was just enormous! We had an excellent view of the temple complex next door.

The hotel is in a good location, just don't believe the staff regarding the prices of tuk tuks. I have a friend who lives in Vientiane and was told anything more than 200,000 kip for a tuk tuk to Buddha Park is a rip off, but the staff told me they would flag one down for us and it would cost 250 - 300,000 kip, it was only when I mentioned that I knew it was too expensive that they changed their tune and we eventually paid just 120,000.

Breakfast is lovely, although sometimes there were a few 'odd' choices (pizza and quiche for breakfast?!) but there was plenty of yummy food and the staff were always helpful.

Overall, a lovely hotel with lovely staff in a very good location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caribun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Salana for two nights and we were very impressed. The room was immaculate, and the bed very comfortable. There is is a nice fourth floor bar, and the staff at the front were very friendly. It's definitely not the cheapest place to stay in Vientiane, but it's convenient (it's close to the river and night market) and worth a night or two. My only complaint was that on our check out they charged us $20 for having two people in the room. I was surprised, but I guess I should have read the small print. I mean, why would we get a queen bed for just one person? Other than that it was a stellar place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel while on a tour with Grand Circle Travel. The hotel is well located. Accross the street is a Monk school where the students learn martial arts, English and other things. Not too far is the Mekong river. At night there is a market offering all sorts of things, even line dancing where you can join in. The rooms are quite nice, but the beds are hard as is the standard for this part of the world.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brislenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed on business for about a week. Positives: The hotel is well located, the rooms are pleasant and the airport transfers work well. The view over the temple gardens at the back is really lovely. The staff have varying levels of spoken English but are mostly charming and helpful. The breakfast Is good but the dinner is quite expensive hence the restaurant is often fairly empty. On the negative side, because Salana is very popular it can be difficult to get the room you want and the available alternatives tend to be more expensive. But what really irritated me was the inability of staff to call a taxi when asked, with the only option being the hotel limousine.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a superior room vet poking the lovely temple garden at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ittyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple on holiday. Clearly the staff have been drilled to do the "sabi dee" thing as they rushed to open the door when we arrived. But things like putting the shoe protector on the bed doesn't seem to meet the grade. Perhaps the best way to sum up the hotel is a no smoking room actually means we prefer a room that doesn't resemble an ashtray, and sitting on balcony as a couple, is preferable to sitting in a bar where the future of Loas, is being decided over an over priced whiskey.

So. Okay if you are on business, want okay WIFI, and want to get things done in a hurry. If on holiday, and perhaps prefer some romance, a few quiet moments, then move on.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarenPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 93 in Vientiane
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salana Boutique Hotel

Property: Salana Boutique Hotel
Address: Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salana Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most central located hotel in Vientiane, the SALANA Boutique Hotel home is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior, 24 deluxe, 2 suites, 3 Salana suites. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing