We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in Vientiane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Jewel in Vientiane”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I'm not normally one for boutique hotels, but my travelling companion recommended the Salana based on previous experience. And what a good recommendation that was too. I really enjoyed my stay, all the way from the very friendly and helpful staff, to the location, very close to the Mekong River in the (I assume) central part of Vientiane. While this was a business trip, we did get out and about some evenings to try some of the excellent restaurants in the immediate vicinity (very easy walking distance) of the hotel.

My room, on the 5th floor, was very nice, better than I was expecting anyway. My room was at the rear of the hotel, over looking a small temple. I'm assuming that this is quieter than being on the street side of the hotel, but the street is not a major thoroughfare anyway. The shower room was off the room - very interesting set up, having another closed off space adjacent with a large vase of canes in it, with a window looking out to the temple. Shower room with a view, very nicely done. Internet access was via wireless, with passcode provided by reception - worked everywhere I was, and was quick.

The airport pickup was waiting for us, around 10 minutes drive to the hotel too. Check-in was efficient. Check-out likewise at the end of the stay was quick and efficient, and the airport transfer also. The breakfasts were great, the range on offer was way more than I needed - plenty of variety for a small hotel, and fresh too, putting larger and better known hotel brands to shame, quite frankly.

When I return to Vientiane in the future, this will be my first choice.

Room Tip: Happy with my room facing the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    311
    65
    8
    3
See reviews for
96
383
121
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Somerset england
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great location
Arrived at the Salan Boutique hotel from Luang Prabang.
We had booked a deluxe room.
Check in was fine and all straight forward , the room was lovely, plenty of room and clean, and everything we need. Wi-Fi , only works in reception. Nice seated area at the entrance if you wish to smoke.
First night we had a set meal booked from the hotel restaurant, Good food, good quality, no complaints from us.

We stayed for 2 nights, Breakfast; nice selection and eggs cooked fresh if you asked.
Nice bar on the top floor with balcony’s looking over the street.

Staff all very helpful.

Great location to just wonder around locally, plenty of shops and restaurants all within easy walking distance. The river is just at the end of the road, nice for a walk in the evening.

The night market is just down the end of the main street, it is really good to pick up some local bargains, and cheap tee shirts etc.
Check out, as with check in, straightforward and no delays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike424u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In line with other reviewers I feel generally positive about Salana. The pick up from the Airport, the check in, the rooms and so on. The only reservations I had concerned the breakfast and the cost of using the Hotel vehicle. The buffet was average and this fact is compounded by the excellent selection of restaurants within minutes of the hotel all serving better quality food. Not a big issue. The cost of the car is another one. The pick up great at $8 and the free ride back to the Airport a nice touch. When I enquired about getting the car to drop me off at a local golf course (26km round trip) I was quoted $80! I was then told that most cab drivers could not be trusted and they were expensive too. I could not get much help from the staff regarding the justification for this price other than it was set by 'the management'. I tought this was poor and that the price was a rip off. The full day tour was quoted at $140! There isn't that much to see in Vientiane to be honest - get a bike :). In the end I got a cab for $25 return. The episode should not detract from what is a good property with welcoming staff. I just think that they have got this one wrong.

Room Tip: Most nights there is a Monks service in the nearby Pagoda's at c 0400...cant be avoided wherever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Was my first time at this property. Right from the airport pickup through check-in and drop-off was done professionally and courteously. The rooms were well-appointed, clean, and well-lit. The bathrooms were clean and functional. The library on the fourth floor a great place to get work done. Staff very courteous and kind. The breakfast was not too bad. All in all an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Facing the temple away from the main road that runs in front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Irisvinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. First off, its very centrally located. Second, the staff are one of the best I have come across. And finally, the food is superb. After a couple of tries outsude, my wife and I decided that food-wise, the hotel was the best bet. Rooms are well appointed and beds are good.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lene-Bappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
279 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is an efficient, clean and friendly property with a convenient city center location. All the basic amenities in the room, the wi-fi worked well and the water pressure in the shower was OK if not strong.

There are hotel cars and shuttle vans available to/from airport. The cars are $8 one way and the van is free.

Only very minor quibbles: I wished there was a selection of teas (including a local Lao variety) for the breakfast buffet and the young bartenders in the fourth floor lounge didn't know how to make a martini (even though it was on the menu) so I opted for a nice Lao Beer instead.

I would certainly want to stay here again on a future visit to Vientiane.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the wat with a lovely view of the greenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I found the Salana Hotel to be a lovely place to stay in Vientiane. Great location. The staff is very well trained and friendly. They made my stay comfortable and hassle-free! I would like to particularly mention's Chintana's great service at the front desk. Extremely helpful, indeed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LyB B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salana Boutique Hotel

Property: Salana Boutique Hotel
Address: Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salana Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most central located hotel in Vientiane, the SALANA Boutique Hotel home is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior, 24 deluxe, 2 suites, 3 Salana suites. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing